We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ambion Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ambion Court Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in the local area! In a lovely place! John is very welcoming and cooks an excellent breakfast! The dog and hedgehog is just down the road which is a nice place to go for a meal or a drink.

Will definitely stay again if I'm in the area!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
23
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you want a change from the normal stereo type everyday hotels found in the towns then this is the place for you. The Ambion is a delightful small family hotel run by host John who is a really nice and very efficient host. We were met at the door and taken straight to our room in the main building where John explained all the facilities to us and advised us of the local eateries even reserving a table for us at the local pub of our choice. The hotel is located on the corner of the green by a reasonably busy road but during the sleeping hours there is virtually no traffic and although our room was located on the front of the hotel we enjoyed a very good nights sleep. The room itself was very spacious, very clean and decorated in a truly rural manner with wooden beams and lots of homely items. Tea, coffee etc with biscuits were provided along with a fridge and shower gel etc. Sitting in the two comfy arm chairs with a glass of wine was almost as comfortable as sitting at home. The bathroom is adequate but the shower very small.
Downstairs there is a very comfy bar which serves drinks and snacks and a nice breakfast room where you can get an excellent full breakfast for £5 per head. Both are decorated in typical English rural style.
Two rooms are in the main building whilst the other 5 are across the courtyard in the converted stables. These rooms are decorated slightly in a more modern manner but are still very nice.
For dinner we walked across the green about 200 metres to the village pub the Dog and Hedgehog where we were warmly greeted and had an excellent meal in a very nice restaurant with excellent service and reasonable prices. The beer was normal pub prices but the wine was a bit expensive. The food was excellent and if you like sticky toffee pudding they serve one to die for

Room Tip: Ask for room 1 in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed one night as attending a special celebration in Hinckley, only 10 mns away. Wanted to stay somewhere quiet as many larger hotels are noisy places. This hotel is in the quiet village of Dadlington next to the village green and surrounded by countryside yet near to the towns and has an excellent food pub nearby ( and the Ashby canal if you are a boater).
Our room was clean, cosy and warm. Not modern and clinical but homely.The bed was very comfortable and sheets had a lovely fresh laundered smell to them. Everything worked and we were told to ask if we needed anything.
On Easter Sunday morning all guests had an Easter card and chocolate eggs on their tables. There were also Easter decorations in the house which gave it a homely touch. The breakfast was superb. Perfectly cooked eggs and bacon - no grease at all - and plenty of everything. After eating our way through a large amount of food we were given hot buttered hot cross buns!
The owners take great care to ensure you are enjoying your stay and make you feel valued. A little gem of a find!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjack51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

After a rather hideous journey, thanks to an overturned car transporter on the A34, I arrived at Ambion Court to a very warm welcome from John. He settled me into my room and then sorted me out with a snack and a cpl of pints of good real ale (bottles not draft just to set expectations). As a host John was attentive but only as much as required, and the breakfast in the morning was excellent. I normally stay in the standard Novotel,premier inn, Hilton type hotels but as I was on a tight budget this time I chose here, and what a good choice it was.
The room was comfortable, there was free WiFi in the room, the shower was functional as opposed to sumptuous. A couple of touches like some shower gel/shampoo and biscuits with the tea and coffee were nice, you don't get that in a particular London hotel at close to double the cost. Great value, a bit of character to the place and service that couldn't be faulted.
If I am in that neck of the woods on business or with the family I would certainly return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Found the Ambion Court when looking for an alternative to staying in Nuneaton, and it was a very welcome respite from the town. Had a spacious room overlooking the village green and we enjoyed walking across it to the pub for dinner. Furnishings are traditional rather than modern, and our ensuite shower-room was about as small as it could have been, but not a real issue. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Welcoming, friendly hosts added to the relaxed experience. We hope to return.

Room Tip: It seems each room is different, so if you have particular needs or preference we suggest calling th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wetherby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

stayed overnight on 3rd of October fabulous little hotel lovely room
and the public spaces are amazing.got a lovely welcome from John and was very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble .
Would definitely recommend.
The village is beautiful and Bosworth is very near. Don't miss the chuch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The place where is located the Ambion Court is simply fabulous, quiet and peaceful. Green grass and beautiful flowers all around. My room was so confortable and I felt immediately as at home. The breakfast was rich and delicious. But what struck me the most was the owner, John. He helped me looking for important infos and he made me feel not a customer, not a guest but a real friend. Thank you, John. Marco

Ps. Agli italiani: All'Ambion Court si sta davvero bene, andate tranquillamente troverete una persona fantastica e un posto magnifico dove soggiornare, veramente tutto ottimo.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoITA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
3.4 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
4.2 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Hall Hotel
2.8 mi away
Longshoot Hotel
Longshoot Hotel
#11 of 12 in Nuneaton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambion Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambion Court Hotel

Property: Ambion Court Hotel
Address: The Green, Nuneaton CV13 6JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully-converted farmhouse overlooking Dadlington's picturesque village green. Seven en-suite rooms including the magnificent Pine Room, all with modern amenities including free wi-fi; five rooms are at ground level with individual accesses. Lounge and cocktail bar for guests' relaxation, and dining room for breakfast every day and a la carte dinner Monday-Saturday. Centrally located for countless tourist attractions and access to many business facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ambion Court Hotel Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing