We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Had lovely meal again on Friday evening (third time in as many months). The restaurant is consistently good quality with really good attentive service. Even the simple stuff like the veg and potatoes were really tasty. Reasonably priced and superb ! The bar area is nice, especially for a drink pre and post meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi Jean J,
We are pleased that you enjoy meals here with us at The Carlton and we value your custom. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Carlton is a typical small hotel, no dedicated reception and you check in in the small bar. It has a long narrow corridor with rooms off and a few rooms around the car park which I didn't see. However, the staff were friendly, and our room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Clean modern decor, beautifully done. It wasn't very big or very grand but we were there for one night for a wedding and it suited us fine. The bathroom was clean bright and modern. There was a flat screen TV, the shower was large and the tea tray was well stocked.

The car park is like the entrance to an old coaching inn, under an archway on the right of the hotel and you will miss if you don't look carefully, and runs down the side of the hotel where it opens out. Its not very big and might be full if the hotel was busy but there was space for us.

We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on that.

I didn't have any problems or complaints.

Room Tip: We were in room 20. Small but adequate with pretty decor overlooking the car park but thats probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hi Lindi100,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to place a review of The Carlton on tripadvisor, we thank you for your kind comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Other hotels might require a taxi back if you are having a meal/drink in town. This one is centrally located and perfect walking distance. It has all the attributes though of a quiet suburban hotel and deserves all the compliments re cleanliness and room quality.

Being picky the shower pressure was a bit feeble but that's my only negative comment about the room. We didn't have dinner there but the breakfast was excellent. Widest a la carte menu I have seen for a long time (including smoked salmon!) and the quality was top class.

Parking is a bit of a problem. They only have a small car park (about 6 cars) as part of the hotel and it is approached through a narrow covered passageway. Once you reach the car park, if there are other cars already there you will find it difficult to turn the car round so you have to drive into any vacant space. If there are still other cars there when you leave you will have the same problem turning round so will have to reverse all the way back down the aforementioned passageway onto the main street. Some might find this a bit tricky. There is a shared overspill car park nearby but as it is not in full view of the hotel security may not be as good.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but park your car outside the hotel first in the overspill car park - Miles of Tiles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Allan G,
Thank you ever so much for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back if you should return to Rugby in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at the Carlton for only one night and, because we were visiting family, we didn't have the opportunity to dine in the restaurant.

Our room (no20) was very comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was nicely appointed, the whole room was spotlessly clean and we had a fantastically restful night's sleep.

On returning home, I discovered that I had left some clothes in one of the drawers. Without asking for payment, Suki and her very courteous team organised to have the items posted back to me (I will of course reimburse them for the cost of packing and postage), reflecting their genuine commitment to the highest standards of customer.

I couldn't recommend the Carlton more highly and thanks once again for being so helpful.

Room Tip: As the Carlton is in a relatively quiet part of Rugby, noise shouldn't be an issur
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Michael C,
Thank you ever so much for placing a kind review of The Carlton here on tripadvisor, it was a pleasure to look after you both and we are pleased that you have now been reunited with your clothing! If you should return to Rugby we should hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Everything about my stay here was excellent. Lovely atmosphere in the restaurant, gorgeous food and really friendly and efficient staff. Bedroom very clean and beautifully furnished. Cannot speak highly enough of my impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenguinPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Hi Gandiman43.
Thank you for your review of The Carlton, we are pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and dining experience and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had our afternoon wedding reception at the Carlton Hotel . From the moment we first approached the hotel everything was simple , adaptable and we were clear we knew what to expect. On the day itself everything was fantastic, no unwelcome surprises , great food and wine . Service was very relaxed with a big smile , lead by the hotel owner and his wife. For a relatively moderate budget we got a fantastic day. Big thanks to everybody at Carlton, would recommend to anybody to consider this for your Wedding reception or special occasion !!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEIL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Hi Neil,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your wedding day on tripadvisor and thank you for choosing to share your special day with us here at The Carlton.
We are pleased that you had an enjoyable wedding meal and thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again on future occasions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

staff very good.within walking distance to town centre. and train station.i must emphasise the meal quality excellent.this is not a large hotel, all my company employees prefer to stay there rather than premier inn or travel lodge.because of family atmosphere and variety of meals and meal quality.this is not a criticisim of the afore mentioned.

Room Tip: all rooms are ok ,enjoy fhe food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddieconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2013

Hi Eddie,
Thank you ever so much for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant, we look forward to welcoming you (and your colleagues) back again and again, to both dine and stay at The Carlton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
0.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
4 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
469 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby
The Carlton Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing