We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Awful - Avoid”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed 6 May 2009

I like to stay in small independent hotels and support small businesses. I found The Carlton on Tripadvisor and was taken by the 'boutique' look in the picture and website. Reserved what was described as a large single. I was clear that I needed a desk to work at

Found that I had been assigned to the annexe - a couple of sad looking houses in the backyard that had been converted into several rooms. The room was small, drab, dark and really miserable nothing like the photo or website. As another reviewer mentions there is a very strong smell of toilet block (why is it needed in a clean toilet?). The outlook was onto the back of a van parked up against the window. It felt like the places the DHSS put you to get you ofthe street.

The walls are paper thin and they ask that you switch off the bathroom fan to avoid nuisance to other residents! I was woken by noise and the sound of switches being turned on throught the night.

The 'desk' was a nasty little dressing table - no chance of working on that.

I was so disappointed that I checked out early, losing the cost of later nights stay - so frustrated I almost reported them to Trading Standards on the basis of misleading photos (suggest that Tripadvisor removes it).

On the good side - I thought the room was clean and the evening restaurant staff good. I suspect that the rooms in the main building are much nicer - so if you have to stay insist that you are in there. My advice to the owner - use the annexe as an emergency overflow and make it very clear what you are staying in - and drop the price to £20/night

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevyrlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Carlton-Hotel, Management at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2009

In response to trevyrlady’s comments, we would like to state that the photos used on our website are of our boutique rooms. It clearly states that we have traditional rooms and boutique rooms (which are more expensive).

When booking, trevyrlady did not request a boutique room; if she had, we would have been more than happy to accommodate her requests. None of our rooms have writing desks but they do all have perfectly adequate dressing tables, which in our 30 years of trading, have never been complained about before (and yes, they have been upgraded and replaced during those 30 years!)

It is true that the walls in our annexe are not very thick, which is why we try to use them for our business travellers, as they are much less likely to disturb other guests late into the night. We are also in the process of upgrading the decor of all of our traditional rooms, but as a small, family run guest house, we have to ask people to be patient as this has to be done in stages.

Unfortunately, trevyrlady did not inform us of her disappointment when staying; if she had, we would have done everything to make her stay more comfortable. It is a shame that instead, she decided to criticise us without giving us the chance to hear her views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

My experience at the Carlton Hotel was very memorable that I thought it was only right for me to share it with others! My friends and I dined at the Carlton in the evening where warm friendly staff welcomed us and instantly we got a lovely family feel about the place. My friends and I ordered a three course meal as the menu looked so appetizing and it certainly did not fail to dissapoint! For starters I had the ruby grapefruit, which was beautifully presented and only left my mouth watering for what was to come! I ordered the fresh fish of the day which was mahi mahi, a tender flaky fish from the indian ocean, which was garnished superbly and was accompanied by silver service fresh seasonal vegetables, which would make anyone want to have their five a day! And I always say there is room for dessert and even having left clean plates, we indeed had room for their delicious home made sweets, which were brought out to us on a beautifully presented sweet trolley. We finished our meal with coffee and were also offered petit fours, which I thought was an excellent touch to end an excellent meal! So if its quality, great service and attention to detail you want then the Carlton is the place to go!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cole789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I travel the country on business as an Internet consultant and have stayed in hotels ranging from 5 star private hotels to the normal Travel Inn types. This privately owned hotel is everything a traveller wants when staying away, you get a sincere warm welcome and it has all the amenities that you need. You get a pleasanter and very clean and prepared room with sky and a bath/shower on suite. The biggest surprise is that It has the best value for money restaurant I have ever eaten in. It has free Internet connection in the bar/ bedroom/restaurant areas and was very clean all round. The owner is always available to talk to and the staffs make it a very pleasant place to stop. I would recommend any body that they should try this hotel if they want to have a pleasant place to spend the night with a good the best hearty breakfast to start your day with.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johnthebaptist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

When we arrived at the hotel are greeting was not exactly welcoming and friendly. We asked for a coffee on arrival, which came across as being a bit of a bind for them to do. When we got to our room I was a little disappointed, especially with the strong smell of toilet block (not pleasant). The room was overall generally clean with the basics being offered.

At the end of our evening we returned to our hotel to be told they had closed the bar (not even 10.30pm) and would be serving no more drinks.

To top it all off the following morning at breakfast I was informed that they do not modify their menu and as I am a strict vegetarian I was unable to eat. Please check before you pay for B&B as you may not be able to eat anything (a waste of money).

Overall, a very basic B&B, which I would personally not choose to stay in again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Carlton-Hotel, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2008

We would just like to state that The Carlton Hotel is classed as 4* Guest Accommodation - this is not a Hotel rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

Have to travel to Rugby on business at least twice a week and always stop in the travel inn. Came across this hotel by chance and was very surprised how much I enjoyed staying there. It has free Internet connection in the bar/ bedroom/restaurant areas and was very clean all round. You get sky and a bath/shower and had the best value for money restaurant I have ever come across. The owner and staff make it a very pleasant place to stop and i would recommend any body that wants to have a pleasant place to spend the night with a good hearty breakfast to try this hotel out.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PrestonDaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Small hotel. Only one member of staff was present and he was not welcoming. I was only staying one night with no meals so booked the cheapest room. All rooms are advertised as having 'ensuite bathroom facilities' however this tiny dingy room had no bathroom: the shower was in the bedroom and the shower curtain was about 6 inches from the bed. I particularly wanted a room with an ensuite bath so complained. I was (grudgingly) offered a bigger room at the same price. This was adequate - clean and brighter with a seperate conventional bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggieFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Carlton-Hotel, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2008

Having been made aware of the guest's complaints, The Carlton would firstly like to apologise for any discomfort or disappointment.

Our restaurant is not open on a Sunday night (the night the guest checked in), which meant that only one staff member is needed to man the front desk. Once the complaint about the small room was made, the guest was moved to a large double with en-suite bathroom at the same cost as our single with en-suite shower.

Reviewing the comments made, we are now installing new sliding shower doors in our en-suites, as well as downlighters in the bedrooms. However, this is a temporary measure as our traditional rooms are all being refurbished in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jovazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
162 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
554 reviews
4.0 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range: £61 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby
The Carlton Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing