We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent lunch, service,presentation and quality”
Review of The Rugby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rugby Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed 23 March 2013

just been for lunch and have to say the menu although small is exactly what you get, for example homemade burger was that and presented to tempt the tates buds. The bangers and mash was fantastic with onion gravy and proper mash potato, the home made chips were also home made not cheap frozen ones. Presentation was as good as the taste and the place itself has a nice atmosphere with both tables and chairs and comfy sofa'a and very nice, friendly, polite staff. Checked out the evening menu whilst I was there and would say this is small but sounds really good and if the quality is as good as the lunch menu I would advise giving this a go. I will be going back with hubby and family to give both a try again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 504202Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

Better than what I expected it.
Lovely reception and nice new room (at least mine) and excellent service.
Free WiFi was a plus bonus.
friendly and polite service
Breakfast was good
Worth to visit
Thanks!

Room Tip: hotel rooms are very comfortable with all the necessary services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXUTXI-MUTXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This used to be the Three Horseshoes Hotel but has now been renamed. It is better than it used to be but could be better still. The room I stayed in had been refurbished (as most have) and was clean, but unexciting. Small double bed, the smallest, most unexciting shower room I have ever been in and the wardrobes were missing door handles. It was also quite noisy, but I did sleep with the window open. Breakfast was particularly depressing, mass produced bread next to a toaster and some rather dreary cereals/ yoghurts laid out. Given that breakfast tends to be the last experience before leaving a hotel, I'm always surprised at how often it is given so little thought. Given the location I probably will stay there again, though it's not an experience I will particularly look forward to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've only been to the restaurant but Trip Advisor won't let me review it as just a restaurant. The food and service were very good, and the bar area is good for lunch as well.

I started with the chicken liver parfait and then had a steak which was very good. I would recommend this hotel restaurant for a quiet meal of an evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The first impression of the rugby hotel is excellent, wooden floors, lots of wood paneling, log fires, a very welcoming reception and bar area. from a work point of view, the free wifi in the rooms was a very good service. However, the rooms (I was travelling with a colleague who had a seperate room) were quite cold and my bathroom was freezing as there was no seperate heater in there. I would try this hotel again in the summer, but not again in the winter.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Having arrived a little later than planned, although we phoned ahead to notify we would, this caused a headache for the kitchen as our party of 13 found that most of the food had disappeared from the menu! We were offered a free drink or two and we were finally served food which to be fair was OK. Rooms at the back were cold, even though the heating was on in the front side, thankfully we were given an electric heater to warm the room up. Room was clean and bed comfy. Breakfast was help yourself and tasty, there was a delay in food being served as maybe they weren't used to being full? Toaster, well could have been out of Faulty Towers really, frozen bread took ages to toast and needed 2 go's to get done. All in all, far better than a low cost hotel, but not a 4 * plus type experience. I was lead to believe the hotel was under new management and this was 'bedding in' during our stay so things should improve and become better organised. Staff very supportive and understanding, a large party of parents and children attending a rugby festival I am sure brings its own sets of challenges!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Beautiful hotel, felt very warm and cosy. The lobby is just gorgeous.
Very convenient and great value
Very nice newly refurbished room just what we needed.
The staff couldn’t be more helpful, they were all very nice and with a smile all the time which is nice to see. Made me feel very welcome
We had dinner at the restaurant. We had steak, their speciality and was perfectly cooked and everything was very well presented.
Breakfast was super!!
Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
224 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.5 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
454 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rugby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rugby Hotel

Address: 22-23 Sheep Street, Rugby CV21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rugby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rugby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rugby Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing