We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware of the parking”
Review of The Rugby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rugby Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Be aware of the parking”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently as an alternative when working in rugby, it has the feel of a newly refurbished place and the staff are lovely. I cannot complain about the room and having eaten I cannot comment on the meals. There is no parking but the hotel has an arrangement with the clock tower shopping centre 5 mins walk away, once you know this here are no issues. As a bonus there are some lovely areas to go for a run!

I'll definitely be back for a second stay.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    40
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
22
30
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I recently visited this hotel on business. It is a lovely hotel the room I was given was 27 it was bright and spotless. I had dinner in the restaurant, would recommend the pork terrine and my main course was just out of this world I had the salmon!

The bar was quiet, the prices were a little steep, the person serving me was pleasant, just one niggle and that was her uniform looked scruffy.

Parking is an issue but I would like to give my special thanks to Carl the Hotel manager who took my car to the car park for me as I was unsure how to get to the car park a wonderful service!

Tip for any guest thinking of staying here get a room at the front as the rear gets noisy.

Room Tip: See above for my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We had to stay in Rugby for a wedding and found the location very convenient. The rooms were
clean and well appointed. Had a great steak in the Grill restaurant, overall good experience and great value

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downderry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Went here on a weekend mini break and had a fantastic stay. The hotel is centrally located in this historic town. The rooms were lovely, very clean and comfortable, the staff were very helpful & friendly, such a well managed hotel. I had pork belly for dinner which was gorgeous & they even do a great world burger menu so for lunch I had a 'dubliner' really tasty! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice weekend away or just for somewhere to go for dinner & lunch. Thanks to all at The Rugby Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Only stayed for one night while visited friends, but I couldn't have been more chuffed with the Rugby Hotel. Room was spotless and had just what I needed, so no complaints there. The staff were friendly and the hotel seems exceptionally well run. I know where I'll be staying next time I'm in Rugby!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Rugby within walking distance of most attractions. Very friendly and helpful staff from the check-in to the night manager and the bar/restaurant staff. Good value for what you get. No parking offered but hotel staff very helpful with local suggestions that they will provide you a "free exit" token for the next day. Only had breakfast in the hotel which was included in the room rate. Highly recommend booking directly on the hotel web site to get best deal.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Couldn't believe what good value this hotel was. Exceptional management and staff working hard to make their guests happy. All this and a good location to boot. Unable to comment on food as we weren't able to experience it at this time but will report back more fully as we intend coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.5 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
433 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rugby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rugby Hotel

Property: The Rugby Hotel
Address: 22-23 Sheep Street, Rugby CV21 3BX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rugby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rugby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rugby Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing