We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling customer service!”
Review of The Bell & Barge - CLOSED

The Bell & Barge
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At The Bell and Barge Harvester in Rugby food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After 15 years of my custom here I shall not be returning. My friend and I visited yesterday evening as she has recently moved to the area so it was a good chance to catch up and for her to check out somewhere local and family friendly to eat. We were shown to a table quickly and our main course was served in good time. We ordered from the "meal deal" menu, (which was thrown down on our table and not explained). Our food was good and hot so no issues there, although a long wait for desert.
When we came to pay, we waited over half an hour. The salad bar was cleared and lights turned down and still no-one came. In the end we had to ask the waitress if we could pay, as she had walked past us at least 3 times without asking us if we needed anything. There were about 3 other full tables at this point so it was very quiet.
The bill was incorrect and when I queried that we had been overcharged the waitress simply said oh it was 'X' who served you and the computer system generates the bill and I'm only dealing with the bill not the meals so there's nothing I can do. We were obviously disgruntled and explained to her how we felt we were overcharged and she abruptly and rudely said there's nothing I can do, that's the bill! If we knew we were going to be charged in full then we wouldn't have restricted ourselves to the limited deal menu. The waitress said if it was her serving me she would have explained our issue but it wasn't her it was 'x' so again nothing she could do now. We paid the bill in full. The waitress went away with my card for payment and when she brought it back with the receipt she abruptly put it down on the table, turned and walked away...not a word, not even a thank you. So needless to say my friend has already said she will not be taking her family there. Luckily there are a few family friendly chains in this area so it won't stop us eating out still. Just not here!
Sorry to write a public review Harvester, however after reviewing on your own site privately a message popped up saying that no-one can get back to me, after me taking the time to review after a disappointing evening out. The staff have always been friendly and helpful before and quickly and fairly resolved issues if they arose. But now it appears that a little work on your customer service wouldn't go amiss!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Joanne837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 334 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We won't go here again for several reasons.
1) the table we were given was filthy and hadn't been cleaned it even had dead skin clearly visible on it
2) the food was really not good it didn't seem fresh and seemed to be microwaved. I think the fries were pre frozen.
3) the waitress on our table was very impatient as we were a large group and took a while deciding
I wouldn't go back here given the choice even if it is inexpensive. There are much better options in Rugby in this price band to eat at.

Thank GorillaFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We ate dinner and breakfast here while staying at Premier Inn next door.
Ate ribs for dinner. Portion was massive and tasty. Not somewhere I would normally choose to visit but it was hearty fuel, at pretty good value price.
Breakfast had plenty of options and breakfast bap was tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Visited restaurant on 30/03/2014

Was told there was a wait for the table of 35 minutes but we were seated after 60 minutes.

Waitress was nice but the restaurant was too short staffed.

Our food was very slow being prepared and left on the service counter with no one to bring it to our table for almost 10 minutes.

When this was pointed out to the manager he told us that we were mistaken and it had only been there for 1 minute.
We challenged him regarding this and he offered to refresh the order but after a 2 hour wait we decided to eat, pay and leave.

On the way out we passed customers complaining about the misinformation at the front desk as they were still waiting to be seated.

A terrible dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Waited about 20mins on a busy Saturday night. Salad bar was well stocked and all fresh ingredients. Main meals arrived together, jacket potatoes a little too well done but was edible. Main part of all meals were cooked nicely.The only moan was we all had the ice cream
sundaes and they had been served in warm glasses that turned the ice cream to liquid very quickly, but all in all a pleasing meal would return when in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Bell & Barge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at The Bell and Barge Harvester, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one we have written to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell & Barge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing