We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff noisy room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great staff noisy room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

There is much to like about this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a neo gothic building beautifully restored. But avoid room 29 in the coach house. The ceiling is wafer thin and I could hear every step of the resident upstairs pacing around and it really disturbed my sleep. Disappointing as I asked for a quiet room. Hence 3 stars.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry your nights sleep was disturbed by the residents above.
The Coach House is converted from a private dwelling and one of the challenges of using character buildings. We are happy to offer alternative accommodation on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    226
    94
    43
    42
See reviews for
103
270
13
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed one night attending an on site wedding, the wedding itself was fantastic- attentive staff and the ambiance, setting, food and service was excellent. Single Room was clean, very well appointed with Huge shower ensuite- modern and slick. Very quiet. Would definitely recommend and go back! Weather was freezing and the hotel felt cosy warm and very welcoming.. Great transport links for Birmingham Airport, less than 40 mins away..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newengland07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you very much for your gracious review and delighted your stay and the wedding were a success. We look forward to seeing you again now the weather is finally turning towards spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed at this venue for a wedding at catthorpe, and weren't dissapointed!
Only a 5 min taxi ride away it offers much more luxury and comfort than catthorpe itself.

Room really nice, very spacious, high beam ceilings, massive bed.

Staff - very helpful! I recommend using booking.com as you'll get cheaper prices B&B than the normal rack rate.

The only downside for me, was that the cooked breakfast was luke warm, and not as fresh as it could be.

Room Tip: go for the executive superiors for extra space. ( preferably in the stables, or coach house )
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thanks for your review and delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies if the breakfast wasn't up to our normal standard, ask for a served breakfast from the kitchen instead of the buffet next time.
Welcome back in the future, when you are back in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rubgy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

we live just down the road and decided to have dinner there. A huge gothic Pugin pile [would make a brilliant film location] A cold miserable night but the service was pretty good and the food was though limited nicely done. Service very attentive but not over the top. would I recommend? YES would like to go back in the summer as it looks very inviting

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzie078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your review and delighted to welcome someone local. The menu follows the seasons using locally sourced produce so look forward to seeing you again. the summer menu is available from the middle of May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Son got married at this hotel. Was a beautiful hotel, nice room but rather dated, could do with a bit of improvement. Bathroom was freezing and the shower didn't so much rush out of the attachment as dribble. The food was standard, not terribly good, but I don't think that you can expect much else at a wedding, cooking for such a lot of guests at one time is always difficult. Although, my son and I are lactose intolerant and I had a soup spoon and was given a brie and bacon roll to start with, not a good start. The breakfast the next day was good and the staff at breakfast were lovely.

However, I do have to comment on the girl on reception when we arrived. You have been travelling for a couple of hours and have a lot of baggage with you and her reception was was truly awful though, didn't tell us that she was taking an authorisation for £120, just said that she was taking the £89 that the hotel charged for a night. Not at one point in our booking in did she say to us that she would be taking an authorisation for £120, I thought that this was quite disgusting and there were 3 of us stood at her desk, so none of us can remember her mentioning anything about this at all. When we questioned the fact that we had booked another room for my other son that week as we weren't sure whether he would be able to come or not, and the hotel had an offer of a bottle of wine along with a room if you booked it in the intervening time after christmas, she totally ignored us. We did ask her twice and still she ignored us. We then had to ask her how we could get out of the hotel to the car park round the back, she should have volunteered this information when we checked in! We felt that either her mind was elsewhere or else she just could not be bothered. She had shoulder length brown hair and glasses and we felt that she should be sent on a customer care course if she is going to be dealing with future customers of the hotel.

Overall, we really enjoyed this trip and the slight inconveniences to our stay could not have been said to have marred our trip. My son paid a fortune for his wedding and it was lovely to have it in such gorgeous surroundings, it was just a shame that the people in the hotel did not match up to their surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Thank you for your candid comments and I apologise if we did not meet your expectations in all areas. The hotel reception on a wedding day is quick moving environment and apologies if adequent information was not given regarding the preauthorisation routine. This is intended to facilitate credit in the hotel during your stay and is for your benefit as you can charge back to your main account. We will revisit our procedures to ensure this is clearer for future guests of the hotel.
I am pleased that these incidents did not marr your overall enjoyment and that your son's wedding was successful. We wish you all the best for the future and please feel welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business trip for one night. It had lovely grounds and is in an ideal spot. The house is great, a gothic delight. I was in the stables annex and my room was clean and comfortable with smart decor. My shower would'nt turn off on the morning so i rang reception and it was sorted instantly. The staff i encountered were all polite and friendly. Our buffet was nice and the chilli con carne was excellent. If you want bland modern pap don't stay here but if you like a building and grounds with heaps of character and gothic splendour you will love it. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiftsport1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
thank you so much for your kind comments and we are delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere of Brownsover Hall. Welcome back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

My fiancé, family and I came to Brownsover for a Sunday lunch to show the family our chosen venue for our wedding (march 2013). There were 17 of us in total, inc children and a few fussy eaters! Our waitress, who turned out to be the manager of the day, Alice, was a complete saint! Nothing was ever too much for her. Both alice and her staff that were on shift on the day kept the busy restaurant flowing smoothly. We had an issue with the soup being cold and they were snapped up and she got us fresh hot soups. Normally when we've visited hotels like Brownsover although advertised as being a family friendly hotel never actually have anything to keep the kids entertained - luckily Alice had some colouring pencils on hand and colouring pages which happened to be the children's favourite characters which kept them very quiet!! We can't wait to attend our wedding this year in this beautiful hotel and to show the rest of our family and friends how lovely Brownsover Hall Hotel is.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank The Future MrnM... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you so much for your sharing your experience with us. We are very proud to hear of Alice's
attention to detail and delighted she came up trumps for your family. Welcome back for your wedding in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing