We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, but the wedding?..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Brownsover Hall hotel as it was convenient for us when visiting relatives. The hall itself is a stunning building and our check in at reception was quick and efficient. Our room was in the stables part of the property which was outside the main hall but only a short walk away.

The room was very spacious and was extremely authentic as it was indeed, part of an old stable. The bathroom was quite large, although could have benefitted from some updating.

We had booked a "gastronomic package" which included a five course dinner with wine, which we were looking forward to, so headed back to the main hall for a pre-dinner drink in the bar. Unfortunately for us, there was a wedding in progress with, with what appeared to be, undesirable guests. We had to wait an age to be served at the bar, and then couldn't hold a conversation due to the noise of the wedding guests including (it has to be said) the bride and groom themselves!

We retreated into the dining room to begin our meal, which was absolutely lovely and our waitress, Emma, was fantastic. Her choice of wines to accompany our meal was excellent and we enjoyed the personal service that we felt we were afforded during the evening. Unfortunately, the wedding guests were getting even more rowdy and a few had been ejected from the building following a number of scuffles. We had hoped to have a post dinner drink in the bar, but were warned by the dinner waiting staff, that it may be safer to return to our room. We took their advice and retreated.

At 4.45am some of the party guests returned to their rooms shouting, screaming and banging on doors so I complained to reception. Unfortunately, nothing happened to reduce any noise so my husband and I gave up trying to sleep and got up early for breakfast so we could get out of the place. At breakfast, after speaking with the deputy manager Hayley, we learned that there had been several fights in the night and she had just finished the clear up operation!

We complained again at reception and were asked to contact the manager of the hotel via email, which we did. He was kind enough to reply immediately and afforded us a voucher to stay with them again, which we will do in due course.

It was such a shame that a few drunken, ill behaved people disrupted what was supposed to be a romantic meal away, but the staff were so wonderful and attentive that we will return. We won't be staying if there is another wedding however!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmillsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for you review. It has to be said that your experience is extremely rare as far as the vast majority of weddings at Brownsover Hall are concerned. Weddings are emotive and joyeous occasions and clearly this affects people in different ways. We are sorry certain individuals spoiled your stay with us. However we have since communicated and look forward to welcoming back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel. We had a fantastic large room in the courtyard area.
We were the only people at dinner due to a busy wedding in the rest of the hotel. Food and wine were lovely.
Great grounds and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Several guests also comment that the Stables courtyard offers a peaceful country feel, even though we are really only 3 minutes from the busy M6 and on the edge of Rugby's industrial parks. We look forward to welcoming you back on many occasions in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Checked this hotel out in summer 2013 to see if it was suitable for a double 80th birthday celebration...at £129 per room for two for dinner bed and breakfast,prosecco and chocolates in your room we were slightly apprehensive...how wrong were we...stunning!!hotel,grounds,rooms,staff and evening dinner were all truly brilliant!!...so we booked for a party of 25 on 30th november 2013.. the same deal...brilliant from start to finish..EVERY member of our party said how much they had enjoyed the experience and cant wait to return!! so to all members of staff..THANK YOU for making our party weekend one never to forget...we wish you seasonal greetings and all the best for the new year..kind regards..Simon and tracy reid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reid_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we all delighted you had such a fabulous time on your special day. We look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight when on business at Magna Park. My room wasn't cheap (only available on our booking system) but was very quaint in the old stables with a lounge downstairs and mezzanine floor for bedroom upstairs along with good size bathroom. Reception staff friendly, bar staff less so. Credit card given on check in but not working in the bar so had to pay cash despite my disagreement. Evening meal good but quite pricy. Breakfast ok - strong taste of vinegar in the eggs. Positive was room 48 but not the best location for a romantic stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

thank you for your comments and I am delighted we were a suitable venue for your business requirements on this occasion. Good hospitality has its price and we try to offer good value accommodation, food and drink at all times. Welcome back when you have business in the Rugby area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed and attended a wedding here and it was the most perfect day!

From start to finish you couldn't fault it! The foods was delicious, the bar was always staffed!

It's a beautiful building in beautiful settings! The rooms are large and have a very different feel tho the popular hotel chains!

I couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
welcome back in the future for business or pleasure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked Sunday lunch after a poignant church visit to remember the fallen during the war and was expecting a lovely Sunday lunch, considering the price!
On arrival staff were putting up Christmas Decs (on a Sunday lunch time, really. Couldn't this have been done on a Monday morning?). We felt in the way.
Starter - soup was tepid but passable, main meal was cold. No waitresses in the dining area so had to take plate to find staff ... huddled around the bar area, giggling! Took meal away and we were still waiting for sauces. My partner had almost finished hers when the sauce arrived. Just not good enough! Crumbs on the table not cleared away, the little things matter. Massive apologies from the Duty Manager but the damage had been done, my mum who has Parkinsons, was very upset at this stage!
One meal refunded but not the point, the day was spoilt, mum was very upset and we were made to feel as though we were an inconvenience! We will not be returning!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissie_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

thank you very much for your comments and apologies that the staff was less attentive than normal, on this occasion. In all fairness, work on Christmas decorations was not done in the WineGlass restaurant where you were eating lunch. It may seem strange from your perspective, but the timing was optimal as far as operational issues, staffing, and to minimise the effect on our guests. They were erected so early to please wedding guests the following weekend. We try to be attentive and senstive to your wishes and I believe the Duty Manager addressed your concerns and those of your family on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our stay at Brownsover Hall was meant to be a treat at the beginning of a long awaited holiday back home in the UK. We were aware that this was a wedding venue but thought a Sunday night booking would be safe and we'd booked a meal in the restaurant. On arrival we found the Reception area untidy with brochures strewn over the floor.... Unfortunately there were two other functions on that evening - so we had our meal in the back up venue ... a sad shabby room with frayed hotel catering style seating... chair covers could have helped improve this.... Food had fallen off a plate onto the floor (a scallop)and we watched the waiter and waitress walk around it at least ten times and eventually had to ask them to clear the mess up. The food was ok but my husband had to use the facilities during the meal... he didn't return and his plate was cleared away... The handle had fallen off the inside of the toilet door and he'd had to wait until someone else came in. That evening a buffet was laid out in the communal areas of the hotel - a bit strange for normal guests.
Our room was in the old stables, large, clean and comfortable. Until we were woken by guests setting off the fire alarm by smoking in their room... Followed by a long dispute with management in the courtyard below. The next morning we were relieved to leave... but did have a very nice breakfast. I'd only recommend staying in this Hotel if you are at a function or if there are not other functions booked. The building is beautiful and grounds are lovely - but it was a memorable stay for all the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmf5863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review following a stay at Brownsover Hall. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay and that your expectations were not met on this occasion. We are a popular wedding and function venue and Saturday is probably the most requested day of the week. Many people like the buzz of a busy hotel: I understand this was not for you on this occasion. We do advise our guests as far as it is possible of the likelihood of weddings and functions taking place. Also another reason to accommodate you in the Stables block away from the busle of the main house. Unfortunately there are irresponsible people who smoke in their bedrooms against all warnings not to do so. The Fire alarm is there for your safety and protection, however I regret the inconvenience caused to you. We do offer special rates during the week and maybe something to consider the next time you visit the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
4 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
562 reviews
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
469 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
225 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
208 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane | Warwickshire, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range: £57 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing