We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and returned the following afternoon for a funeral reception. A lovely setting and a decent comfortable room without any real problems. The hotel does look a little tired in places but it has bags of character and is very fairly priced by local comparison.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The evening meal was very pleasant albeit that there was a degree of inexperience/lack of finesse (eg a nice soup served without any offer of bread).
The afternoon event went well with an excellent buffet and willing assistance. Easy to see why it is popular for weddng receptions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Brownsover Hall, following a short stay recently. I am pleased you consider us, value for money. I sympathise with your comments regarding some aspects of the decor and can assure you this will be dealt with in the near future.
we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    248
    109
    49
    44
See reviews for
122
297
13
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The pictures, setting and reviews of the hotel and restaurant are very good but it could easily be a 4-5 star hotel not a 3 star. We visited in February for the University Polo Nationals and we were hugely disappointed. I think it's because they had a large noisy wedding on plus a private party in the dinning room so we dined in what looked like someone's lounge. Don't get me wrong the food was edible but not great, the bedroom was the same ok but not great but the pipes to the toilet in our bathroom were the noisiest I have ever heard. For the sake ok the beautiful building PLEASE try harder.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for review of Brownsover Hall, following a short stay recently. We constantly strive to do better, we are conscious that we are only as good as our last overnight and that you always have a choice. With that in mind, our focus is a continual improvement of the faciltiies and our service. Welcome back on your next visit to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

When you book this hotel be sure to confirm that you are staying in the actual hall and not the stables. Drove up to the hall and it looked beautiful but we went to stables and didn't stay, staff not that helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I respect your point of view, not one shared by everyone, I am sorry you didn't actually stay with us. It is disengeniuous to suggest the staff were not helpful when they did what they could to find you an alternative room, which you declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Cheap deal but we had booked an upgraded room in Stables and were very disappointed with size of room, decor and bathroom dated. The downstairs stable rooms looked significantly bigger and better but were same price. Ridiculously bare tea tray - just one tea bag (plus two flavoured which we didn't want), one sachet coffee and one decaf and just two pots milk. Rang reception thinking tray hadn't been refreshed but was assured it had! Asked for more and received two more tea bags after about an hours wait. Dinner nice but steak overlooked and vegetables were charged as extra. Passed comments on positively and hoped for response but still waiting after four days so have given up. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review following a recent stay at Brownsover Hall. I am pleased you were able to benefit from exceptional savings offered through Secret Escapes. I understand some of the Stables rooms, although still very popular are due some soft revovation in the near future.
I believe we did respond by email to your concerns regarding the in-room courtesy tray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights at the Brownsover hotel with my three children and was most pleasantly surprised. The Brownsover hotel is a stunning building surrounded by beautiful grounds and not too far from the town centre. Excellent food both in the very quaint pub within the hotel and the hotel's restaurant. The staff absolutely wonderful and most courteous, accommodating every need of the client. The rooms are clean and nice and warm. The Brownsover Hotel is very charming indeed and much of the credit must go to the staff who run it diligently and with passion. The bedrooms are fine and, as previously mentioned, clean with all the necessities. However, an upgrade would not harm and the hotel would most easily become a 3 star superior. Quality and price must also be taken into consideration and I believe our stay was really value for money. We look forward to our next stay at the Brownsover Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of Brownsover Hall and the staff, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to be able to share plans for an upgrade to the rooms and public areas in the not so distance future. We look forward to welcoming yo back on many occasions in the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I got married at Brownsover Hall Hotel in October 2013 and I genuinely couldn't have chosen a more perfect place.

From the word go, Leslie (our wedding co-ordinator) was very thorough and made us feel very comfortable and welcome. She went through EVERYTHING with a fine tooth comb and made us completely aware of what was included and how much any optional extras would cost if we wanted them. Also, she was a very nice individual and quite informal which we liked.

The area and building itself is so beautiful and I loved everything about it.

The night before our wedding, my bridesmaids and I stayed at the hotel and we really enjoyed it, the room was lovely and the staff were amazing. They answered any questions we had and didn't mind us ringing down all night for drinks and little bits and bobs.

On our wedding day, it ran so smoothly and that's all thanks to Leslie's co-ordinating and our Master of Ceremony on the day Phil. He was a true gentlemen and assisted us and our guests in anything we needed throughout the day. He was really lovely.

One main thing I want to mention about our wedding day is the food! We are still receiving compliments about how good the food was and we couldn't agree more. The food was really really good and cooked perfectly.

Overall, I couldn't recommend this place enough and I wouldn't change my wedding day for the world. It was the perfect day and the most beautiful location and I want to thank Brownsover Hall Hotel for making it so perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted your wedding day remains memorable for you. Thank you also for mentioning Lesley, she does a fabulous job for Brownsover Hall and it is kind of you to recognise this.
I wish you well in your married life and rest assured you will always be welcome at Brownsover Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspley Guise, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed 1 night on business conference. Conference service was good . stayed in barn room which was spacious and well equipped. good location and character setting, better than chain hotel which can get boring on multiple visits

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc4002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Hopefully the character of the surroundings improves the value of your conference. welcome back many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,857 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
525 reviews
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
6.4 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane | Warwickshire, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing