We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jazz Sunday lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jazz Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

A group of us attended Brownsover Hall for Jazz Sunday Lunch, feb 2014. The music was great, the food was fantastic especially the gigantic Yorkshire puddings when having beef - yummy, and the atmosphere was even better. We were served by Alice and a Polish lady (I am really sorry I really cannot remember her name) nothing was ever a problem and a meal with two smiley servers and a relaxed and cheerful ambience enabled our party of 6 to have a really good lunch out. I for one will definitely be returning and can highly recommend the jazz Sunday lunch.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for you review of our Sunday Jazz Lunch, they have become really popular due to the Cool Cats headed up by Lincoln Noel, March is fully booked and in April, places are going fast.
Thank you for mentioning Alice and Sylvia, all part of the atmosphere. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    226
    94
    43
    42
See reviews for
103
270
13
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
223 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Bought a Travelzoo voucher - 2 glasses of Prusecco, 2 starters and 2 main courses for £35. Great food, wine and service BUT you can't pay in the restaurant itself, you have to find the bar and the square dining tables are impossible for a couple to sit at unless you sit opposite each other as on 2 sides they are so low you cannot get your legs under the table comfortably. Poor.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your Travel Zoo voucher meal with us. Sorry that technology fails us with the reach of the handheld card terminal, whether it is the distance from the base or the thickness of the walls, I do not know, I am sorry this was an inconvenience to you. The tables are designed to accommodate up to four persons, I appreciate
your comments and regret we did not find an alternative solution for you on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and returned the following afternoon for a funeral reception. A lovely setting and a decent comfortable room without any real problems. The hotel does look a little tired in places but it has bags of character and is very fairly priced by local comparison.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. The evening meal was very pleasant albeit that there was a degree of inexperience/lack of finesse (eg a nice soup served without any offer of bread).
The afternoon event went well with an excellent buffet and willing assistance. Easy to see why it is popular for weddng receptions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for your review of Brownsover Hall, following a short stay recently. I am pleased you consider us, value for money. I sympathise with your comments regarding some aspects of the decor and can assure you this will be dealt with in the near future.
we look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The pictures, setting and reviews of the hotel and restaurant are very good but it could easily be a 4-5 star hotel not a 3 star. We visited in February for the University Polo Nationals and we were hugely disappointed. I think it's because they had a large noisy wedding on plus a private party in the dinning room so we dined in what looked like someone's lounge. Don't get me wrong the food was edible but not great, the bedroom was the same ok but not great but the pipes to the toilet in our bathroom were the noisiest I have ever heard. For the sake ok the beautiful building PLEASE try harder.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for review of Brownsover Hall, following a short stay recently. We constantly strive to do better, we are conscious that we are only as good as our last overnight and that you always have a choice. With that in mind, our focus is a continual improvement of the faciltiies and our service. Welcome back on your next visit to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

When you book this hotel be sure to confirm that you are staying in the actual hall and not the stables. Drove up to the hall and it looked beautiful but we went to stables and didn't stay, staff not that helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I respect your point of view, not one shared by everyone, I am sorry you didn't actually stay with us. It is disengeniuous to suggest the staff were not helpful when they did what they could to find you an alternative room, which you declined.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Cheap deal but we had booked an upgraded room in Stables and were very disappointed with size of room, decor and bathroom dated. The downstairs stable rooms looked significantly bigger and better but were same price. Ridiculously bare tea tray - just one tea bag (plus two flavoured which we didn't want), one sachet coffee and one decaf and just two pots milk. Rang reception thinking tray hadn't been refreshed but was assured it had! Asked for more and received two more tea bags after about an hours wait. Dinner nice but steak overlooked and vegetables were charged as extra. Passed comments on positively and hoped for response but still waiting after four days so have given up. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your review following a recent stay at Brownsover Hall. I am pleased you were able to benefit from exceptional savings offered through Secret Escapes. I understand some of the Stables rooms, although still very popular are due some soft revovation in the near future.
I believe we did respond by email to your concerns regarding the in-room courtesy tray.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I spent three nights at the Brownsover hotel with my three children and was most pleasantly surprised. The Brownsover hotel is a stunning building surrounded by beautiful grounds and not too far from the town centre. Excellent food both in the very quaint pub within the hotel and the hotel's restaurant. The staff absolutely wonderful and most courteous, accommodating every need of the client. The rooms are clean and nice and warm. The Brownsover Hotel is very charming indeed and much of the credit must go to the staff who run it diligently and with passion. The bedrooms are fine and, as previously mentioned, clean with all the necessities. However, an upgrade would not harm and the hotel would most easily become a 3 star superior. Quality and price must also be taken into consideration and I believe our stay was really value for money. We look forward to our next stay at the Brownsover Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of Brownsover Hall and the staff, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to be able to share plans for an upgrade to the rooms and public areas in the not so distance future. We look forward to welcoming yo back on many occasions in the coming years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing