We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Dunchurch Park(Dunchurch)
US$93
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Rugby Central(Rugby)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$59
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (871)
Filter reviews
871 results
Traveller rating
333
289
136
58
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
289
136
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstable blockcoach housebeautiful hotelwineglass restaurantmain buildingold stableslovely roomlots of characterlovely groundsfood was lovelyevening mealwedding breakfastwedding partybusiness tripfollowing morningfrom start to finishwedding reception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 871 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Spent a night here in one of the stable rooms (we'd recommend one of those!) in April, Beautiful gothic building full character which we loved, and a little creepy, which we also loved. Also booked wineglass restaurant for dinner which was decent food-wise though the service a bit slow and the atmosphere a little dead. Despite there being a wedding on the staff were attentive. We were very impressed with the polite bar man (shane?) despite being obviously very busy took time to chat to us and everyone he served. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a stable room!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is kind of you to mention Shane by name and pleased you enjoyed his company in the bar.

welcome back on your next visit to Rugby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very simple quick review, stayed here a few weeks back on a work stayover and had a half dent room. Was housed in the old stableblock and enjoyed a good nights sleep.
Reception is wonderful. staff obliging and the history of the jet engine (Frank Whittle) a nice bonus.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to be housed in the stable block, it gets you away from the coming and goings of other guests.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebenRichWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you very much for your short review. History creates stories and stories give a place character, this differenciates Brownsover Hall from many other properties. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome with us. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Had a recent weekend stay booked as a present. The hotel was a lovely old hall with a stable block where our room was.The room was great having it's own sitting area and bedroom on the floor above.
We ate both nights in the hotel as there was very little locally and the food was good, but the restaurant lacked atmosphere, was cold in certain areas and there was some overspill of noise from the weddings on both nights in the other rooms.
The hotel does seem to be set up more as a venue for weddings and as a result other guests do suffer a little.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the stable block if you can
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and sorry you felt marginalised. Brownsover Hall has many faces, we are excellent as a wedding venue, but welcome the majority of our guests, weekday and weekend, equally for business and pleasure throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We lunched here at one of the few times they didn't have a function, although the signs of past and future ones were all around: litter of pink feathers, confetti and cigarette butts on steps, staff rushing about with table cloths and decorations. We ate in lonely splendour in the dining room. The Gilbert Scott building and the grounds were ( just) diverting enough to make it a reasonably interesting experience, but we felt that the food was overpriced by about 15% for the main courses and 30-40% for the desserts. A rabbit main course was quite tasty but expensive at £16.95, the vegetarian gnocchi was a very small portion, and the desserts were very ordinary indeed at £6.95 each. It must be difficult to cater for individual diners and drop in customers in a place that is principally a wedding and party venue - on the evidence of our experience, they aren't really succeeding. Perhaps when the new housing developments nearby are built there will be more walk-in custom and they will be able to focus more on that aspect. As it is, I wouldn't revisit.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LadyMustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Prices can be a very subjective issue. we believe we offer value for money. At lunch time it is possible to choose from a fixed menu option for 2 courses for £16.95 including coffee or tea and three course for £19.95, also including coffee or tea. Interestingly enough, we served 93 covers on Saturday with a combination of lunches, afternoon teas, bar snacks and dinners in the restaurant and private rooms, so we are very much open and welcoming for drop in business. Try us again on another occasion.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice imposing hotel as you driver up the driveway to the entrance, there are rooms in the main hall and also a 'stables' block round the back. Check in was ok, efficient and too the point. I was allocated a room in the main hall so was looking forward to seeing it as previous reviewers had pointed out large spacious rooms. What a disapointment, room was on the 3rd floor and very small, almost an attic type room, was clean but space a real issue and electric heating gave off an interesting aroma whan switched on, eventually had to switch it off. Evening meals were good with friendly staff who were attentive without being over your shoulder, breakfast were also good with a similar attention to detail and service. All in all a hotel with character but needs to watch as its a fine line between character and shabiness. One word of advice for the hotel, put a bell in the bar, saves guests going to reception or hunting down a member of staff to serve you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor of main hall, think they are numbers 15 - 18
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot67Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and advice which we will certainly look into. Admittedly the rooms you mention are the smallest in the hotel. This is to be expected in a historical building, by the same token other rooms in the main house are oversized. Ultimately it is priced accordingly, so if size is what you prefer, I suggest you ask for one of our Executive rooms next time.
I look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews