We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brownsover Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
fermanagh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“another excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

we were back in my home town for a friend's party and to see family. Having stayed here before I wasnt disappointed. This hotel is so much nicer than the modern places nearby. Excellent value for money, actually cheaper than many others in town. Room looked over gardens at back of hotel. It was very clean and although there was a wedding on the sunday we werent disturbed by other guests. Breakfast on both days was amazing, nice to see so much choice as a vegetarian. Staff were attentive and friendly. will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggyFermanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, as a regular visitor, it is especially pleasing to welcome you back. We especially appreciate reference to value as we believe, this is our leading star. We look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions you are in the Rugby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    226
    94
    43
    42
See reviews for
103
270
13
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had super two day event and meeting at this lovely old hotel, staff very friendly and lots of fun!
Food, rooms and facilities all very good.
We were made very welcome and staff joined in and made the stay very personal.
Watch out for the Haunted room!

We will return.
MSC

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artela123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and delighted you enjoyed your team building residential conference. It certainly looked a lot of fun. Look out for our Halloween event on October 31st to experience the spirit of Brownsover.
welcome back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for one night after a wedding nearby and were delighted. The building is wonderful and has interesting history. It's well kept and the staff were very helpful. Our room in the old stables was huge and comfortable, but its bathroom was looking a little tired. The buffet breakfast was excellent and well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that breakfast the following day exceeded expectations. Your comments regarding the decor and bathroom are totally justifed, something we hope to address very soon.
We hope to see you on many occasions in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

As you drive up you think WOW!! The staff really let the place down, we stayed over a weekend and felt like it was run by students.....
Not helpful, nor knowledgeable on the local area - or they could not be bothered....
We were rushed, and wanted to eat before we went to a wedding held locally - we ordered our food, and went to dump our bags into the room (that one later), we explained the urgency and asked when it would be ready - 15 - 20 minutes they explained. Ordered, 2 burgers (plain and dry) Cheese and 'local chutney' sandwich (Branston) and Mussels. 45 minutes later we were still waiting, despite being the only ones in the 'no atmosphere' bar! We asked for the check, as we were eating, and still not prepared by the time we had finished our very rushed lunch, Had to wait a further 10 minutes by the time we eventually found someone that could prepare a bill - to be posted to the room.
We stayed in 2 stable rooms, 38 and 41 (38 great size, 41 tiny) dated interiors, with curtains that didn't fit the windows. Shower fell off the wall. The rooms are away from the main building, which means you get very wet (when its raining) moving from the main building to your room. The car park is a hike away, and you cannot get anywhere near the room with luggage.. Rushing (in the end) to the wedding, the girls got VERY wet making a run to the car..
Breakfast the following day, again, the young restaurant staff made it a very bad experience. Sunday morning, 9:30 (breakfast served until 10am) and it was very busy, nice room (ruined by the oversized TV on the wall) plates left on the table for 40 minutes, coffee never arrived, toast never arrived.
The Hot breakfast is in a different room to the 2 dining rooms where you eat, the dishes with hot food in them, are plentiful, but there was always 2 at least empty, so you could never have a complete breakfast, all 4 of us at one point had items unavailable at the time.
Would not stay here again at all!

Room Tip: Its quite a hike into Rugby! All the picture are of the rooms in the main building which are at muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwalker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We take all guests comments extremely seriously and take a lot of time, soul searching every individual issue raised. With the greatest respect your general impression is not representative of our service and the reputation many people in the hotel have worked hard over many years to acheive. Our food is made to order and by its very nature cannot be rushed. Apologies if this was longer than normal to prepare for you, due to a busy wedding service held in the hotel. As you were attending an offsite wedding, we accommodated you in the Stables for extra privacy, there is a drop off option almost at the door and the carpark is in close proximity. Due to a wedding held in the hotel, the front car park is blocked off for photographs.
Admitedly at the end of breakfast service at weekends, there is a tendancy to form a last minute rush by guests wishing to benefit from the extended breakfast service. We endeavour to manage this situation as far as is humanly possible and apologise if there was unavoidable waiting time for you on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip a few times, the bedrooms are like roulette, some good and some very tired and run down. Rooms generaly need a lick of paint, cant understand why they wouldnt do this? The wifi doesnt work in the stables, when it does its weak and drops off every few seconds. The food is over priced but generally cooked well, well done. Draught beer tastes like battery acid, avoid. Bar/restaraunt staff seem in another world, young tall geeky lad always served breakfast dropped our toast every morning without fail. Better in the area for your money, try the Dunschurch or Premier inn North if you want a comfy room and normal food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MancTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are aware some of the rooms are due a general refurbishment, and this matter will be dealt with shortly. However part of the charm of the hotel is the fact that no two rooms are the same. We always try to accommodate individual requests for specific rooms for regular visitors. The draught beer system in the bar is maintained by one of the country's reputable brewers, so your verdict on the quality is somewhat harsh, however I will of course look into the matter. I have not received any concurring comments from other customers.
Wifi does work efficiently throughout the property and is free to use. There are temporary infleunces which affect usage including atmospheric and the capacity of the receiving device. Some rooms may recieve a reduced strength due to the physical nature of the property and thickness of walls. The signal is remotely monitored and we endeavour to correct any issues with minimal inconvenience to our guests. For information and for regular internet users, we provide a hard wired option in the main house, again free of charge.
Rest assured we take all guest comments extremely seriously with a view to correct problems as they arise and enhance guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Check in was fine , quick and efficient.
Room was OK.
Did not eat in the restaurant but had a light snack in the bar .... slow service but the food was ok.
I had had a very long day ( up at 0400 in the am to get to meetings in the North and then travel back down to the midlands for more meetings) and was in bed by 10.00PM.Got a bizarre phone call ( waking me out of a deep sleep) at 10.30 PM asking me if I had been down in the bar earlier and paid my bar bill .. which I had so not really sure what the purpose of the call was. Breakfast was slow and not great, plates not cleared, lots of staff waffling around but not really seeming to do much. Check out was a nightmare with one poor receptionist trying to deal with about 9 patrons. Bottom line is I would not go back unless desperate !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LozzoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We apologise for any inconvenience to you. We are aware we are judged on every contact and every stay, we clearly have some work to do in certain areas to remain ahead of the game. We take note of these and will take action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Were staying with family locally and as it was my birthday insisted on taking them to dinner at Brownsover Hall,despite it being the hottest day of the year! However it was very pleasant strolling through the grounds from the car park to the rear and the restaurant entrance. We explored the impressive main hall later.
Only three other tables were in use, being a Sunday night ,so service was efficient and the menu was varied and very good. I didn't like the wine being placed on an adjacent table but that is because I am greedy and don't like to wait to have my glass topped up!
Prices were about right for the setting and the menu and we will go again. Hopefully it will be at another's expense!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rod r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed the service, food and atmosphere of the Hall and grounds on a calm summer's evening.
Welcome back on future occasions when you are in the Rugby area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing