We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at the hotel on the weekend of our friends Civil Partnership ceremony. It was a great venue for the event. Close to the motorway yet out in the country. Great grounds, plenty of parking. Pleasant room, nice and warm, clean and well presented. Very friendly staff who were pleased to help. Enjoyed the Breakfast! plenty on offer and a great choice!
The bar prices were eye watering. Drinks were very expensive. At least I didn't wake up with a hang over........ I couldn't afford to!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luaprekol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    257
    114
    52
    46
See reviews for
126
305
13
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This is a lovely venue to get married. The great gothic architecture really did lend itself to our Chrismas wedding. It's as good a price as anywhere of the same standard. There is a sense though that every single little item is charged for - no complimentary little freebies here. Staff are professional though and it all went very smoothly which is the main thing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We had booked the bridal suite based in the old stables, we got a great deal of dinner, bed and breakfast - £160. The drive up to the hotel was excellent. The hotel itself has an air of mystery and gothic charm. The check in was smooth and it was good to be able to check in a 2pm. The suite we had was room 48, it was based over two floors. The decor was nothing spectacular or modern but it was comfortable and in keeping with the building. We had pre-arranged champagne and chocolates for the room and they were there waiting for us and the champagne was lovely and chilled!!!

Unfortunately we found that the toilet was leaking in the bathroom and had left a small puddle in the middle of the bathroom floor. When we informed reception the duty manager (Bianca) came to see us to offer her apology, as she was aware there was a problem with the plumbing. We were offered another room but we did't like it as much. We were then offered free wine with our dinner that evening and extra towels to help mop up the water!! We were happy with that! Bianca was very attentive and apologetic. The funny thing was that when my hubby had a look at the toilet he found that the cistern was over filling, he easily solved the problem so the toilet did not leak again that whole weekend!!!

There was a wedding in the hotel that night so the restaurant had been moved to the drawing room. We had it all to ourselves all evening. The food was faultless and very tasty!!!! The free wine was good too!!!!!

In the morning the breakfast was served as a buffet style continental and cooked. All of it was great! Basically it was a great place to get away to have a romantic weekend. It was made all the better by the good deal we got!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_e_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We have just returned from spending a lovely weekend at our son's wedding which was held at this venue. We stayed in the converted stable block around a cobbled courtyard which was both spacious and full of character. The wedding itself went absolutely according to plan, under the guidance of Philip whose staff were both friendly and efficient.
The layout of the Hotel and the beautiful grounds were perfect for both the Ceremony and the Reception. We would not hesitate in recommending this as a Wedding Venue.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mctickner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The whole team work very hard to make every booking with us meet and exceed customer expectations.

Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back again for another event or overnight stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Attended a wedding at Brownsover Hall. Plus points - lovely setting, quality of food very good. Negatives - the wedding manager (possibly duty manager) was overly officious and treated some guests with contempt. More than 30 mins passed between the starter and main course (although the food was very good when it eventually arrived). Bar prices are extortionate.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeVilla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We always endeavour to provide the best possible service for all our customers. There was a delay between starter & main course; we wanted to make sure that the main course was served to the correct standard. I am glad that when it did arrive that it met your expectations and apologise for the any inconvenience the delay caused you. We had also communicated constantly with the Bride & Groom about the delay; they were happy to have a break between the course and were equally delighted with the quality of the food when it was served.

The bar prices we have at the hotel are comparative to other hotels in the area and we will continue to monitor this to ensure that we are comparative in the market place.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ab_wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Just came back from a two day conference with overnight stay.

The hotel, room and bar were all extremely good and I would not hesitate to stay there again. The staff were also very welcoming and helpful. Definitely suitable for a couple looking for a quiet short break.

Free WiFi was also a big plus as this was a business trip.

There were some negative points however. The chairs in the conference were not unusually bad but were still painful to sit on for the entire day (10:30am until 6pm). The layout of the room meant that the vast majority of us had to twist at awkward angles to see the speaker and screen. As someone that can suffer from bad backs this was particularly annoying and I imagine I was not the only one.

Also the evening BBQ was of good quality food but I thought was a little meager for the number of people in our group.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab_wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Thank you for your comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly take into consideration your comments reference the chairs when we plan any future refurbishments.

We also look forward to welcoming you & your company back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Nice room
Nice staff
Good breakfast
Arrive late, left early
Would certainly use again as a business hub to spring from

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,915 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Mercure Brandon Hall Hotel and Spa Warwickshire
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
5.0 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane | Warwickshire, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby
Brownsover Hall Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing