We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pub in Rugby. A Proper Pub.”
Review of The Merchants Inn

The Merchants Inn
Ranked #13 of 189 Restaurants in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Good old-fashioned British Pub serving the best traditional ales & ciders, continental beers, and delicious food. A must for any Rugby fan, this place is a mecca for locals looking to watch live matches. A fascinating pub with great locals, stacks of history, fantastic beer & food served by wonderful staff. What more could you ask for? - Oh and it's a stones-throw from where the game was invented!
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Pub in Rugby. A Proper Pub.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A proper pub. Great selection of ales, wines, ciders etc. Great food, best screen in Rugby to watch Cricket, Rugby etc. Log fire, live music, quiz nights, themed nights and great beer and cider festivals. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Pub In Rugby”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great pub with fantastic atmosphere. By far the best pub in Rugby with a wide selection of beers and ciders.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michaelm67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our U.S. rugby tour group was treated to a fish and chips dinner that was fantastic! Everything and everyone at the Merchant was charming and welcomed us with open arms!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JVZRQA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Down to earth, great ales, good old fashioned PUB!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We love There Merchants - it's like a tardis for a start, much bigger inside than it looks from the outside. The huge blackboard outside promotes it's 'Man Creche' where we can leave our husbands inside and they'll be looked after while we potter about in town.

We live locally, but only moved to Rugby in the last couple of years so The Merchants was a very welcome fine - very friendly staff, a lovely atmosphere and somewhere you can either drink with a big gang of friends, or literally ready the paper on your own if you choose. See it every week while we nip in on a Sunday afternoon for a good beer and a roast potato or yorkshire phd that the chef leaves on the bar after the carver - warm and free and a welcome treat!

They obviously show the Rugby matches, have a dart board, a huge list of belgian and other beers and hold beer festivals, outdoor 'street' barbecues in the summer and last year, we walked in on St. George's Day to find the pub floor had been completely turfed, and we sat on bales of hay while supping our Pimms indoors.

Fab pub - don't be put off by the tiny door on the way in, it's just a teaser for what's inside.

We got married in Rugby in 2012 after our first year living here and as we told few, and shot off to New York after a couple of hours of becoming husband and wife, we chose the Merchants to feed and drink our select friends, and left them there to enjoy themselves while we flew off to our honeymoon.

Place has a fond place in our hearts, but to anybody reading, its a just a great little boozer.

Oooh, and whatever you order at the bar, local or further afield, you'll be served the drink in the glass for which it's intended - I love that, really hate being given Peroni for example, in a Carling glass - yuk!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRahmanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

This pub oozes character. Great selection of real ales served by friendly staff. The walls are adorned with masses of artefacts. I cant comment on the food. The place is a gem

Helpful?
Thank NorthernPlank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Merchants Inn also viewed

Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Merchants Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing