We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home cooked food”
Review of The Bear

The Bear
Ranked #123 of 189 Restaurants in Rugby
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home cooked food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Lovely home cooked, locally sourced food. Kids menu fairly standard, would be nice to see smaller portions of the adult menu on there

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank madmarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“House move”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Dropped in during a break in house move, we both had the ham salad which we ate outside. Acceptable rather than outstanding, however the place does feel in need of a coat of paint, so don't use if you are looking to impress, would we go again, probably not.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food & nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff, Good food & ample size portions. Pleasant clean surroundings. Fun Events held on occasions. What more do you need!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Dropped in as usual quite late on a friday evening ahead of going to Le Mis film,, Needed a quick meal, the pub had quite a few people in it so relatively busy,, not too noisy,, we were the only people in there for a meal,, got served quickly,, the staff helpful and friendly,, went to order from the food order hatch they do not come to the table,,saw the chef and he took order and asked if we wanted additional wild mushrooms which was a nice touch,, food was lovely served quickly, tasted great,, price was just about right too,, only about 8 tables in the small restaurant area so if busy i guess you would have to sit in the bar area but really impressed,,will deffinately go again

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bear also viewed

Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing