We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed 14 June 2011

my niece held her wedding here and it was a lovely day,staff were very helpful and friendly,food was lovely,would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your kind words, we are glad the day went well and look forward to welcoming you at the Grosvenor once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for The Grosvenor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

The thing that drove me mad the most and nearly made me decide not to check in was the boarded up window at the front! Why don't they just paint it White or replace it. Real shame as the food is excellent & I would have recommended other people.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddericka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food, with regards to the window, it is in the process of getting replaced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

I haven't stayed at this hotel (as we are locally based) but felt it was worth informing others that it has an excellent and reasonably priced restaurant. It's very clean, recently refurbished by the looks of things, and the food is very nice and large in portion! The hotel was recently featured on Channel 5's 'The Hotel Inspector' and its restaurant was singled out for praise here too. This is not gourmet / fine dining level food, but well worth a visit if you live locally or are in the area. It also has a reasonably sized and free car park around the back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveBB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I saw this hotel on hotel inspector on tv was on business in rugby so gave it a try! The rooms are cosy and have everything I needed the staff are friendly and got a great nights sleep it's quiet and beds are comfy! And the hotel is spotless and clean but the highlight as shown on tv actually was the food really good prices and tasty I'm back in august for work and I have no hesitation in stopping in this hotel again!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ScottyandRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you in August

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I would recommend this hotel to other travelers who are looking for a short-term stay in a friendly and affordable place.

This hotel also have many scrumptious meals at affordable prices. I tried their Beef Burger and Soup. They were Delicious!!! At lunch time they offer a Fixed priced menu starting from £6 for 1 course meal. What a Bargain!!

I will stay at this hotel again and next time I do hope that the Manager will change its old fashioned curtains to modern and simple design

Room Tip: Speak directly with the Hotel manager
Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
5  Thank nycfoodietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2011

Thank you for your kind words regarding the restaurant, a refurbishment programme is in place, and hope to update key areas that need to be addressed soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We've been staying here since 1994 and our group love this hotel. Seen it change hands a few times and now its better than ever. Friendly, comfortable, good food, great bar with Sky, nice atmsophere and close to town. Previous owners let it get quite run down at one time but now the programme of refurbishment is on going so rooms getting better all the time. It can't all be done overnight but they're getting there. We will definitely stay there again next time if we can.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Moosa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to welcoming you in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The reception is nice, location ok for ease to the town, service was hit and miss. Staff really pleasant but either forgot or too busy - when I ordered my breakfast this was never brought out but perhaps a good thing as two of my colleagues had eaten chicken curries there the night before and got mild food poisoning! The rooms were grot; stained badly fitted carpets, decor in some of the rooms really awful, wall paper peeling off, damp, no heating, very hard uncomfortable beds with wafer thin duvets, curtains and nets really shabby and hanging off rails, lots of noise from outside and other rooms - not their fault just no sound proofing at all, no water from the taps in some rooms, showers spat boiling hot water ... my best advice is if you dare to dice with death, take out life insurance before you stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Justwannanitessleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerGrosvenor, Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking time and giving us feedback and constructive comments are also welcome.

With regard to your comments about the rooms, the hotel has an ongoing refurbishment programme and all key areas of rooms are being addressed.

You say that one of your guests had mild food poisoning. This is obviously a very serious accusation. We are surprised that you did not contact us if you believed that we were to blame. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food, and can guarantee that your party would not have been served meat that was past its sell by date.

We rely on customer feedback to constantly improve our service, but are always glad to have the opportunity to rectify and discuss any issues as they happen. We hope that you will tell us immediately if you are unhappy with anything on your next visit to our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.9 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
444 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 81-87 Clifton Road, Rugby CV21 3QQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range: £58 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Rugby
The Grosvenor Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing