We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Diamond House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diamond House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Rugby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

the room was very damp. found a snail on carpet.the mattress was very thin and bed uncomfortable. the wash hand basin was situated outside of the bathroom in the living area. the breakfas was ok except the sausages were of the very cheap variety

Room Tip: avoid room B
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Parking - down a private road with huge potholes unable to avoid as only 1 car width. Room - large but very dated furniture, holes in net curtain, carpet seen better days, mattress rock hard and bedding felt damp, holes in duvet cover, pink sink in room, shower toilet of room and shower requires updating as very tired. Good TV but reception not good. Room cold had to ask for heater which given but I felt he begrudged it, he indicated he thought it was warm (wet outside temp 12c). Room did feel damp.
Breakfast - very early start for a Sunday 8.30 to 9.30am. Breakfast room smelt of stale food and old oil, sausage cheap bought, bacon well cooked (liked this) and toast was toast not just pale.
Price - £62 thought a bit much for no star hotel - sorry Managers but it really needs a full revamp. My sister found a snail in her room cos of the damp

Room Tip: Sorry couldn't give a tip apart from avoid all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Breakfast was cheap, sausage tasted like plastic, not a full English as described bed was old style ( flat spring base with thin mattress. Toilet had fitted carpet with know floor protection, alarm clock did not work, beer extensive, and owners sons playing football at midnight outside my window did not help, apart from that it was ok.

Room Tip: to choose a good room look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alang4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I arrived late on Saturday evening. Staff couldn't find my booking but did eventually. The attitude was really "couldn't care less" which is a shame.
The room was tired, the towels had seen better days and the decor shabby. There was mould in the shower door.
However it was quiet and the bed was comfortable. TV had an excellent selection of programmes and plenty of tea, coffee and milk.
I wouldn't stay again. I didn't have breakfast as I had to be at work at 8am the next morning and I had to leave the key hanging in the reception door which was locked. I felt very unwanted and an inconvenience, as I was leaving early. Sorry not impressed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank nursetutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I am lucky enough to work in an industry which means I stay in hotels all over the world - so I believe I am more than competent to give an honest assessment of this hotel.

What I would say about this one is that as many of the reviews have stated, it's not the world's most up to date boutique hotel - quite the opposite. What it lacks in the latest mod cons it more than makes up for in service - good old fashioned personable service.

Instead of a customer or a room number, Simon, the owner, makes you feel like a guest in his home - a friendly chat, a lovely home cooked breakfast made to order - when you are on the road for weeks at a time, believe me, someone to say a pleasant 'good morning' to you and mean it - is a welcome break from the usual.

Internet was on the whole fine - the room was clean and the parking safe and convenient - breakfast was good and on occasion superb! The bed was so comfortable it was all I could do to stop myself falling asleep whilst watching early evening TV.

As stated above I have read some of the comments by people and ask myself what do they want for £45 a night?

I would book to stay again in an instant - I would urge others to do so as well.

Room Tip: Rooms ABCDE are right next to the rear car park - ideal for checking in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Room seven is not a room it's a cell sky light for a window,mould in the sky light.filthy walls no heating (it's a electric storage heaters that are turned off at the wall so I turned it on to store the heat from that night so it would be release through out the following day ready for when I arrived back from working out doors .got back and they had switched it off at the wall.still freezing so I complain about everything and the nasty foul staff shouted at me and blamed the state of the room on me but had to stay that night did not sleep a wink in the child size bed

Room Tip: Not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The decor is very outdated and tired as were the fixtures and fittings. We had a 'penthouse', well it was in the attic. The room came with full kitchenette, whereas it would have been more suitable having a full bathroom rather than the toilet come shower cubicle it had. The toilet was so close to the opposite wall if you are over 6 foot tall you'd have to sit on the toilet sideways. The toilet overflow drained into the shower tray (nice!). The wash basin was attached to the wall outside the bathroom and was so small not even a child would be able to wash their face. There was a fuse box and exposed mains cabling in the corner of the room...when I say exposed I mean copper wire showing. The bed appeared to be a wardbrode laid on its side with mattress on it. The mattress was really old and totally worn out. The pillows inside the pillow case were ancient and a horrid yellowy brown. The duvet was tiny and didn't cover the bed.
Breakfast average at best. I could not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere in Rugby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
1.7 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
4.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
557 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Green Man
The Green Man
#2 of 2 in Dunchurch
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House Hotel

Address: 30 Hillmorton Road, Rugby CV22 5AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rugby
Price Range: £52 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diamond House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond House Hotel Rugby, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing