We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
Review of La Casa Loco

La Casa Loco
Ranked #6 of 196 Restaurants in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Established in 1993, La Casa Loco remains an independently owned restaurant and has earned a reputation for its authentic, high quality cuisine, warm and vibrant décor, lively atmosphere and friendly, well-trained staff.La Casa Loco means "The mad house" in Spanish and it's true - due to its unique atmosphere and fine, home cooked Mexican and Cajun food, La Casa Loco is incredibly popular with all ages - from couples to families; large celebrations to office parties.The restaurant and private dining room / meeting room can also be hired for private or corporate functions any weekday and all day / night on Sundays.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I've been here on a few occasions now and found the food to be delicious. My last visit was for a Christmas meal with colleagues and we were really taken care of. The staff were really friendly and went out of their way for us. I would definitely come back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanneW_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    137
    60
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Mexican”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a place you will need to book in the evenings as it is often full - once you have been you will see why. The atmosphere is great, love the sombrero's dotted around for photo opportunities.There is a bar and seating by it, great decor, the odd birthday surprise going off - sometimes with much amusement attached. The food is very plentiful and delicious! They also offer gluten free dishes which is so good to have. Prices are not cheap but they are reasonable and worth every penny for the high quality food and large portions. Highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fab authentic Mexican restaurant nicely tucked away!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A friend had recommended the restaurant and boy how right she was. The restaurant was fantastic, a real hidden gem. The ambience was lovely, the food was fantastic and the service was wonderful.
The enchiladas were amazing and well priced!
Definitely would visit again but be warned you probably will need to book.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Noisy...and s-l-o-w service. Not great :-(”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were a large (15) works party. We all met at 7.30, ordered... and then waited AN HOUR (!!) for our food. This was tasty and perfectly fine - not posh dining but we were hungry and it was hot and filling. Some of us didn't have cutlery or napkins... waiting staff not terribly interested in sorting that out. Waited another age for plates to be cleared (and it was a weekday night and not at all busy) and had to ask twice for a dessert menu. Nobody asked us if we ever wanted more drinks. Several of our party had to leave before desserts could be ordered.... no loss, as these were pricey for what they were.
It was really noisy in this restaurant. To be fair to the owners I'm not sure why this was the case, as it was certainly not busy and the piped music wasn't that loud - however, I couldn't hear what was being said further along the table... odd acoustics in there.
I won't be rushing back, though I expect nobody cares enough to be terribly disappointed by that.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leamingtonrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent food, lack lustre service”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a very popular venue in Rugby and we had to try several times to get a booking.
The food was nice although quite expensive but the service was inattentive and uncaring. For example, we ordered drinks which didn't arrive and then did not receive an apology when we we asked where they were 20 minutes later.
There are better places you can dine in Rugby for this price range

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sophiesmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casa Loco also viewed

Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
 
Rugby, Warwickshire
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Been to La Casa Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing