We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Cafe

El Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: El Cafe is a spanish cafe bar in the heart of Shipston On Stour. Come down for an authentic Spanish coffee, a selection of Tapas or a few glasses of wine! The times that we advertise are for food orders/bookings, as in true Spanish style we close when we have finished, we like to fiesta in the evening but in the afternoon we close at 3pm for our siesta, this is so we can do fiesta!!!
Shipston-on-Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Ive been here several times and each time has been fantastic.

I rang up on the day and I was fitted in no problem with a choice of seats.

It was my girlfriend's birthday and we were treated with extra dishes and a new "not on the menu yet" dish.

Superb and would happily go back again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LJP638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    17
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Touch of Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We went to this little restaurant as a result of reading trip advisor reviews. Very welcoming! Sat in the outdoor covered area and although cold outside, the owner turned the heaters on immediately and we were soon nice and warm!

Ordered from the tapas menu...and the food was so delicious and absolutely reminded us of being in Spain. A really lovely touch was the owner bringing us a taster dish of something we considered ordering but couldn't fit into our choices.

Warm, welcoming and definitely would go again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

David has created a beautiful little/cafe come tapas bar. Food is always freshly prepared, tasty and made from quality local ingredients. The only shame is it could be a little bigger inside.
Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cracking Service and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Good value for money tasty food, lovely little place with plenty of character, you can watch the food being prepared, which was swift and tasty, would recommend to anyone looking for a value for money night out or a lunch time treat

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeTheBike999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

It was 5.20pm, we were hungry and more than ready to eat. El cafe was recommended to us by a local secondhand bookshop seller - we were not disappointed. David, the owner, and his staff looked after us very well, we asked him to surprise us with his choice of hot tapas and toppings for the pizza. Both were delicious and good value fro money :)) We were very happy to meet Izabella and her Mummy. We will definitely re-visit when in the area, thank you so much, w wish you well with the business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slimsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Cafe also viewed

Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
 
Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
 
Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston-on-Stour, Cotswolds
 

Been to El Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing