We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in this lovely B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from a super stay at The Old Kiln House B&B! The B&B is set within walking distance of the little shops and cafe's in Shipston on Stour, just 30mins from Stratford. The main house is hidden behind a stone wall but upon opening a small wooden door you enter into what can only be described into a 'Secret Garden' with pretty shrubs with table and chairs set to get afternoon sun - bliss! A real haven...

Even though the house is a period rambly-type large cottage, inside the B&B it is more like a 5* Boutique Hotel - I stayed in the Westminster Room - and the bed, linen, quality of fixtures and fittings and attention to detail is of the highest quality - cannot be faulted, and all brand new....I slept like a log to just hear wood pigeons outside my window... and yet Bridget leaves you to enjoy the peace and tranquility to come and go as you please and is so kind and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfast was wonderful - rich fruit compot with fresh Greek yoghurt to start, rich ground coffee, toast and jams as well as a large cooked breakfast with 'butcher' sausages and bacon! Breakfast is served at separate tables off the kitchen area so you don't have to sit with other people if you don't feel you want to engage in conversation with other guests early in the morning, and the room looks out on one side to a gorgeous view of the garden and birds flying to and from from the bird feeders, and on the other set into the old stone wall, a wood burning stove for the colder months. I really wouldn't change a thing and will be returning as soon as I can!...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear M

It really was wonderful meeting you and having you stay. I really hope that your next stay with us will be longer. I hope that your new undertaking is working out and and I send you my very best wishes for your longer term plan.

My very best wishes

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I visited last saturday night. What a find! Service second to none, beautifully decorated throughout and was a real oasis of calm. Absolutely we can recommend this and hope to go back again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: beautifully decorated rooms and the breakfast was delightful eating it in the 'secret' garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sally k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear S

Thank you for your kind words. I am very happy that you had such a good time and enjoyed The Old Kiln House.

Please come back and stay as I am sure there are many places close by that you would enjoy.

Best regards


Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This is a little gem that Bridget and Patrick have created in the Cotswolds. Greeted with a glass of bubbly lovely touch and then lead to the room which was amazing with charming character and the bathroom was high quality. Breakfast was very homely with home made bread and cooked to perfection.
Thank you Bridget and Patrick definitely hope to be back

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivien6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello V

Thank you for coming to stay with and for your review. It was a pleasure having you and I am so glad you had a great time.

Best wishes

Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I have not stayed here but as an owner of a business a few yards away, I went to have a look at The Old Kiln House to see if I would recommend it to any of my customers. I was extremely impressed. Each room was completely different from the other ones, beautifully furnished and decorated as well as spacious. A lovely breakfast room and delightful private garden. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello M

Thank you for your kind comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

Best wishes Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Last weekend my partner and I stayed at The Old Kiln House for a short weekend away. When we arrived we were welcomed by Bridget and Patrick and they asked us how are journey was as we had come all the way from London. We were given welcome drinks and we talked about what sort of local pubs around in Shipston as we wanted to go out for a bite to eat. Bridget and Patrick knew all the local pubs, restaurants, shops and bars within the area.

The room we had was beautiful and very cosy. It was very spacious and I loved the bath in the en suite. The bed we had was very comfortable! We had a delicious breakfast in the morning which went down a treat. There was such a lovely selection of foods to choose from on the breakfast table.

We would definitely recommend The Old Kiln House to anyone who wants a relaxing romantic weekend away in the countryside. Thank you to Bridget and Patrick, we will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessHMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I hope that you enjoyed your next holiday that you told us about as much as we enjoyed having you stay. Please come back soon! Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I was lucky enough to hear about the Old Kiln through word of mouth and so I wasnt quite sure what to expect on my arrival. However this has to be one of the best b&b's I've ever stayed at. The house itself is just GORGEOUS. I stayed in the Salisbury room and it exceeded my expectations in every way. From the moment you arrive both Bridgette and Patrick make you feel at home. I especially loved the little touches such as the welcome drinks, the Roche Babois arm chair in your bedroom and the cosy snug area with a real wood burning fireplace (perfect for the winter!). The breakfast was very tasty and I was impressed with all the food coming from around the local area. What I also enjoyed was the location - perfect for walking around the corner to the local pubs (4 or 5 I think I counted!!) and resturants but also great for getting out and seeing the beautiful Cotswolds countryside.

Both Bridgette and Patrick are full of enthusiasm and knowledge of the local area and if you want any suggestions where to go then you must ask them.
I have to say the quality of the accomodation combined with all of the above made this an incredibly special and relaxed stay. Its perfect for anyone wanting a special weekend away and im already planning my return trip!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pailers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hello N, thank you so much for the kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay and we really look forward to seeing you and your friends soon. Best wishes Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert HG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipston-on-Stour
11.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,045 reviews
6.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
72 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8 West Street, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Shipston-on-Stour
Price Range: £118 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kiln House is an eighteenth century grade II listed town house situated in the centre of the historic market town Shipston-on-Stour which is known as the cornerstone to the Cotswolds. It is an ideal base to explore the surrounding countryside and beautiful Cotswold towns and villages. Shipston-on-Stour is close to Stratford-upon-Avon, Chipping Campden, Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow-on-the-Wold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Kiln House Bed And Breakfast Shipston-On-Stour, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing