We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pure delight..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cuffley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A pure delight..”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I had no idea what to expect beyond the gate of The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast and I was bowled over by the wonderful welcome not only from Bridget and Patrick but Charlie the spaniel too! My room was luxurious and everything felt special and thought through , even to the lovely biscuits in the jar.
The breakfast was superb too and I felt very well rested after this short break.
A great find and ideal for exploring the Cotswolds.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank julieannryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
123
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

A truly magical hidden gem, although we suspect it won't remain hidden for very long!!! We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend, made extra special, not only by the fabulous luxury and comfort of our surroundings, but also by the warmth and hospitality of our hosts, Bridget and Patrick (and the gorgeous Charlie!) Everything is just perfect here, and nothing is too much trouble, including adapting the simply wonderful breakfast to accommodate a dietary problem. We were very sad to leave and will certainly be going back just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Absolutely wonderful, what a excellent find. On arrival we were met by Bridget who really knows how to make you most welcome with a glass of bubbly in the courtyard garden. We stayed in the Avalon room on the ground floor which overlooks the pretty courtyard. Our room was stunning, every little detail is thought of, luxury bedding, decor and furniture. Breakfast really sets you up for the day, and nothing is too much trouble for fussy eaters! This is an ideal base for sightseeing. We will be returning to this beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Old Kiln House. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular that you loved the luxury furniture, bedding and decor of the Avalon room. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I loved my stay in the Salisbury room - it is beautifully decorated, with an excellent mattress and stylish bathroom, complete with heated floor and towel-rack. All the details have been taken care of (like luxurious soaps and shampoos), and the aesthetic throughout the house is perfect - stylish, elegant and comfortable. Patrick and Bridget are wonderful hosts - warm and friendly, generous with advice about the area and completely welcoming. Their spaniel Charlie is also an excellent host, and very good looking! The garden is a perfect place to retreat and read a book or gaze at the clouds - the fountain, multiple rose bushes and lilac tree make for a real oasis. Shipston is a lovely little town and Bridget guided me to several wonderful long walks through gorgeous scenery. Breakfast is excellent and set me up for day perfectly. I will definitely be back and recommend this to all of my friends. Thank you for a wonderful,relaxing stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starship2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, General Manager at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear S

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your very busy life to write this review. We really enjoyed having you. As we said, there are two other rooms waiting for you to enjoy !!!

Please come back soon and we will make sure that we have some "rooibos" tea for you again.

All the best

Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Accommodation was perfect, full of character and style..... breakfast was excellent and all this was only surpassed by the welcome and hospitality and kindness offered by the owners. We will definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a quality place to stay in a lovely area and make every effort to visit the area again to stay in the Old Kiln House. Thank you a very special weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Old Kiln House. I am delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation, breakfast and our hospitality and taken away the memory of a very special weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Although situated in the centre of Shipston on Stour, the moment you walk through the garden gate you are in tranquil oasis of peace and quiet in their charming courtyard garden. Bridget & Patrick are the perfect hosts and they have transformed this house into one of the best B&B's I have ever been too. The rooms are beautiful and tastefully furnished, have luxury en-suites and a breakfast to die for! If you want to visit the Cotswolds, don't miss the chance to enjoy this place.

Room Tip: The Salisbury Room was a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of the Old Kiln House. I am so pleased that you loved the ambiance of the house and garden as well as enjoyed the luxury of the Salisbury room and en-suite. It is a lovely accolade to be told that this is one of the best B and B''s you have visited. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a lovely place to stay! The rooms (we saw all 3 of them) are all beautifully furnished with lots of considerate extra little touches. This is the hosts' first venture into hospitality - they are naturals. We were made to feel very welcome, beds extremely comfortable, breakfast excellent. Shipston is a cute market town with nice shops and it's only about a 20 minute drive to Stratford. The walking country is stunning, and Bridget gave us details of lovely walks right from the doorstep - a necessity to walk off the breakfast! Would highly recommend this place - we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank East_HouseLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget G, Owner at The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear L

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am afraid that Charlie seems to be missing you a lot. Keep up the walking and I hope that the boots have worn in by now

Best wishes


Bridget
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipston-on-Stour
11.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
3.7 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
4.7 mi away
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfast
Maxwell's Piece Bed and Breakfas...
#2 of 18 in Moreton-in-Marsh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston-on-Stour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 West Street, Shipston-on-Stour CV36 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston-on-Stour
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Shipston-on-Stour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kiln House is an eighteenth century grade II listed town house situated in the centre of the historic market town Shipston-on-Stour which is known as the cornerstone to the Cotswolds. It is an ideal base to explore the surrounding countryside and beautiful Cotswold towns and villages. Shipston-on-Stour is close to Stratford-upon-Avon, Chipping Campden, Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow-on-the-Wold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Kiln House Bed And Breakfast Shipston-On-Stour, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing