We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional, but no more”
Review of Tarsus Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarsus Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Southam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The decor was seriously dated and the mattress very basic indeed but it was functional and the shower was nice and strong. Clean and quiet location on the edge of town. And a good full English to finish, perfect bacon

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Robert,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the hotel. We are currently refurbishing all of our rooms and have taken on board your feedback. Nevertheless, I'm glad that you had a good nights sleep and that your breakfast was cooked to your tastes.

I hope to welcome you back to Southam again in the future.

Kind regards,

Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Near Southam part business part pleasure, drove past it looked a little scruffy from outside but decided to get rates and see room. My wife and I stayed for one night Saturday 18th May 2013. Met by owner at reception and viewed room. Very clean and good character, real Mediterranean atmosphere.
Had fantastic dinner, if you fancy a meal with a difference try the Mezzi, again very good value. Staff first class. Will certainly stay again.
Thanks to all at hotel for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Anthony,

Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant and hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our house speciality Meze.

We also appreciate that you noted the Mediterranean character of our establishment, as this is what we were going for!

We hope that you drive past us again soon for a second visit!

Kind regards,

Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just back from the Tarsus anniversary party night. We stayed in the hotel on Saturday night and found it perfectly acceptable. I think the fountain in the courtyard needs a tidy, but thats a minor point.

The party night really makes this place. Plate smashing, belly dancing and a huge Mezze meal. What more could you want?

Will be returning with the kids soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardt9499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our anniversary celebrations last year. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere, and we hope to welcome you again this year....we will be 32 years old in May!

Kind regards,

Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here for one night, First inpression when arriving was that it had closed down, the car park is overgrown, all the trees and bushes need to be cut back and trimmed,there is no tarmac in the car park only a scatter of gravel here and there between the weeds.Even the sign out by the road looked ready to fall down.
The staff were very friendly and checked us in very well, we went up to our room which was ok, but a little dated.
There was ivy or some kind of creeper growing outside the bathroom window the result being that when my wife opened the window several spiders and insects entered the bathroom, not good as she hates spiders, again trimming back the creeper would have solved this problem.
breakfast was very good and the waitress was very helpfull and polite,
Outside the breakfast room is a fountain and courtyard garden with a pond, again all overgrown and needing a complete tidy up.
So nice staff, the building itself is dated, and needs a good tidy up outside, For the price it was ok, probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you for your review of your hotel stay with us last year. We have taken on board your feedback and the maintenance of flora and fauna in the outside areas is now on our radar.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We have been to Tarsus many times, on our own, with family, on celebration nights and for Christmas parties, always had great food and a lovely atmosphere.
Visitors have stayed in the hotel and found it extremely comfortable with a substantial English breakfast. Our guests from home or abroad have always been impressed.

Room Tip: The bridal suites have a jacussi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Kim,

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are always pleased to have you as our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Attended our staff Christmas Do at this restaurant , the place was full , great atmosphere. Entertainment was fine, but not stunning. Food was ok.
Service was very good, attentive and helpful staff.
We stayed overnight in the hotel which again was ok, breakfast was ok again not memorable.
We had a good night .
For a party night would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind review and for noting the attentiveness and service of our staff. They have been with us for over 20 years.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here while attending a wedding at Warwick House up the road. Rooms were fine yes a little tired but clean and had everything you wanted. Breakfast was fab all good quality thick bacon, fresh mushrooms and decent sausage with plenty of toast and coffee what more could you want. Would recommend.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Feelingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medexperts, Owner at Tarsus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and breakfast.

We are currently in the process of updating all of our rooms, and hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.

Kind regards,
Sengul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tarsus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarsus Hotel

Address: Daventry Road, Southam CV47 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Southam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Southam
Price Range: £55 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Warwickshire countryside, our 130 seater restaurant is the perfect venue for your romantic candlelit dinners, family celebrations and parties, with quality en-suite accommodation. • Delicious a la carte cuisine • 14 quality hotel bedrooms • Selection of 100 fine wines and Champagnes • Famous entertainment evenings • Turkish, Greek, Italian and English dishes • Suitable for all occasions ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tarsus Hotel Southam, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing