We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commute to Silverstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Great Western

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Great Western
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Commute to Silverstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Carole & Mark and staff the NEW MANAGEMENT at The Great Western were excellent on the Silverstone Weekend of the 25.26.27 July 2014.Although 20 miles from the circuit several options are available to enjoy and drive typical English rural roads.
The bedrooms have had a recent refurb and are comfy clean ,with all facilities, toiletries and soft fluffily white towels.
Meals are excellent with a wide choice,traditional and with excellent service.
Well kept beers and wines.
Would suit train enthusiasts with a novel indoor 'O 'gauge layout running overhead in the main bar and the real thing running adjacent.Some me be disturbed by this we weren't as the beds are so comfy!!
True value for money..
Martyn & Clare Manchester

Room Tip: Viewed two both excellent but choose a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Booked one night without breakfast - £35. Initially shown to room with pair of trainers in corner and empty bottle of cider next to bed. Not the greatest start but lady returned to say she had given us wrong room!
Returned after attending party nearby at 12pm. At 2am almighty noise of people running up and down stairs shouting. Though the place was being burgled!! Seems staff stay in rooms and one of them had returned after night out. Went on till 3am until it finally settled down.
Went to pay bill in morning and had to shout through to kitchen to get any attention. The cleaner finaly wnet upstairs and down came a very 'worse for wear' manger (??). I explained we had not had a good night's sleep due to the arguing of his staff from 2am to 3am. He said 'sorry bout that' and asked us for £35. Total shambles

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol t, Manager at The Great Western, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
dear Paul
I am very sorry to hear about your poor experience at The Great Western. The premises have recently been re-opened (May 2014) after being closed for 18mths. I am responding to your review as the new manager, and as such am unable to comment on the behaviour of staff members previously employed here. I can only apologise and say that such behaviour would never be tolerated.
At present the letting rooms are closed awaiting refurbishment, we hope to have them ready for August. In the meantime our restaurant is now fully opened following extensive refurbishment of the bar/restaurant areas and a complete refurb of the kitchen.
We now have a completely new team of staff from the Manager on down and can assure any visitor of a warm and professional welcome. Once our rooms are ready to let I hope you will give the Great Western another try. It is not my intention to have trip advisor remove reviews that relate to any previous managers/owners, I prefer to demonstrate my commitment to our customers by acknowledging past mistakes and taking steps to ensure they are not repeated by our new team.

Yours sincerely Carol Trickett, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

After booking for 20ish people and ending up with 26 I was really impressed by the fast service, fabulous food and very reasonable prices. No one had to wait and the food was served piping hot by friendly, helpful and efficient staff. The one query we did have was swiftly rectified and there was more food than we could eat ! Little touches like freshly baked bread and extra gravy boats on the table were welcomed and a complimentry bottle of prosecco for the 'Birthday girl' was an added bonus ! Well done to an organised, efficient team for providing a great service and a welcoming atmosphere. We will certainly be going back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

What a find. This pub and accommodation is really good. Well stocked bar with a good variety of wines, spirits and beers, all reasonably priced. Four of us arrived for the weekend as we were attending a wedding at Warwick House, just 1.8 miles away. On the Friday evening we ate at The Great Western. The menu was extensive and the quality of food was very good. After the meal we made our way to the games room to enjoy a game of pool and darts. At present the rooms are limited, just one double and 2 twin rooms, but more rooms are planned. We all enjoyed a comfortably and quiet nights sleep, even with the railway running close by. Welded track and modern trains make all the difference. Full English was our choice of breakfast, sausage, egg, black pudding, bacon, hash brown, beans, tomato and toast, served with juice or tea or coffee. It was really good value, and tasted delicious.

We found the staff really friendly and helpful. We all felt that if we needed to stay in the area again we would come back to The Great Western. Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol t, Manager at The Great Western, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
dear Mike, thank you for your review of The Great Western, I am responding as the new manager - the premises having re-opened on May19th 2014 following extensive refurbishment of the ground floor and kitchen after being closed for 18mths. At present the letting rooms are unavailable as they are awaiting refurbishment to bring them up to a much higher standard. A complete new team of staff have been recruited and we are confident any future visits to us will be at least as enjoyable as your last, with friendly staff and an extensive and updated menu
yours faithfully Carol Trickett (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed for one night last week,as we were attending a family wedding in the evening. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were 'tired' but clean, very clean and comfortable beds and large en suite shower rooms. We paid £88 for 3 adults and 1 child, including large breakfast, which I think was very good value. Would definitely stay there again if the need arose.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

We were heading this way for a friend's wedding in a nearby village and stayed friday to sunday. When we arrived we noticed how nice the decor of the pub was and we were shown to our room by a girl named Kirsty who was very friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom and tea an coffee facilities. for just £35 a night we were very impressed- we then went down for dinner and each had garlic mushrooms to start then fish and chips as a main- both courses were delicious but sadly couldnt finish our mains as the portions were so generous! we then had a few drinks in the bar which were reasonably priced and both nights slept really well. All in all I can't fault the great westerb- especially the staff, as well as Kirsty the manager Chris is very friendly, helpful and we had a few laughs- definetely worth it whether you want a few nights accomodation, a good meal or even just a pint! the staff made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and if we head this way again we will be back!

Room Tip: just a tip the bar currently doesn't have a card machine so make sure you bring cash- we knew th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma8630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

My wife and I went to The Great Western on 3rd May 2012 for our anniversary as my wife had been years previous and raved about the place. When we arrived about 6:30pm, we spotted a sign on the door saying something about due to a change of management on December 1st, their credit card authorisation hadn't come through. We thought it was a bit odd but thought it must have been an old sign that hadn't been taken down as 6 months had passed. So we went in and spoke to the girl behind the bar, I asked if their credit card machine was working now and all she came back with was, "Don't have one !!" She wasn't bothered about helping us, so we left.

Room Tip: TAKE CASH !! Credit & Debit cards not accepted
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol t, Manager at The Great Western, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Sorry to hear about your poor reception at the Great Western. The pub has just been reopened (may 2014) after extensive refurbishment and is now under new management. We are unfortunately currently in the same situation regarding card payment equipment, this delay in receiving the machine is beyond our control and we are hoping to have the issue resolved within the next ten days. In the meantime you can be assured of a warm welcome from our new team of staff, offering a full menu of meals and light snacks, all prepared and cooked in-house by our new chef Carl. hopefully you will be prepared to give the Great Western another try. yours sincerely Carol Trickett (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southam
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Warwick North M40
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
8.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mallory Court Country House Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel & Pub
The Swan Hotel & Pub
#1 of 1 in Kineton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leamington Spa-Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Western

Property: The Great Western
Address: Deppers Bridge, Southam CV47 2ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Southam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southam
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reopened in May 2014, The Great Western Pub and Restaurant has had extensive renovation and newly refitted kitchen. Ground floor areas are all wheelchair friendly with disabled toilet facilities. All new management and staff. Two double and two twin rooms are now available after being renovated to a high standard. Rooms can be booked with or without breakfast. A full menu, including light meals is available 7 days a week. Real Ales also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Great Western Southam, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing