We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great find”
Review of The Great Western

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Southam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Great Western
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southam
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great find”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stopped hoping for lunch on Mothers Day 14/3/10. Although fully booked they managed to fit the 2 of us in with a very warm welcome. The food was excellent, as was the service and the prices (for us Herts based folk) were cheap. We liked it so much we plan to stay there if we go back and visit the area. We left feeling we'd made a great find.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandHeatherHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    14
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I was sorry to read the very negative review from a visitor to the western, but I noted that their visit was before Pete Took over the Hotel Just Before Christmas 2009.

My wife and I came across the Western on our way home to Coventry after a new years day walk.
We had a great welcome and a wonderfull meal, the staff were all most polite and helpfull, we wish them all the best in their new venture and say ten out of ten.

Graham and Carol Kimber (gcemea@aol.com)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcemea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congleton
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Arrived after a long day the staff could not have been more helpful they showed me to my room and helped with my bags. I had a meal in the resturant in the evening the service was great, the food very tasty. would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkie140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

we visited The Great Western in October for a weekend break, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and will certainly keep this one on the list of places to stay!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussexbunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southam
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We didn't stay at the Great Western (Thank Goodness!), however we did go for a meal. We have never received such an appalling service and would not recommend this to anyone! We arrived at 7.10 to be met by an extremely miserable member of staff who was most annoyed that the restaurant was busy! "I don't know where all these people have come from on a Monday night!" was her response when we asked for a table for 2! She sighed and told us we'd have to wait 10 minutes, so sit down and have a drink! We did this and were then ignored for the following half an hour, the waitress would not make eye contact and eventually we stopped her and she took us to our table. The three tables near us had no food, and they were all commenting on the service! A family known to us arrived for a 21st birthday, they had requested balloons etc but there was nothing on their table not even linen! They were also ignored. We waited another half an hour at the table and noone came to take our order! We then got up to leave and the waitress could not have cared less!! We later found out that the family with the 21st celebration also walked out, again to no comment or apology from the staff!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southam17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol t, Manager at The Great Western, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Sorry to hear you have had such a bad previous experience at the Great Western. The pub has been closed for over 18mths and has just (May 2014) reopened after extensive refurbishment with a completely new team of people from manager on down. A full menu is available seven days a week. rooms are not currently available until they have been refurbished. Hopefully you will be prepared to give The Great Western another try and enjoy future visits. yours sincerely Carol Trickett (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2008

Lovely restaurant. Basic facilities in rooms.

Helpful?
Thank BlanchCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southam
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Warwick North M40
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
8.1 mi away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
2,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#2 of 16 in Leamington Spa
709 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Leamington Spa Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Western

Property: The Great Western
Address: Deppers Bridge, Southam CV47 2ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Southam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Southam
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly reopened in May 2014, The Great Western Pub and Restaurant has had extensive renovation and newly refitted kitchen. Ground floor areas are all wheelchair friendly with disabled toilet facilities. All new management and staff. Two double and two twin rooms are now available after being renovated to a high standard. Rooms can be booked with or without breakfast. A full menu, including light meals is available 7 days a week. Real Ales also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Great Western Southam, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing