We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Warwickshire Lad

The Warwickshire Lad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a country pub with fabulous home prepared food We strive to give you the best of what we have food service real ales we also have our own brew the lad check our websiteLike us on Facebook
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was the first time we had visited and was really pleasantly surprised. We ate of the Special menu and they were very reasonable and plenty. The staff were very helpful and down to earth. The setting overlooking the countryside on a very sunny day looked stunning/

Would like to recommend The Warwickshire Lad.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerita2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    67
    34
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have passed this place a hundred times and now disappointed we wasted our money elsewhere, 4 of us had excellent friendly service, from the moment we walked in, the waitress knew the specials well and 3 of 4 had them. The menu has something for everyone and it's sensibly priced. The wines are fair priced too, normally there is a catch, but not here. The quality of the food was first class, piping hot, tasty, steak cooked as asked and a nice standard. We could not fault this place, it's homely and we felt as though they cared and wanted to please us. We will be back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeferman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynortsolihull, Owner at The Warwickshire Lad, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review were so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked a table at 8:15 for 11 people for a special occasion. At 8:35 I was told the restaurant was being rearranged and it would be 3-4 mins. Quarter of an hour later was told 10- 15 mins before we could be seated. Eventually sat down about 9:15 and we were offered 1 bottle of wine to be shared between 11 of us!!
The starters and mains came within a reasonable time but the desserts are another story.
The ice creams came first followed about 10 mins later by a couple of others and then some more came in another 10 mins. We had to ask about a missing cheesecake and eventually that arrived frozen. When paying the bill I said that the service was very poor and a waitress said it was good and that we were not welcome again The owner said he would look into what had happened and give me a ring - I am still waiting, needless to say I will not be returning and WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS RESTAURANT TO ANYONE!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynortsolihull, Owner at The Warwickshire Lad, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I have privately messages you a response
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Celebration time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Once again excellent food. However Mikes favourite belly of pork was not on but he had the hake and once again he now has another favourite. Why do we keep coming back ....... Excellent food excellent staff( thank you all) and value for money. And would not go anywhere else to celebrate and it was such a very special celebration and the food was 100+%. Thank you Kathy and Mike

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyEllis0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friend's Night Out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Professional, efficient, friendly service, excellent food & great "setting" - will definitely return

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warwickshire Lad also viewed

Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull
Earlswood, Solihull
 
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Warwickshire Lad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing