We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CARELESS FOOD PREPARATION”

The Warwickshire Lad
Price range: US$10 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a country pub with fabulous home prepared food We strive to give you the best of what we have food service real ales we also have our own brew the lad check our websiteLike us on Facebook
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“CARELESS FOOD PREPARATION”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited for Sunday Lunch as we knew the chef/owner is a coeliac and as two of our group are coeliacs there should be no problem with the food - how wrong can you be!

The gluten free Sunday roast was served with a Yorkshire pudding (which contains gluten) and had to be sent back. apologies were received.

You would think that one incident of carelessness would ensure non repetition - unfortunately that proved not to be the case.

The ice cream dessert was served with wafers which were partly eaten and tasted too good to be gluten free so confirmation was sought that the wafers were gluten free only to be told that they were not! .As a result of eating gluten that member of our group was ill.

If special dietary requirements are treated in such a careless manner, one has to doubt the standard of care care taken in the preparation of other foods.

Of course there were profuse apologies and the cost of the ice cream was taken off the bill but that does not in any way compensate for inflicting illness on a diner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGREG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    72
    34
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“worth every penny. ”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

thisis the second occasion we have eaten here. today me and my partner ordered the two course sunday roast.

The starters came out really quick and both the mushrooms and prawn cocktail starters tasted great.

the roast dinners came out. again they were both perfectly cooked, the portions where just right and could not fault any part of the meal.

the staff we friendly and polite, even making us some cheese sauce to go with our meal even tho this was not on the menu. highly recommend. nice pub. good food. great staff. well worth a vist..

Helpful?
1 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynortsolihull, Owner at The Warwickshire Lad, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thankyou for your lovely comments regarding our fabulous Sunday lunches I will pass on your comments to Alice my manager and the rest of our team oh ok and the kitchen my husband and heather are very proud of the miracles they perform in such a small space kindest regards gaynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value lunch time menu”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have dined at the Lad on a number of occasions, as a couple and also as part of a larger group. On all occasions the food has been excellent with a wide choice from the main menu. The lunch time menu, although restricted to about 7 or 8 dishes, beats any of the local competition. For under the £6.00 mark you get top quality food. My wife had the Lasagne which she rates as one of the best she has had and found the portion more than adequate. I would have been happy with any of the other dishes from the lunch menu, but was tempted by the 'special' - crab and crayfish salad; an excellent treat too good to miss

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Well run busy place the staff are a credit”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stopped here by chance and were more than pleasantly surprised the food was excellent the waiting staff were marvellous and a credit to the place . I would not be able to recommend the warwickshire lad highly enough

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank richJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynortsolihull, Owner at The Warwickshire Lad, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thankyou so much for your lovely review we all work exceptionally hard especially in this heat to ensure our guests enjoy the time spent with us I will make sure I tell the staff of your review hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Never even got through the door”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

So we had a booking of nine for Dinner to book. (Prob £20 a head on food and £20 a head on drinks by the time we had finished) which is £360 worth of business.

This is what happened.

Phone call one...Hello I would like to book a table for 9.
the lady said, hold on then hung up.

ten minutes later

Hello I would like to book a table for 9 people,

The lady put the phone down and we could here her in the background, she never returned and we hung up after 20 minutes.

Next day.....

Hello I would like to book a table for 9 people please....

The response was....you are blocking up the telephone line for credit card payments and we will have to call you back

bearing in mind we rang at lunch time and they rang back at 10:50 pm was not acceptable.

If they treat all their potential customers this way I am surprised they are still open.

The profit from our booking would have paid for a second line on its own !!!!!

If you are going to run a business, run it professionally !!!!

PS we went elsewhere and had a fantastic time

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wildybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaynortsolihull, Owner at The Warwickshire Lad, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
So sorry the lady that I spoke to had a problem calling when a payment was being taken I did say I would call straight back but unfortunately someone else called before I had chance to call back as no number was left as for calling someone at 10.50 at night I couldn't have as I had no number to do so
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Warwickshire Lad also viewed

Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull
Earlswood, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Solihull, West Midlands
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Warwickshire Lad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing