We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the wrong values”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All the wrong values”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

You get the impression this place is far too obsessed with making as much money as possible from its customers rather than offering them a memorable or pleasurable experience. The fact that they've ruined a lovely old pub by fitting it out to look like a cheap student pub (not a trace of original fittings left, replaced by tacky decor and painted in a functional black paint) is maybe a subjective thing - perhaps some people would prefer their pubs to look like they've been decked out by IKEA. What isn't on is the mercenary way the proprietor runs the place. Me and a couple of friends had a breakfast there a few weeks ago; having sat down, a kindly old lady came out of the kitchen and asked us if we wanted toast with it. We said yes. A few minutes later, after the toast had been put on the table and we'd started eating it, the landlord came over to inform us that toast wasn't included in the price and we'd be charged for it! By which point, of course, we had no choice. And for the privilege of 2 slices of toast each (so a total of 3 slices of bread) with butter? SIX POUNDS! A business that is clearly run simply to make money. What a shame.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
11
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

The website gives a very exagerated picture of the Hotel. We looked carefully at the rooms as my Mum is partially sighted. Sadly the rooms were not as bright as depicted, dusty and only had shutters at the windows that fit badly.
I got the impression that it was "too much trouble " staying there, we were not felt very welcome.

We did enjoy the food

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanworth-in-Arden hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our room was very basic, and included a large and very dusty red artificial flower!
It was at the back on the ground floor with louvered shutters that had to be drawn all the time because it was on the path to the carpark. Not a lucky draw, but it was not supposed to be a romantic weekend away, anyway! Given these things, I found it expensive at £85 for the room and breakfast on top and on 'Three in a Bed' would have paid £60! That said the room is quoted on the website at £75 per night, so I think that we were charged for the room we booked originally before changing it to a ground floor room!!!!
Breakfast was excellent and so was lunch the following day. In fact the pub has a very comfortable and enticing bar.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked a table weeks ago for my 30th birthday as we live out in Cyprus and wanted a lovely meal with our family. I was told that this place was lovely.

The food was very nice but my birthday was ruined by the rude and arrogant manner of the proprietor.

Two people in our group received the incorrect order, so we asked if they could remove them from the bill, the waitress said yes. The proprietor came in and informed us he was not going to do that and that they never ordered what they eventually received after we had all finished our meals. I was led to believe that you never argue with a customer....

He eventually agreed to charge a lower price but the way he spoke to us left us shocked and actually one person cried!!

I can honestly say I will never be going back I have never been so upset. Some relatives had driven from Yorkshire to make the meal and we left as soon as the main meals were finished.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Keekikatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The Bell resides in a lovely village with a friendly atmosphere, excellent food and really comfortable stay.
Happily recommend to anyone looking for a nice break or staying on business in the area. Diverse menu, excellent beer selection.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNBirm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Its over a month since we stayed here but I made notes at the time so here goes-
This pub is in a beautiful traditional village setting and had a really friendly atmosphere as soon as we walked through the door. I'm glad we made a table reservation as it was very busy!
We arrived on a Friday night after a 3 hour trip in heavy traffic and were shown straight to our room. I asked if we could push our table booking back by 30 minutes - no problem. A good choice of real ales on the handpumps and they know how to look after them.
Double baked cheese soufflé for my wife & scallops for me as starters, rare ribeye steak for me & grilled liver for my wife. Portion size, presentation & quality were good. All served on hot plates and cooked to perfection. I always say a good test of a restuarant is whether they can cook your liver pink and here it was perfect - note: pubs who serve pre-cooked boil in the bag meals can't do this!
A good selection of wines sensibly priced so you don't pay more if you order by the glass. Thats great if you like different wines with each course. All the staff who looked after us were very polite and we found the service was very good. We had the Morea room which was very spacious with a great bathroom containing a large oval stand alone bath ans a seperate full sized shower cubical. Loads of storage space, tv & tea / coffee making facilities. The landlord told us the rooms were due for refurbishment soon but I think you would have to look hard to find any fault with our room and it was all very clean throughout. Alot of establishments fail to clean the grouting properly at the bottom of the shower but not here - you could see the job was being done properly. After main course in the restaurant, we were pondering over the desert & cheese choices when the landlord told us about the Friday night offer they were running - order starter, main course & desert each and they will deduct 50% from the room cost. So not only did we enjoy our stay but it was very good value as well. This pub also houses the village post office & sweet shop.
The full English breakfast was excellent with quality locally sourced produce, a large jug of orange juice, doorstep granary toast & refills of proper coffee. Even newspapers are offered.
We found this establishment in the 2011 Michelin eating out in pubs guide as we were looking for a convenient overnight stop for the Good Food show at the NEC next morning. This was ideal as it was only 15 minutes away and we will certainly be staying here again on our next trip to the Lake District.
You may think my review is too positive? Have a look at some of my other reviews - If an establishment is not up to standard then I say so.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Bought a groupon voucher to try out the food which has a supposedly great reputation. After several attempts to book, the manager refused to accomodate us except weekday lunch times, which we we cannot do due to work commitments, his attitude was down right rude, arrogant and uninterested in new customers. Left dumb founded.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanworth-in-Arden
4.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#11 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Solihull
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel
#2 of 3 in Henley-in-Arden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell at Tanworth in Arden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell at Tanworth in Arden

Property: Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Address: The Green, Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull B94 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Tanworth-in-Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanworth-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell at Tanworth in Arden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell at Tanworth in Arden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell At Tanworth Hotel Tanworth In Arden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing