We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fur coat and no knickers” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell at Tanworth in Arden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bell at Tanworth in Arden
poole
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fur coat and no knickers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed the night when travelling around on holiday first the positives great food in the evening in a trendy good looking pub with helpful friendly staff but this cannot make up for a room that has obviously never been used by anyone who works or owns the establishment we cannot comment on weather the room was clean or dirty the lighting was so dim you would have no hope of applying any make up. The room we had did not look like any featured on the web site with cheap fixtures broken blinds and a lighting system that for some bizarre reason was controlled by the remote for the TV if staying please remember to bring you own soap etc as none was provided. Another worrying fact was no mattress protectors were in use. The breakfast contrary to the very elaborate mission statement on the marketing blurb was the worst we encountered during our week away. As we were asked to provide our breakfast order before we ordered our evening meal and as our host hovered over us we reluctantly plucked something out of the air as no menu was offered in the morning we realised why the order was so urgent it had been cooked earlier we suspect the night before and reheated when we came down to breakfast we also by the way had to inform them of our preferred breakfast time. So overall the place did not meet our expectations and we for one won't recommend or go back.

Room Tip: Don't go for pogo pogo
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tabbycatzPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
11
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Firstly the food for Sunday lunch was very good indeed. The bar staff on entry were poor t best were not made to feel welcome and I hate to see a barman, albeit young and maybe learning, not offer lime or lemon in drinks and then when you ask him he looks gone out at you then just picks up with hand (there were tongues there) and plonks it in drink(a small but important point re how a bar is run). Food though was very good, roast beef served nicely with veg on side and asked how I would like it cooked.goats cheese tart v good also. I like to leave tip without having the service charge there on the bill and the tt landlord average at best, I follow good pub guide and not sure if worth the lucky dip place for beer but food certainly is worth it. Rest of staff good though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 101MartinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a friends party. We were made very welcome and had adjoining rooms with our children. Excellent curry at the 'do', with good real ales too. Hearty breakfast was excellent. Took the time to look at Nick Drake's grave, which is very poignant. Liked the modern decor and open bar look.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tourist A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huddersfield
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

I booked a 2 night stay in the Coco Coco Room at £45 a night through Hotels.com. The pub is in a lovely setting in the middle of a beautiful country village. Ate there one night and the food was excellent and reasonably priced - the menu has a good range of choices including pub classics from £9.95. Service was very good as well.
The room was very disappointing - no wi-fi signal, furniture was basic 1980's MFI style, and whilst clean, the room has obviously not been decorated for some time. The bed is only a few inches off the floor so getting out of it effectively meant rolling over onto hands and knees for me! (younger people may not have an issue).
The room wasn't made up after my first night. I asked the landlord and he explained that this was because I had the cheapest rate known as Echo which meant they didn't service the room during a 2 night stay. He said this was clear on the pub website - I've checked and they state that it is an echo rate but don't explain what that means. It wasn't made clear on hotels.com either. I've stayed in much better rooms elsewhere for a rate of £40-£45 a night excluding breakfast so felt that the room really let the place down.
In summary, its a good place to eat, but I'd avoid the coco coco room if stopping there

Room Tip: Avoid the coco coco room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nigel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

The decor inside the building is not what you would expect from the outside. Ultra modern decor with the feel of a trendy Bistro. Decor very interesting although I personally am not sure about the huge picture of a fried egg in a frying pan which dominates one wall! Although not a massive choice on the menu the choices were very interesting but some of the items on the the menu and prices are not the same as depicted on their website. Although I am not a true vegetarian I would have liked a few more vegetarian options. However the food we ordered was beautifully cooked. The price of drinks a little on the high side but what you would expect from this type of restaurant. Staff friendly but one niggle is that ten per cent service charge is automatically added to the bill. I would personally prefer to tip what I think the service and meal deserve - you expect a service charge to be automatically included in London but not in a country eating establishment. Overall an enjoyable first visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAC446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Tanworth in Arden is a cult destination for whoever loves Nick Drake. I have had the chance to eat at the Bell's whilst I was visiting the town with my boyfriend and really liked it. This venue is very chic and clean. The menu is varied and the Sunday roast superb. Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valjeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed for a night midweek and enjoyed the hospitality - staff at night and at breakfast were very friendly. Room was ok, nothing fantastic but good value. The location is really nice too - opposite the churchyard where Nick Drake is buried, if that's your thing...

Room Tip: I think room 2 is the best - but not sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanworth-in-Arden
4.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell at Tanworth in Arden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell at Tanworth in Arden

Property: Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Address: The Green, Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull B94 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Tanworth-in-Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanworth-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell at Tanworth in Arden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bell at Tanworth in Arden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell At Tanworth Hotel Tanworth In Arden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing