We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over Priced Underwelmed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bell at Tanworth in Arden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Over Priced Underwelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

Over priced Food Service Poor.
Very Dissapointed,.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlaseBooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    20
    21
    15
    10
See reviews for
11
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

Visited the restaurant on the strength of a Good Food Guide recommendation. I suspect their reviewer must have been having a bad day. The service was poor although this may have been due to the lack of staff. Only 3 were covering the restaurant and bar - that said it's Management's job to make it work. The food was average at best and the desserts quite poor - ice in the the ice creams and a tiramasu you coulds stand a spoon in (literally). Over three and and half hours for dinner and in the end it's only a gastro pub of which there are many (and much better) in an around Solihull. The guy who took our £200 didn't even smile as he opened the till - given the service provided I would have been laughing all the way to the bank. We won't return.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GoodTimesSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

Basically this is a good restaruant with rooms attached.

Good food from French and Scottish chefs. A large range of sea fodd for soemwhere so far from tthe sea. The food is very good and they do not mond ordering off menu variations - if you want chips (French Fries) with your teryaki slamon go for it (good combination though order the "chips" not the "fries".)

Breakfast is basic - good coffee, toast, OJ and cereal. Unlessyou go for the full english fry >> which is probably worth avoiding in view of scale and needs pre ordered.

The rooms are done up in various styles alas the fittings appear to be desigend domestic and not able to cope with the rough and tumble of hotel usage.

Old Inn so low ceailings and protruding beams so if you are accident prone - avoid.

One iron/ board to whole place, no toiletries.

TV is Council Plus - no Sat

Bar does Real Ale and a small but different range of basic wines.

Good Car park. Good network of rights opf way around the courntyside around the village.

Free Wifi

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uisdean_Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Arrived for dinner and gave our reservation name ordered drinks at the bar as our table was still occupied! 30 minutes later had to ask for our table again to be informed it was still occupied! another table by the bar door and in a walk through was made up. No apology really offered we felt like a complete inconvenience no wine list was offered and service was at best abrupt. When settling the bill was asked if everything was ok we gave an honest response "oh sorry" was the reply even though we stated we would not be in a hurry to return. No concern at all was shown! and throughout the owner was drinking at thee bar! If this does not improve he will soon be drinking on his own!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beattiebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Rooms are good size, good bed, good bathroom. Food in the bar is really good.
So why not an outstanding review?
It just needs some attention to detail. Original sash windows (which is great), but they are ill fitting and don't close properly, not good in the winter I can tell you. Handles falling off wardrobes, shutters that need elastic bands on the handles to keep them together. Going to the rooms you pass a dark room full of rubbish, you go up a small set of darkly lit stairs to a dark hall. Door to the room not numbered and a cheap looking firedoor.
Such a shame as there isn't actually anything wrong and they have put loads of effort into decorating and furnishing the rooms, a bit of maintenance and tidy up the approach and it would feel welcoming and with the food and good service downstairs it would be outstanding.
Staff very nice. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jings999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

We've stayed at The Bell many times over the past 3 or 4 years, and would recommend it to anyone. Whenever we come up to Tanworth to visit family, we always choose to stay at the Bell.

The food is superb, the staff are extremely welcoming and the atmosphere/buzz in the evening is excellent (especially when they have the two log fires roaring).

The rooms are tastefully and stylishly decorated, clean, cosy and modestly priced to boot.
The Bell's location in the picturesque village of Tanworth in Arden allows easy access to Birmingham, Solihull, Stratford on Avon and is literally 5 minutes from the M42.

Be sure to have the Full English Breakfast in the morning, it simply can't be missed!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzeandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed in supposedly the 'best room - 9'
Room was very clean, but lacked the refinements you would expect paying these prices. The lighting was not very good for doing make-up.
There was also a strong smell of onions/cooking in the room.
Breakfast was nice, but cereal was placed in the bowl and lacked choice. Again the cooked breakfast was nice but weren't offered a choice, it was just presented on the plate at the table.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaydubya28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanworth-in-Arden
4.2 mi away
Hogarths Hotel
Hogarths Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
4.3 mi away
Village Hotel Solihull
Village Hotel Solihull
#10 of 25 in Solihull
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nuthurst Grange Country House Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Solihull (Hockley Heath, M42) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell at Tanworth in Arden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell at Tanworth in Arden

Property: Bell at Tanworth in Arden
Address: The Green, Tanworth-in-Arden, Solihull B94 5AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Solihull > Tanworth-in-Arden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tanworth-in-Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bell at Tanworth in Arden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Bell at Tanworth in Arden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell At Tanworth Hotel Tanworth In Arden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing