We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype!”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Having recently been listed as one of the top 30 pubs in the UK, we were expecting big things - and we were not disappointed!
The meals were very generous in size, and my lasagne rates as one of the best I've ever had!
Other meals included faggots and the quiche, and we were all very pleased and satisfied with our choices.
Prices were reasonable and the service was spot on - highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank PetaL275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2018

we had a really excellent lunch in the pretty, sunny garden of this nice pub in an otherwise rather unremarkable village. Colin, the landlord, told us he had been there for 23 years and greeted us warmly, providing tasting samples of both his recommended ale and cider before we made our selections and providing our dog (welcome in garden, not inside) with strips of beef, at no additional charge, when I jokingly mentioned that some Cotswold pubs offered pigs' ears to their canine visitors.

Hubcap's fish was in brilliant crispy batter with good chips and mushy minty peas and my pork and apple in a bap was delicious with lovely crackling and salad.

Recommended.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

We had lunch at this venue having never been there before. Great sized car park, good welcome from staff and well appointed interior - so far so good.

The menu was ok for a gastro pub but then the issues emerged. Firstly the wine list had stock outs then the food arrived. Very large portions but lack of attention to detail. My wife’s dish was devoid of seasoning and when you order steak medium rare you expect to see pink not grey.

The Bell has great potential but it will not be delivered without attention to culinary detail.

Date of visit: September 2018
4  Thank V6519AYdavidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

It’s always a nervous few minutes when one has reserved a location for 16 close friends who gather once a year for a catch up which has been running 30 years since we left University. Fortunately as we walked into The Bell tension was released. Excellent service. Nice ambience. Friendly staff and good food. The number of locals in spoke to the consistency that The Bell must deliver. We’d certainly visit again - indeed plan to when we rebook a local property for next year. If you are in the area - try it.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank paulmE998ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

This is the number one restaurant in Welford only because the other two are either closed, closed down or undergoing management changes.

This pub caters for the much older visitor with very old fashioned food and an unexciting menu. But as it is located in a well heeled area, their prices are ridiculous.

Staff are functional but not accommodating or welcoming. And this is because they do not need to as there’s no where else to eat........

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Happyinrome888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing