We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average, an expensive PremierInn”
Review of The Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfry
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here for a conference. Understand they have had a multimillion pound refurb but much still needs attention. My experiences.

I thought there was no hot water but after running taps at full tilt for 5 minutes it started coming through. This recurred in morning.
Wash basin a triumph of form over function and the plug leaked so basin needed continual filling up again.
Swimming pool a minor route march from bedroom and full of signs saying that various access points were all out of action.
Breakfast - it took ages before anyone acknowledged my presence and offered tea or coffee. I was there just after 7am and was one of the few residents in at that time.
Wireless internet free for 30 mins thereafter £15 ! In this day and age criminal.

I'd only stay there if I really had to because of attending an event at the Belfry. Even then it might be better to find a local premier Inn or similar. Not recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Tim L

Thank you for your feedback. I would be interested in obtaining your room number so our maintenance team can take a look at the sink issues, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I would like to apologise for the temporary signage whilst we complete our Leisure facility refurbishments which will be towards the end of May.
Your service issues at breakfast will be forwarded to the team, this is not acceptable of course and again I apologise.
It is disappointing to read that you do not recommend us, I would hope we could change that in the time to come, we really do pride ourselves on our beautiful new hotel and all that we have to offer.

Hope to see you again,
Regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,006)
There are newer reviews for The Belfry
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,983 - 1,989 of 2,006 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is our first visit to the Belfry for Sunday Lunch. We have very mixed feelings about the whole dining experience, Greeted well by staff and seated, beautiful ambience .

The staters were fantastic the food was not only well presented it was also very tasty .
as we were eating our starter i made comment to my wife we have found our sunday lunch venue .

As the starters were fab we were looking forward to our main . I would also like to add the reson in choosing the Belfry for lunch is because my wife is veggie and the Bellfry offer the fish option, after choosing our meats of choice, the veggie part of the meal on the HOT plates / bayer maire, roast potatos were empty so continued to the rest of the veg there was a few minutes between the roasties coming out, once they did i took on board my roasties and was back in my seet to eat as i tucked in to my meal i soon noticed my veg was slightly warm but thought to my self it was the wait for the roasties then once i had tucked in to the roasters and they were only slightly warm i was so disappionted as i had waited for them to come fresh from the kittcen.
At this point i made eye contact with a member of staff and asked for my meal to be reheated in a microwave as i sore no point in replacing from a cold deck, the plate of food was returned and i soon noticed the meal was not the plate of food i chose from the pass the meat was not my choice of all three it was only the beaf . and to add insult to injury the food was still cold . by this time my wife and her mother had finished there meals and i was left feeling very uncomfortable staff returned to the table to see if my meal was ok once i had informed staff, my meal was not the same meal i had sent to be reheated i was told the cheff insisted on replacing the whole meal ... I was dumb founde not only did the cheff put cold food out to the deck he also plated up only slightly warm food and sent direct to the table!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

David k

Thank you for your comments following your Sunday lunch visit. It is disappointing to read the detail in your experience and the Head Chef has received a copy of this to consider. I owe you an apology on behalf of the restaurant as this is an unacceptable, and I hope an isolated occurrence. I will also check with our maintenance team the hot plates and the equipment designed to keep the food at the right temperature.
I hope that we may have the opportunity to turn this around should you return to us again for your Sunday lunch.

With warm regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I initially had reservations about staying here for a short golf break because some of these golf resorts can be a little bit stuffy and "up themselves". Nothing could be further from the truth at The Belfry. Normally when I go away I'll find that a couple of the staff stand out as being good or that they actually care about the service they are providing. Not at the Belfry - all the staff I encountered were fantastic. I cant rave enough about the high level of service and sense of being made to feel genuinely welcome. The golf course, as you would expect, was immaculate (and I saw most of it!) and whoever thought of putting the screen and GPS thingy in the buggy is an absolute genius. Is there a down side? No, not really. The room was similar to that of a modern hotel room anywhere in the country and I include premier Inns and Travel lodges in that description. However it done its job and you don't go to places like this to spend hours in your room. If there are any golfers out there that fancy treating themselves to a really good golf course in superb surroundings with amazing staff while having that little sense of occasion, then give The Belfry a go. I'm off to book the next trip there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

JohnW6

Delighted to read your review and that all aspects of your stay were welcoming to you. We are very proud of both the hotel and the grounds including the golf courses. Thanks indeed for the recommendation and I see we will be welcoming you back again.

Kind regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The Belfry has visibly improved since my last stay for business in 2013. However, appearances can be deceiving.

The twin room was clearly recently refurbished and whilst it was a reasonable size for an overnight stay with an excellent shower, the room was like a furnace. Even with the window opened as far as it would go, there was no relief to the unrelenting heat. To make matters worse, the roller blinds failed miserably to keep out the light from the floodlit courtyard. I had probably the worst nights sleep in some time.

You have to question whether a portion of the £26m worth of refurbishment could have been better spent on ensuring that the guest gets a decent nights sleep. I spoke with my colleagues and I was not the only one to experience this.

There was also a delay / shortage of food at lunchtime but by that point, the Belfry had left me cold and - to be frank - in desperate need of sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markinhants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Markinhants

Thank you for your review. I take note of the bedroom comments and will liaise with our housekeeping staff to enquire about black-out blinds for those particular rooms overlooking the courtyard. The warmer nights can prove somewhat of a challenge and I am sorry for the discomfort you experienced. I am not sure if you had requested a fan with Reception as we are happy to provide these to aid comfort. Should you stay here with us again you can by all means inquire with Reception for an alternative room location.

I hope that you do not feel deterred from a return here to us.

Best wishes,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

On Sunday 4th May, we held the little princess charity ball at The Belfry Hotel in the woodlands suite! Georgia was our co-ordinator and she did an amazing job! She helped us get everything together and helped us with the finishing touches within the room! She helped sort the table plan, recommended table decor and lots more! The night could not have come together without her fantastic help leading up to the event!
We were able to access the room on the morning which gave us time to decorate and do everything in plenty of time! The staff were on hand all day when we needed some thing or had any questions!
On the night, we had Sam looking after us and he was brilliant, anything we needed was sorted within seconds and he checked with us through out the night to check everything was okay for us and that we were happy! Happy was an understatement - it could not have gone more perfect!
When we arrived at the venue prior to our guests arriving, we had ruined the table plan in the car, ink had run meaning the names were unreadable! Hugh & Simon took it off us and went and retyped it all up, stuck it all back down and we had a perfect table plan within 20 minutes! That was something that they didn't have to do, it wasn't expected and they just did it! All the staff on the evening were brilliant, the bar staff, waiters, waitresses, everyone was amazing!
The food was delicious, the saying is right when they say it's quality not quantity. When the portions came out you could have said small but the taste was beautiful and everyone was left full at the end. It was certainly the best quality food id tasted!
The whole night was second to none, I couldn't have hoped for it to go any better!
Thankyou so much to all the staff especially Georgia, Sam, Hugh & Simon!

Truly amazing venue and we cannot wait to be back again next year.
Thankyou all for your help!
Chelsie x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chelsie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Chelsie T

Wow! What a wonderful review, thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing account. Your experience reads like the perfect offering of both service and product and I am extremely proud of my staff for delivering at this level. Georgia, Sam, Hugh and Simon are all aware of your kind words. This is what we hope to achieve with all of our guests so it is very much appreciated that you took the time to update us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Brabazon Course excellent

PGA National - neglected excuse of a golf course. I got the impression that the Head Greenkeeper may have visited the course once a week on the way home.

Food, apart from breakfast, was ordinary.

Very good service and friendly staff

Americano Coffee at over £4 per cup - a nonsense

Then I read the piece about the £26m spent on the refurbishment ...........

We will not be returning or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Managing Director at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Andy S
Thanks for the very positive on the Brabazon. I was really surprised and sorry to read your review on the PGA National course normally we get great feedback with people liking the challenge of the inland links style which is naturally and intentionally less manicured. It is recognised by the PGA as a world class tournament course and the only PGA branded course in England - I know my Head Greens Keeper will be very disappointed that it was not to your liking.
We have very much tried to create 3 very distinctive courses here at the Belfry- we are really sorry the PGA was not to your liking.
Sorry too that you found it expensive but thank you for your feedback on the warmth of our staff and their service.
We would always love the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Lynn Hood
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have just stayed at the Belfry for a bank holiday treat & OMG this Hotel is a real Gem with a "WOW FACTOR.It's the perfect retreat!!!
Set in 550 acres of North Warwickshire countryside,there are three 18 hole Golf courses enough to keep the Golfing enthusiasts happy all day, This Hotel has also hosted the Ryder Cup.
Beautiful manicured gardens adorn,where you can enjoy the breathtaking scenery with a relaxing drink, set with a pagoda, a working water mill & fountains cascading in the ponds.

This Hotel is tastefully decorated from the reception to the bedrooms, so modern & stylish.
All the Hotel staff are very friendly & work very hard.
The bedrooms are spacious,clean & so comfortable.We were greeted with a bottle of wine in our room on arrival, which was lovely!!
Dining in the Ryder Grill is a real must the food is plentiful & so delicious & breakfast is a real feast in itself with an excellent choice & the Belfry Bangers are so tasty.
The Belfry club is a must do when you stay with a large pool area, comfy sunbeds, jacuzzi's,sauna & a spa.There is also an excellent Bel Air Nightclub situated on the Hotel grounds.
There is an excellent car park with ample space outside the Hotel grounds.
This Hotel is an ideal base for Birmingham airport.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Belfry & look forward to our return visit in the future as it is an amazing Hotel The best we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DELAWYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Delawyn

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay. “WOW factor” is indeed our intention so delighted that we have hit the mark with you and that all aspects of the refurbishment and grounds were met with your approval. In addition thank you for your positive feedback around your dining experience here, along with the leisure facilities and Bel Air, it appears you enjoyed it all and I see you have mentioned a return soon;
We look forward to welcoming you back,

Best wishes,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
1.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,269 reviews
3.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,227 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
478 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry

Address: Lichfield Road | West Midlands, Wishaw B76 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Price Range: £91 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Belfry...Steeped in history, yet combining modern comfort, The Belfry is a complete leisure and golf destination combined with a superb range of facilities all set within 550 acres of beautiful English countryside. With a central location we are easily accessible from all over the UK via the region's excellent road and rail links. ESCAPE: Everyone has a different idea of what a leisure break should be. That's why you can choose how you spend your time at The Belfry. Our sole ambition is to create the perfect experience for you, whatever it is that you enjoy doing. Whether you want to relax in our fantastic refurbished Fire & Ice, be pampered at the spa, revitalise in the leisure club with its two spa pools, sauna, solarium and extensive gym, play 18 holes on one of our three golf courses, enjoy fresh food with one of our dining experiences or have a fun-packed break with the kids in one of our 319 rooms, the choice is yours at The Belfry. PLAY: Perfect greens, world-famous holes, stunning views and exhilarating match play: Golf at The Belfry has it all. As the UK headquarters of the PGA and spiritual home of the Ryder Cup, the noble game and The Belfry are inextricably linked. The Belfry has become synonymous with golf and a Mecca for both professional and amateur players. Our two stunning Championship courses, sculpted from 550 acres of lush North Warwickshire countryside, have provoked some of the most dramatic moments in the history of the sport. Play The Brabazon, our internationally recognised championship course. Play the PGA National, England's only American links-style PGA course. Or play The Derby - a shorter, more relaxed course for players of all levels. Better still, make a break of it and play all three. Need a little help with your game? The PGA National Golf Academy houses a 34 bay flood-lit Driving Range, National Custom Fit Centre, putting green and a short game area. With over 20 PGA qualified Golf Professionals we offer world-class golf tuition, practice facilities and custom fitting for golfers of all abilities, from age four and upwards! DINE: Whether informal or indulgent, for business or pleasure, intimate or celebratory - our range of dining experiences offers the freshest ingredients, all beautifully prepared and served in world-renowned surroundings. Enjoy a glass of Champagne in The Brabazon Bar before indulging in great food in The Ryder Grill. At Sam's Bar - the perfect 19th hole - we serve up a menu of home-cooked favourites, whilst The Leisure Cafe offers lighter, healthier snacks for those hitting the gym and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Wishaw
The Belfry Wishaw, Warwickshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing