We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty Towers”
Review of The Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfry
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On returning from Wales last weekend to Hertfordshire, we booked a overnight stay at The Belfry.
Not being a golfer myself, I was however keen to visit one of the famous golf hotels in the world. My wife booked dinner bed and breakfast. Checking in was straight forward, nothing special but was told on arrival that our meal reservation was fo 20 minutes after we checkd in. Impossible my wife said and the receptionist with difficulty put our meal back by 30 minutes. Our room it has to be said was a pleasant room. We went down to dinner and in this very large restaurant there were 4 or 5 tables occupied. What was the rush we thought. The waitress offered us a special menue as it was inclusive in our booking. A very poor menue with very little choice. We ordered 2 gin and tonics and bottled water. We sat and watched other diners sit and wait for very young untrained staff to serve the drinks and food that failed to turn up. After an hour I was served with burnt duck and "baked means" and my wife served with with luke warm fish etc. which she returned, by the time her meal arrived reheated I had finished my meal, just as the gin and tonics arrived. We were told not to worry as they were free of charge. In the meantime all the diners aroud us were getting more angry. We left without finishing our dogs dinner. We returned to our room to find that bottled water had not been supplied. I went to reception to ask for water and after 5 minutes was told "water is free only in the super de luxe rooms, and I would have to pay £4 per bottle. On complaining I was given a bottle from the bar without charge.

The hotel is the worst I have visited for service and food as members of staff are not trained either to take orders from guests nor are they able to get managers to assist them when things go horribly wrong.

This hotel has visitors from all over the world and I would like to say "thank goodness I know of no other hotel like this in the UK


ch

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, it was rather noisy outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Leslie w

I was of course extremely sorry to read of your poor dining experience in our Ryder Grill. I have taken it back to the restaurant manager, and our Chef.
I would like to highlight that we do have a number of new young staff being trained and i extend apologies for how this affected your evening. Overall I am very sorry you did not enjoy yourselves, we have recently had many positive comments for our Ryder Grill restaurant and it is a shame you do not have this same experience.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,007 - 2,013 of 2,041 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Belfry as part of a group for the weekend. The hotel staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were a good size and comfortable. We needed to swap rooms on arrival and I always think the mark of a very good hotel is how they handle such problems on a busy weekend. For that they would get 5 stars.. Excellent service and very helpful staff.
Breakfast probably one of the best self-service breakfasts ever. Good quality, hot and plentiful and a good choice. The young ladies who showed us to our table were brilliant! Hats off to The Belfry for giving equal job opportunities to less-abled people. It was lovely to see.
The reason I have had to mark them down (really only half a star) was the quality of the food at our black tie event. The lamb was a bit too fatty and the ratatouille was over-cooked and oily. The pudding was sickly sweet and the cheese board (of which there had been no mention, but was gratefully received) arrived after the coffee!
Overall - 4 and a half stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear NewFran

Thank you for your review following your recent stay here with us. As a ‘non-golfer’ your thoughts are appreciated and I would like to express thanks for your kind words overall. I see that the food element is where we fell short a little in your eyes and I have taken this back to the Head Chef so thanks again for this. I hope that we can get our ‘half star’ back in the very near future should you return to us.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for a family break and unfortunately were not told that the spa was closed for refurbishment. The hotel very kindly compensated for this with a complimentary afternoon tea which was delicious and the service was fantastic.

The hotel refurbishment is excellent, really attention to detail and the Ryder restaurant provided us with quality breakfast and dinner for two nights.

The rooms are spacious and decorated to a very high standard with comfortable beds. The staff are exceptionally attentive making for a very enjoyable stay.

The only thing that lets this hotel down and unfortunately for us it's important is the lead sure facilities. In the ladies changing rooms three of the hair dryers were out of order, the sauna and steam room were all broken and you have to pay to get access to the fire and ice experience.it just meant that after a swim there is nothing more to offer by way of leisure facilities really.

The gym however is very good.

Overall a very enjoyable stay I just hope the leisure facilities get an overhaul soon

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Tommkel

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your visit. It was disappointing to read that the leisure facilities were functioning on so little and sincerely apologise for this, we are working towards these issues to re-instate them, and I have fed back to our maintenance department on the broken items mentioned.

I am glad to note however that all other aspects of your stay were enjoyable to you and I hope that you will be returning to us very soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

After the multi million pound refurbishment, we were expecting the wow factor, I'm sorry to say that it missed on quite a few levels!! We arrived to a lovely reception from the staff and they were very professional and friendly. We had upgraded to a superior room which entitled us to robe and slippers, mineral water, fruit and chocolate. Nice! We spent most of the first day chasing our robe and slippers so we could go to the spa. We knew the treatment rooms hadn't opened yet but we were led to believe by the website that the steam and the sauna were open, another disappointment they weren't!
Although they had spent loads of money on the refurb, I felt they had spent the money in the wrong areas, there was still no air con in the bedrooms, just a chundering noisy radiator that didn't even get warm! No heated towel radiator to the bathroom so damp towels this morning and the room was very dark. The curtain fabric was too chunky so enclosed the window it making it even more dark.
Again chased the superior package for our rooms.......fruit which turned out to be 3 Granny Smiths apples, chicks and 2 small bottles of water.
The website is misleading, someone needs to update with honesty, the marketing department want shooting!!
The girls on reception were fab along with Abbie who was most understanding and empathetic to our grumbles, a bottle of Prosecco on the house quickly appeared which was most appreciated. Don't get me wrong we had a lovely weekend breakfast was yummy but priorities of the spending of the refurb budget was put in the wrong places, staff were great when you grumbled but it missed the mark and they were not ready in the first place. I just hope it is teething problems in the first few weeks, they really need to step up to the plate, we did get our upgrade payment refunded. Thank you x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mary T

Thank you for your review. How disappointing to read though that what should have been a seamless arrangement for your upgrade extras, was not. I assure you that this information is with our Housekeeping department to review the ‘whys?’ and ‘hows?’, along with website checks via Marketing for accuracy. I am sorry for the discomfort of a warm room, we do have fans in every room to aid comfort. I take on board your further comments regarding décor and the light, thank you.
I have made Abbie aware of your lovely comments it is always pleasing to read that our staff have endeavoured to rectify matters.
Overall I hope that you felt you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Kind regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

me and 3 friends came to the belfry as a over night stay with breakfast with 2 games of golf , staff were very welcoming and friendly , i stayed in room 2209 which was a very smart room but not to posh.when we arrived we had an unscheduled breakfast (full english with toast, no drinks no jam) , it was a set one and cost £10.95.we played golf on the pga course which was brilliant and well kept , but beware off the water and extra long grass ( TAKE PLEANTY OF EXTRA BALLS )when we returned to the hotel we had coffees at £5.50 each and bottles of stella at £5.50 each quite expensive i think. we ate out at a indian in tamworth called champagne EXCELLENT ( 6 MILES AWAY ) on returning we had a night cap of 2 colas and 2 x double malt whiskeys that cost £36.00 in total which we think is well over priced as is the coffees and beer . next morning we had the all you can eat breakfast , cereals , fruit , fruit juices , yoghurt , all excellent . then we played the derby course which we all preffered , all in all an excellent hotel and stay , just a bit priceyfor drinks , i would say take an none drinking mate and drink elseware...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLASHCT2950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear FLASHCT2950

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It seems you all had a great stay and enjoyed the hearty breakfast. I take on board your comments around pricing, and did calculate the malt whiskey and cola pricing from the menu which came in significantly less. If you do feel you have been wrongly charged I would be happy to hear from you further to discuss.

I hope that this did not detract from the overall positive elements of your stay with us and that we may be seeing you and your party again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My friend and I came here for a weekend spa break. The cost was £120 for a double room with dinner.
I had previously not given the Ryder grill a great review but the second visit changed my opinion.
We arrived and were taken to our newly refurbished room - really lovely with a view of the course from an enormous balcony (it was too cold to sit on it!).
We ordered a fabulous Afternoon Tea with champagne. It was amazing with macaroons and delicate sandwiches.
Dinner was fabulous; well cooked with attentive service.
We Had a lovely relaxing weekend here. The service is excellent and the refurb has made is a delightful hotel to stay in for a pleasant weekend

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank elfiemarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear elfiemarden

Thank you for your review. Delighted to read that we have redeemed ourselves with your second Ryder Grill experience, in addition that overall you had a ‘fabulous’ dinner and Champagne afternoon tea.

It really is a pleasure to read when our guests leave our property having had a truly enjoyable stay.

Hope to see you again soon,

Best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

It was a business meeting arranged for our company's national sales conference that included overnight accommodation with evening meal, breakfast and lunch.
The hotel is situated in beautiful surroundings and boasts some fine scenery as well as having a top class golf course that is world renowned.
Ample car parking greeted me on arrival and checking in was a breeze with the staff only too eager to help me. The room was very comfortable and I enjoyed the leisure facilities including a gym and spa.
The bar area is enticing and the decor is outstanding leaving you in an atmosphere of awe and comfort.
I can't say anything wrong here or suggest room for improvement as the Belfry seems to have it all. Our conference suite was roomy and comfortable with adequate air conditioning and my whole time there was a pleasure to behold.
Needless to say I will no doubt be returning there in the future.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Jay S

Lovely to read your review, thank you. It was pleasing to note that you feel, ‘we have it all’, I certainly do hope so. Your comments from start to finish were fantastic to read, and I would be very keen to get in touch with you if you would be kind enough to drop me an e-mail directly (lynn.hood@thebelfry.com)

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
1.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,306 reviews
3.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,236 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
484 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,000 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry

Address: Lichfield Road | West Midlands, Wishaw B76 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Price Range: £90 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Belfry...Steeped in history, yet combining modern comfort, The Belfry is a complete leisure and golf destination combined with a superb range of facilities all set within 550 acres of beautiful English countryside. With a central location we are easily accessible from all over the UK via the region's excellent road and rail links. ESCAPE: Everyone has a different idea of what a leisure break should be. That's why you can choose how you spend your time at The Belfry. Our sole ambition is to create the perfect experience for you, whatever it is that you enjoy doing. Whether you want to relax in our fantastic refurbished Fire & Ice, be pampered at the spa, revitalise in the leisure club with its two spa pools, sauna, solarium and extensive gym, play 18 holes on one of our three golf courses, enjoy fresh food with one of our dining experiences or have a fun-packed break with the kids in one of our 319 rooms, the choice is yours at The Belfry. PLAY: Perfect greens, world-famous holes, stunning views and exhilarating match play: Golf at The Belfry has it all. As the UK headquarters of the PGA and spiritual home of the Ryder Cup, the noble game and The Belfry are inextricably linked. The Belfry has become synonymous with golf and a Mecca for both professional and amateur players. Our two stunning Championship courses, sculpted from 550 acres of lush North Warwickshire countryside, have provoked some of the most dramatic moments in the history of the sport. Play The Brabazon, our internationally recognised championship course. Play the PGA National, England's only American links-style PGA course. Or play The Derby - a shorter, more relaxed course for players of all levels. Better still, make a break of it and play all three. Need a little help with your game? The PGA National Golf Academy houses a 34 bay flood-lit Driving Range, National Custom Fit Centre, putting green and a short game area. With over 20 PGA qualified Golf Professionals we offer world-class golf tuition, practice facilities and custom fitting for golfers of all abilities, from age four and upwards! DINE: Whether informal or indulgent, for business or pleasure, intimate or celebratory - our range of dining experiences offers the freshest ingredients, all beautifully prepared and served in world-renowned surroundings. Enjoy a glass of Champagne in The Brabazon Bar before indulging in great food in The Ryder Grill. At Sam's Bar - the perfect 19th hole - we serve up a menu of home-cooked favourites, whilst The Leisure Cafe offers lighter, healthier snacks for those hitting the gym and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Wishaw
The Belfry Wishaw, Warwickshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing