We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sams Bar at The Belfry , So poor it beggars belief”
Review of The Belfry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfry
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This review is my first ever bad review and slightly unfair as we are unable to comment on the food, mainly because after waiting 1 hour 10mins for a cheese sandwich, a salad and a bowl of chips, we gave up hope of ever eating and headed off to the local Mac Donald’s (which was excellent)
Friday was a lovely day so we decided to visit Sam’s bar for lunch on the terrace. After waiting 10 minutes we decided to seek out a waitress, and managed to get a drink dome 5 minutes later. Conscious of the time it took to get a drink we ordered a sandwich and a salad immediately. Sadly some 1hour 10 minutes later our food did not arrive, nor in this time were we offered another drink.
Belfry management wake up, your service is frankly appalling. When you have punters willing to pay £10 for a cheese sandwich and £5.00 for a lager, you should be queuing up to relieve such punters of their cash. Do you not understand this is how you make your money?
Sorry but your service levels are totally unacceptable and you ruined our well-earned afternoon of leisure. My advice to other customers is to visit other local vendors of fine food and drink; at least you will get fed and watered.
Can I suggest the senior management send a mystery shopper to experience the hapless service for themselves

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nigel1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Nigel 1401

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are of course appreciated and fully taken on board in order for us to have full clarity on how we are delivering our products and services. I want to offer my sincere apologies for how this could have happened, I have shared this with the management for Sam’s and want to let you know that we are refocusing the service concept in Sam’s with a recent restructure in the offering, but this of course does not rectify your previous poor experience.

If you would like to get in touch with me so we can discuss further, I would welcome a discussion.

With kind regards
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,964 - 1,970 of 2,042 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have visited The Belfry many times over recent years as we have family in the area, and know how good the golf courses and facilities are. The refurbishment is great and the look and feel of the clubhouse fabulous. However, it is let down by extortionist prices for beverages. £8.90 for two coffees, which is unbelievable, AND the product was dreadful. A bar run by young inexperienced staff with no training. No management on quality control, we sent one back because we were not prepared to drink such an appalling drink. The second one was marginally better, just. So disappointing for a place appealing to well travelled, discerning patrons. PLEASE invest in some decent staff training so that you can offer a quality product to match the prices you want to charge.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Anne B

Thank you, firstly for taking the time to write a review, and secondly for your custom over the years which is fantastic. I was disappointed however to read that your most recent visit was not as enjoyable. I am not sure which bar in particular you were visiting, but I can confirm that all of our staff are trained on the coffee machines. I will however be making some specific enquiries to ensure that they are operating correctly as coffee should be perfect every time!

I do hope that I can assure you we will be addressing this and that you will continue to come back to us.

With kind regards
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great place and bar,Golf facilities for golf are the best but NO Air conditioning in the rooms.

So let down the place on a hot day and night.

Just been refurbished and no a/c in the rooms,cant believe it!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear sat C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your positive comments are gratefully received. However, your disappointment with no air conditioning is of course regrettable and I am sorry for how this impacted on your stay. This uncommonly hot weather does come with it’s challenges and there are fans being placed into the rooms to assist with this.

I hope that you are not deterred from a return visit here to us.

Best wishes
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed for one night and two rounds of golf on the PGA and the Derby the golf was awesome two outstanding golf courses i dont have a bad word to say. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. I left a pair of waterproof trousers there and the very kindly posted them to me at no cost.
We had food in sams bar and the Ryder grill and it was all outstanding and the breakfast was just out of this world, everything you could possibly want or need. the room was clean and very comfortable if i had to moan about anything they could use some air-con but thats it. I would recommend The Belfry to anyone 5*

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Scott M

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments on our ‘outstanding’ golf courses will definitely make our Greenkeeping department happy. The impression you gained from our staff overall is so very pleasing to read.

Your 5* rating is much appreciated.

Come back soon.

Best regards
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just stayed here with a work golf trip , the refit has certainly changed the hotel from my last stay about 8 years ago , staff where very friendly and helpful , Sams bar is ok but I think it could do with more of a golf club feel , the food is over priced but did not spoil anything for me or the party , the rooms are great ....nicely finished and clean , the brabazon is an absolute gem to play and a tribute to the green staff, the derby is an ok course ( good to play with a hangover :-) ) booked ready for next years trip so cannot wait

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank blue499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear blue499

Thank you for your review. An absolute pleasure to read of course and more so due to the fact you found both product and service to a high standard. I will pass on your credit to the greenstaff thank you.

Delighted to read you are already booked up to return next year. We look forward to seeing you all again.

With kind regards
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Belfry for the day/evening of Sunday 13th July 2014 for my husbands birthday (not our first visit to hotel by either of us) and we were both overly impressed with the suite we stayed in (the sunningdale suite overlooking the PGA golf course) the staff in all areas of the hotel were very friendly & only to happy to help. The attention to detail in all areas of the hotel made by the hotel staff & the room quality can not be faulted. Thank you for such a pleasant stay. We will be returning to the hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardiner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Gardiner08

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As Managing Director it was lovely to read that you received ‘faultless’ service from all of the staff. I will ensure they are aware of your kind words.

Thank you, for the thank you - so pleased to read that you plan to return. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Best regards
Lynn Hood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Attended a conference at The Belfry in the conference suite, the food was beautiful, the suite was air conditioned and spacious. Stayed one night in The Belfry, my work paid for the room but was disappointed there was no bath as my colleagues room did, but the breakfast was beautiful. Only problem I had was I kept getting lost in the hotel, corridors look the same! Would love to return again!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Abbieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn H, Manager at The Belfry, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Abbieroberts

Many thanks for your review. It was promising to read your positive comments and I thank you for the feedback regarding the impact different bathroom types had on your stay. We fully appreciate that not everyone always wants a shower, as not everyone always wants a bath. The refurbishment allowed for different styles and if you do return in the future please do mention this at booking stage and we will endeavour to accommodate your preference.

We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
1.4 mi away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
2,311 reviews
3.0 mi away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,237 reviews
3.9 mi away
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Moor Hall Hotel & Spa, BW Premie...
#3 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#8 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
487 reviews
24.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,002 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drayton Manor Hotel
Drayton Manor Hotel
#3 of 11 in Tamworth
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfry

Address: Lichfield Road | West Midlands, Wishaw B76 9PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wishaw
Price Range: £90 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfry 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Belfry...Steeped in history, yet combining modern comfort, The Belfry is a complete leisure and golf destination combined with a superb range of facilities all set within 550 acres of beautiful English countryside. With a central location we are easily accessible from all over the UK via the region's excellent road and rail links. ESCAPE: Everyone has a different idea of what a leisure break should be. That's why you can choose how you spend your time at The Belfry. Our sole ambition is to create the perfect experience for you, whatever it is that you enjoy doing. Whether you want to relax in our fantastic refurbished Fire & Ice, be pampered at the spa, revitalise in the leisure club with its two spa pools, sauna, solarium and extensive gym, play 18 holes on one of our three golf courses, enjoy fresh food with one of our dining experiences or have a fun-packed break with the kids in one of our 319 rooms, the choice is yours at The Belfry. PLAY: Perfect greens, world-famous holes, stunning views and exhilarating match play: Golf at The Belfry has it all. As the UK headquarters of the PGA and spiritual home of the Ryder Cup, the noble game and The Belfry are inextricably linked. The Belfry has become synonymous with golf and a Mecca for both professional and amateur players. Our two stunning Championship courses, sculpted from 550 acres of lush North Warwickshire countryside, have provoked some of the most dramatic moments in the history of the sport. Play The Brabazon, our internationally recognised championship course. Play the PGA National, England's only American links-style PGA course. Or play The Derby - a shorter, more relaxed course for players of all levels. Better still, make a break of it and play all three. Need a little help with your game? The PGA National Golf Academy houses a 34 bay flood-lit Driving Range, National Custom Fit Centre, putting green and a short game area. With over 20 PGA qualified Golf Professionals we offer world-class golf tuition, practice facilities and custom fitting for golfers of all abilities, from age four and upwards! DINE: Whether informal or indulgent, for business or pleasure, intimate or celebratory - our range of dining experiences offers the freshest ingredients, all beautifully prepared and served in world-renowned surroundings. Enjoy a glass of Champagne in The Brabazon Bar before indulging in great food in The Ryder Grill. At Sam's Bar - the perfect 19th hole - we serve up a menu of home-cooked favourites, whilst The Leisure Cafe offers lighter, healthier snacks for those hitting the gym and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belfry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Hotel Wishaw
Belfry Wishaw
The Belfry Wishaw, Warwickshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing