We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

I came with a group from work for a Christmas night out. There were lots of people in the room, maybe 300 or so, and the atmosphere was good. Excellent live group started the evening off, and then good music from the decades. What was a disappointment was the food. To start with, there was no choice, no menu options. The starter was tomato soup, with a curiously metallic taste, and I don't really like tomato soup. Main course was turkey with roast potatoes, veg etc which was ok. The pudding was a chocolate mousse which was fine if you like chocolate desserts! I really think that for the price (£36) there should have been a choice as I certainly would not have chosen two of the three courses.
The serving staff were excellent - polite, efficient and quick - no fault to be found there. Well done!
In summary, I would not choose to go back because I like to have a choice when I pay that much.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wulfruna42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Wulfruna42

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received when recently attending our party night. I was disappointed to read that you had not been entirely satisfied with the menu choice. We accept that menu choices can be an aquired taste and whilst we have recieved overwhelming praise from others guests it wasn't for you.

Should you consider returning for a future event I would ask you to simply let us know in advance (as the menu choice is always pre-advertised) and if something isn't to your liking, we would happily offer an alternative. This happens daily with other clients as they may have dietary requirements, allergies, or simply a presonal preference.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    344
    179
    80
    50
See reviews for
161
311
30
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The staff were attentive and reorganised two of our tables quickly to accomodate the correct number of diners. The pre dinner drinks at the bar were expensive £4 a pint! The bedroom and all public areas and toilets were clean and well maintained. The buffet breakfast was excellent quality and quantity. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howelsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Howelsy

Thank you for your recent post and feedback regarding your recent experience at our Christmas Party. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed the evening.

I noted your mention of the bar prices. We do offer pre-order discounts which are advertised and available for bookings in advance. This covers soft drinks, beers and wines.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is an out-of-town hotel on a large business park so will appeal to people attending meetings and such.
Nothing wrong with the hotel but nothing inspriing either. Bedroom was large and clean, and the breakfast was very good (second hotel in as many weeks to be offered this hint - warm the plates!)

Unsurprisingly, the hotel was full of Christmas parties. The food was ok - hot and served well so no complaints here. A bar without blaring music wouldn't have gone amiss but it's the season of good-will after all!

I'd stay here again prior to my meetings. It was fine, although nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevmul16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Kevmul16

Thank you for your recent post. I am delighted to update you taht we have some changes coming to the property. The first being a light refurbishment with new furnishings for our bar and restaurant area. This work is scheduled to take place week commenceing 16th December, all being well.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed Saturday 30th November 2013, the room was excellent and very clean. The staff very helpful and polite. This is the third time we have stayed and are going back to see in the New Year. Can't wait was a fantastic night last year.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Andrew R

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your recent stay with us. thank you os much for sharing it with your post.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to see in 2014.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Check in was smooth but room was a bit off putting, black hairs on my bed, furniture looking very dated, we went for Xmas party night, as we do every year, this year was worst, food was very delayed in coming out, not good quality at all, far too small dance floor for the amount of people in there !! Just on a small note...door men, very rude and it's Xmas they could smile the one in the eighties disco.... Hope the referb comes in soon, 20 of us who come every year can't wait.... Staff excellent though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martynandchrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear martynandchrissy

Thank you so much for your recnt review, though I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely happy with your most recent visit. Please accept my sincere apologies.

We have received very possive comments since the Christmas events started ranging from flavour of soup, portion size and presentation of mains, through to the indulgence served up for dessert.

To help me better understand your experience, would you please let me have further details, i.e. the date you joined us, party name etc - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely


Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stayed here overnight at a works conference. I was given a room on the Executive floor. Room was huge, spacious, even the bathroom was of a good size. It was clean and had all the usual facilities you would expect from a 4* hotel. In its day the rooms would be very grand, however today its starting to look dated with its dark, chunky furniture.

Conference facilities were good, although they struggled to keep up with providing water and enough glasses for everyone which is very poor.

Food was very basic, reminded me of school dinners.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Mrandmrsm2010

Many thanks for posting your recent review. I am happy to advise you that we have an in house program underway to redecorate the bedrooms as well as othe rpublic areas being improved in the coming weeks.

Thank you also for your comment regarding the drinks service, I have since passed this onto our Events Manager.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you agian

Your sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel was fab. The bedroom was lovely and big. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only problem was because of a wedding being held there it was short staffed in the bar and a long wait to be served I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: We had room 236 that was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yvonnebracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Yvonne Bracknell

Thank you for your kind review, though I was sorry to read that you were delayed with bar service. Please accept my apologies for this. I have also shared your feedback with our Mangers responsible for this area to ensure that we are staffed accordingly.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
5.3 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Breierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Breierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley West Midlands, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing