We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Realy Enjoyed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Realy Enjoyed”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My Wife & I stayed at Copthorne Merry Hill for our wedding anniversary in March.
Never been before but it suited our needs as regards location & most reviews were favorable. Our Daughter had not stayed there but had been to functions there & said it was a nice place.
We were not disappointed!
Very good location for our needs. Check in was speedy & staff efficient & welcoming.
Room was clean, tidy & spacious, better than we expected in fact.
We did not eat in the Hotel due to things we wanted to do, so can't comment.
Everything else was just what we wanted. Big, roomy, relaxing, with a view of the Marina. Perfect for us! Will stay there again!

Room Tip: Overlooking Marina is a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger-tex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Roget-tax

Thank you for your kind review, I was delighted to rad that after your daughters recommendation we did not disappoint....as I'm sure was she!

Your kind words will also be shared with my colleagues.

Thank you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    344
    179
    80
    50
See reviews for
161
311
30
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Just returned from a 2-day mid-week break at this hotel. The reason was to meet friends, another couple, for a break and to catch up. We live in different parts of the UK and chose Dudley as it was roughly 90 minutes travel time for each couple. On arrival, we were made very welcome. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. We ate at the restaurant on both nights. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. On the second night, our waitress gave us a free bottle of wine because there was a slight delay with our food. We found plenty to do in Dudley, and recommend the zoo and the industrial 'living' heritage museum. There is shopping and a cinema nearby, which we used. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, overlooking the car park. Our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatOak23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear GreatOak23

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedbakc with your post. I was delighted to see that you and your friends had enjoyed your time with us and able to explore whats available on our doorstep. You are right, there really is plenty on offer.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, maybe when you meet up again!

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The second floor room was spacious and clean with a view looking out over the Centre, bathroom a good size. Breakfast was good. The hotel is in a good location to Merry Hill Centre, and pubs are just across the bridge over the canal. Would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Tradav2010

Many thanks for your recent post following your time at the hotel. I was delighted to read that you would stay again when in the area.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The secret's out. This hotel should never be classed as 4*! We only stayed for a night but that was too long. No smile from reception. The room was a disgrace! Stained carpets, very outdated decor, a poorly functioning radiator instead of air con (were we in a b&b?), a very soft mattress (with no mattress protector), a bed side lamp that didn't work.
In a few words this place was substandard. We found it under last minute advertised as a "4* Dudley secret hotel". I would suggest that that misleading tagline is taken off that website before other customers are ripped off their money!
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Overpriced and not even worth a look.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LoulaPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear LoulaPom

Many thanks for your recent post, though I was was really disappointed to see that you had not enjoyed your time with us. I would be only too pleased to investigate further and respond to you directly.

Would you be kind enough to supply me with details of your stay, date, name etc and I can look into your experience further? - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Good room, spacious and clean. The problems lie with the restaurant. No management! We stayed over for one week and on several occasions, we were appalled by the poor service. Queuing, nothing happens... other times, once seated, 45 minutes to one hour wait before food arrived. We were even told that we couldn't have a table but very few people were there!!
Breakfast was not better organized.
We complained and once, we had a free tea,scones etc... but the next day, it was the same again.

Returning from a match at the David LLoyd Centre on the Friday evening, we were told that we had left the room!! We had a 15minutes wait before we could get our keys again...
We filled up a long report before leaving the room but we were never contacted by the management.
We will definitely not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublemixte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear EveBordeaux_Fra

Thank you for taking the time to place a recent post, following your time at the hotel and visiting the local area. I was dispappointed to read that you were not impressed with your experience, in particular the restaurant.

Would you please be kind enough to let me have further details of your stay, i.e. name, dates etc and I will look into the matter further and respond accordingly? matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Please also accept my sincere apologies for not responding to your comment card, I personally collect these from our drop off box in reception, read and respond accordingly so am puzzled how I missed it.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINGSWINFORD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My husband is disabled and I am his main carer. As this hotel is only a few miles from home when I had the chance to take a break it was the ideal choice. The first time I stayed it was pleasant but I was close to the Earls suite with a wedding disco taking place.
I didn't say anything at the time but when the on line survey came through I mentioned it. The manager instantly picked up on the problem apologised and generously compensated me.
The staff were friendly, the food was good and the breakfast was exceptionally well organised.
It is next to the Merry Hill Centre, so a great place to stay when indulging in retail therapy!!!!!. It's nice to know that customer's opinions are still listened to and problems acted upon. A special thank you to Matt the manager who sorted everything out so professionally.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to the club level bedroom as the perks more than cover the extra fee and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Ria R

Thank you so much for your kind words. Customer feedback is so important to us and knowing about any issues or concerns enables us to react and remidy. I was delighted that we were able to do this for you.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Myself and colleagues stayed at the Copthorne Merry Hill during a charity challenge that we were taking part in, and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating. After an exhausting day in the cold and wet it was a huge relief to come back to a warm, comfortable, welcoming hotel. The staff were incredible and helped with all of our equipment and let us use a meeting space for an emergency briefing! We couldn't have asked for more, and are extremely grateful to have received such fantastic hospitality. Extra special thanks go to the Manager Matt for taking such great care of us!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Liz

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer feedback following your recent time with us. It was an absolute pleasure to help you and the team along the way. We were following your progress all the way to the finish line....what a great achievement, you should all be so very proud of yourselves.

Please do feel free to keep my details and let me know if we can be of any support in future.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
5.3 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Breierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Breierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley West Midlands, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing