We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here to extend a works night out. Only on our door step but was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the rooms, ease of check in and out and response to requested for additions for our room. The only down side was that there was no air con and the heat of the room was I stifling even though were provided with a fan it had little effect. Staff were all very polite and helpful would like to stay again maybe in the winter when it's cooler.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jylittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear JYlittle

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience by placing a post here. I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received, these will be shared with the team.

We hope to welcome you again soon, or maybe pop in for Sunday lunch, or drink on the terrace what with being a local

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

574 - 580 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

Yes the hotel needs a little updating but we upgraded to the luxury room for 20 quid
more without realizing and breakfast was in with price - the room was massive - no
problem with sleeping very comfortable overlooking the canal can't complain at all

Room Tip: we were on 2nd floor went to bed at 9 ! never heard a thing and I am a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lwarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Deaer lwarden

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and had a great nights sleep.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Overall this is not a bad hotel, the rooms are spacious and seemed clean. A couple of stains on the carpet which I think is in need of updating.

We did have a couple of issues though, this was one of the hottest, stuffiest nights of the year and we had been to a wedding, when we tried to open the window, it would not open. By this time it was gone midnight so we didn't bother to report it but the bathroom tap dropped constantly and got on my nerves! Plus there were a couple of groups of hen parties outside being quite noisy. I did report this to the hotel and have been offered a complimentary Sunday lunch with wine, which is a nice offer but we live in Newcastle and may not make it back down that way again so not brilliant compensation.

We would stay again if we ever went, but I would inspect the room early enough to report any problems, hopefully they'll take on board the need for a bit of updating.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Paula S

Thank you for your recent post and kind words following your recent stay with us. Please feel free to contact me directly with further details of your stay as I would be happy to speak to my colleagues at our Sister hotel in Newcastle should that be more feasible for you. My email address is matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel first impressions not bad location great , room was very hot no air conditioning or fans available at all , we had a room looking onto the waterfront please don't have a room there if you want to sleep , very noisy until the early hours , take a fan and ask for a room overlooking the car park !

Room Tip: Room facing the car park , take your own fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sandra G

Thank you for your recent review. I was disappointed to read that you were interupted by noise created by neighbouring businesses. We believe that this was from a recently opened establishement, where we have since liaised with the business owners who have agreed to show consideration for hotel residents.

Thank youonce again and we hope to welcome you back in future, please feel free to liaise with myself directly where I will ensure the best rate is made avaialble, with complimentary upgrade - subject to availabilty

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After a recent stay in the copthorne hotel merry hill I was disappointed . Initially when entering the hotel , looked clean , staff friendly and helpful . Entering the room I felt the room was dated , curtains reminded me of moth eaten curtains due to I presume wear and tear , small holes which light came through . Radiators needed painting , lots of black marks on them , walls had marks on , the shower had mould and a lot of black marks not clean at all , there was an old bath mat , which looked dirty and worn , I chose to stay in the copthorne hotel as I had previously stayed in the copthorne in Sheffield , a world of difference could not have faulted Sheffield , this is classed as 4 star , the experience I had of the room was not 4 star , reading a previous review there was someone with a similar experience on the 2 nd floor , they were moved to the 4 th floor and stated it was cleaner. I feel these were needless mistakes and to me there was an apathy to ensuring the room was clean . Probably would not stay here again unless it was cleaner .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Sherwilliams

Thank you for your recent review, though i was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience, please accept my sincere apologies.

I appreciate from your comment that you have stayed at our Sister hotel in Sheffield, which is most certainly a stunning property built within the grounds of Sheffield United FC.

I was particularly disappointed to read that you found the cleanliness below par as the housekeeping team work very hard to ensure that a high standard is achieved. In addition we also have an inhouse maintenence team who work proactively through the bedrooms, faulty finding etc.

One area that you highlighted was the curtains, this is something that we started to repalce earlier in the year and hope to complete all rooms before the end of the year.

Thank you once again for taking the time to offer feedback

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Friendly and efficient reception. Spacious Room - very comfortable bed - quiet - good nights sleep.

Only minus was no air conditioning and because of the temperature outside 30 degrees and humid the room was like a sauna, but had taken fan in anticipation. Hotel can do nothing about the weather though!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Eric B

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and appreciation for aspects that at times are outside our control.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel, great value for money if you book more than 2wks in advance, £43/night for a family room. Pool and Spa open to all over our stay. Hotel is located on the canal, with a number of bars for drinks and food.
If you like shopping there's a huge shopping centre across the road, so wives and daughters should be in heaven.

We have used this hotel on numerous occasions, when our daughter has an athletics event, even if we have to travel an hour or so to compete.
We will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank OSPREY31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Osprey31

Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback following your recent stay with us. Likewise for your loyalty when travelling from outside the area to stay with us.

We look forwards to seeing you and your family again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breierley Hill
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Breierley Hill
115 reviews
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#41 of 118 in Birmingham
3,077 reviews
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Address: The Copthorne Hotel Level Street | The Waterfront, Breierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Breierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Breierley Hill
Price Range: £51 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley West Midlands, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing