We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Farm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Farm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
Certificate of Excellence
Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wedding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Attended my nephew and new nieces' wedding on Friday, 9th August.
From the outside Oak Farm looks really small, but is like the Tardis on the inside!
Lovely venue, with characterful public areas, the gardens are a treat and perfect for those romantic wedding photographs.
The reception food was well presented and tasty, the bedrooms, were bright and airy, with views across the fields to the rear. They are slightly dated and would benefit from and update, however, comfortable.
Breakfast, was the usual help yourself bacon, eggs etc, but all freshly cooked and replenished.
Coffee and hot water provided in help yourself, thermos flasks, not a good idea! Luke warm and cheap looking!
I would recommend this venue for an informal wedding any day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveOB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    29
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
55
28
9
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our friends chose this beautiful venue to get married, from the outside it looks small but wow its like a maze endless rooms coridores, we booked to stay the night and our room was lovely and comfy, the grounds in the place are beautiful the staff are friendly and the food is yummy, well done to all who were involved in making our friends wedding unforgettable, highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I would normally stay further North in Stafford but came here because the hotels I normally use were all full. The room I stayed in (room 24) was tired and in need of remodelling, although it was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom fan was noisy though, and the filter very dusty - didn't look too good for a first visit.

I arrived here and the first thing was that I was not expected due to a problem with the hotel's internet. The front desk staff sorted this out quickly but the internet problem meant that the wifi was not working, which was a shame as I was needing to complete some business.

The restaurant was well-presented and the food was good - both breakfast and dinner.

What made up for the lacklustre room was the friendliness of the staff and the food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Went to a wedding here in May and stayed overnight.
Wedding was excellent and well organised,weather was good so we were able to use the patio and gardens
Hotel is very well kept, staff helpful.
Bed Room was spacious ,clean and well furnished, and a really good breakfast the next morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 464justus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My husband and I had our wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception at Oak
Farm Hotel on the 1st June 2014. Having met Alex on a number of occasions to arrange the big day, he was only too happy to answer questions or worries that we had, he would always answer the emails or phone calls. The day was perfect and we could not have asked for anything better. It wasn't rushed and it the day was so relaxed, it was perfect. Dan kept us informed of everything that was happening and where we were needed, without being demanding at all. A lot of our guests have commented on how the whole day was so relaxed and ran so smoothly. The hotel rooms were more than adequate for everyone. We' we're even able to block book all of the rooms for the night, which made it easier for our guests wanting to stay over. We would highly recommend hiring the photo booth as we have laughed at every picture and video message we've had left for us.I would like to take the opportunity to thank Alex, Dan and the staff of Oak Farm for making our day so special. Mr and Mrs Coram

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinderford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Attended a week ago today. Dan and his team were very impressive. I found the accommodation clean and tidy. The staff went out of their way to make sure guests were kept happy. The food and service at the main meal was excellent, given the number of covers to deal with. The breakfast buffet is relaxed and of a very good quality. Now for the down sides - 1) My brother's room had no toilet paper, a discovery made at the worst moment! (attention to detail room staff). 2) No milkshakes! Really? Kids do exist. (on the upside, the staff went out of their way and found some Nesquick) - More than just chocolate flavour (or real milkshake) would be a good idea. 3) My biggest criticism - Late into the evening festivities staff shepherded guests from the outside area to the main room. After the evening festivities the staff cleared the main room around guests. Both of these actions made me feel both unwelcome and being ushered out against my own wishes. I appreciate that staff wish to get ready for the morning and to end their shifts and go home but it could and should be handled with much more tact. It was also related to me, by a fellow guest, that he felt rushed out of his room around 9.45 a.m. by cleaning staff. Some sad slips in an otherwise excellent experience. I would still return to Oak Farm and I would still recommend it to others as a pleasant place to stay or to hold an event.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
251 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We had our work's Christmas party here the other day and it was fairly pleasant, the staff seemed friendly but were evidently new, most of them didn't have a clue what was going on, however this did not really affect the evening! Good food also, perhaps a little too much if anything!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtravel1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherton
9.5 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
1.1 mi away
Roman Way Hotel
Roman Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatherton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Farm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Farm Hotel

Property: Oak Farm Hotel
Address: Watling Street | Cannock, Staffs, Hatherton WS11 1SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Hatherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Farm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Oak Farm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing