We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rubbish” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Oldbury Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had to stay in the Oldbury area as my husband had an interview. He chose the hotel as it was close to where he needed to be.
When we drove up to the hotel it's grey exterior didn't look too inviting. Don't be fooled by the flashy chandelier hanging in the doorway that's as nice as it gets. Glass doors shabby, two chaise chairs also in reception area grubby and old. At this point I wanted to turn around and leave. An Indian restaurant is inside just next to the reception with a very small bar.
Wallpaper in stairwell peeling, scuffed and stunk of public toilets (cleaning fluid). Room was very small and dark. Horrible brown and black furniture. Had a hair dryer and iron tho as well as tea and coffee. Bathroom was poky and had bad lighting. No bath. Could barely get into the bathroom without knocking into the toilet. Towels were off white! Bed hard and pillow stuffing non existent. Dirty brown carpet had seen better days and thick dust behind bedside cabinet. No wonder I sneezed constantly. I'm not normally affected by dust. Lots of traffic noise during the night. The worst thing was a green fluorescent light in the ceiling that couldn't be turned off. Obviously a night light. I could see it even through closed eyelids. Can't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    57
    65
    64
    74
See reviews for
19
63
19
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stopped for nite while on business
Hotel needs a clean
Bar does not stock diet drinks with so many diabetic people this is poor
Breakfast ok
Plus point best toast maker I have experienced only one pass to get toast
Not a long stay place
Free parking very good

Room Tip: dont choose front as even with double glazing road is very busy so can still here traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Reception staff was rude who checked us in rooms was nice an clean an looked modern bed was not that cosy... But the rooms overall was nice... Check out time was 11am that was fine was gettin ready gettin my things together an the phone rings at 1045... Reception was calling too tell me check out time is 11am Ermm yes I know it's not 11 yet... Couldn't wait to get u out the rooms wasn't happy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a few times aver the last couple of years. This used to be 'ok' but nothing special. Now, I have to say it is going downhill. Generally the hotel wasn't clean, stained carpets etc. and maintenance of small issues like bulbs not being done. Hotel room very hot and a/c not working. Food quality getting worse. Staff on reception do not seem bothered.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonsolesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oldbury hotels

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

If you want to:

- Wait an eternity at an empty reception desk to check in.
- Check in to a dirty room (carpets need replacing, stains on lampshades, tired furniture, cramped bathroom
- listen to other guests swearing in the restaurant

Then you've come to the right place!

If not, please avoid.

Only positives were waitresses who were pleasant and leaving.

I won't be back, neither would I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank millsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 24th Sept, booked 6 rooms all booking details were accurate and the staff were very helpfull on arrival. Reception was okay, bedroom carpet was dirty and so was the toilet/bathroom. Hall carpets were also dirty. I wouldn't stay again. There was however a really good restaurant a short walk away I would recommend Indian called Saffron

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDavies148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Reception Ok, Bathroom OK, Service in restaurant OK, Food when you get it Is excellent, that's where it ends. Lots of complaints in the restaurant regarding time taken to get food and then closing the restaurant when delayed diners haven't had dessert or coffee - this was very poor.
Bathroom was new but towels where stained, carpet in bedroom was a disgrace, Windows had someones head grease on them and the bed and pillows didn't help for a goodnights sleep. Glad the cost wasn't to high £60 room only

Room Tip: Don't bother seek out another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackostorm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oldbury Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oldbury Birmingham

Property: Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Address: International House 963 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury B69 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oldbury Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 mins from Jct 2 M5, stunningly decorated & newly built in '08, 81 rooms all en-suite, chic restaurant, free WiFi, lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Oldbury Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury Hotel Oldbury
Oldbury Ramada
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing