We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't like being negative but....”
Review of Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travellers Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Pro's

1/ Good convenient location for Birmingham / NEC
2/ Free WiFi and parking

The Con's

1/ Room dirty, the floor hadn't been hoovered - really dissapointing!! Especially after the first room we got allocated stunk of cigarettes so had to get moved.
2/ Room was far too hot, no climate controls, I ended up sleeping on the window sill for the first time in my life.
3/ Booked a double room yet it was two single beds pushed together with the annoying gap down the middle.
4/ No bedside table so everything had to go on the floor

5/ Breakfast; served 8 - 11, went down at 10.30, got the dregs left in the coffee jar, a bowl of cereal, toast and was told there was no croissants left. At 10.45 i asked if another coffee was going to be put on to which i was told no, its too late and breakfast had stopped being served. A few people had gone to the coffee jar to find it empty, how hard is it to put a simple coffee on to keep guests happy!?

Be all and end all - i will not use this hotel again. It has the potential to be really good, with what looked like a modern onsite gym, but unfortunately, they lacked the bare basics!!!

Room Tip: Top floor seemed much quieter than the 2nd were we was originally checked in to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeLad82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

For what used to be a bathroom and tiles centre this place is now a very professionally run family owned hotel catering for mainly travelling trades workers during the week and families at the weekend. Always a fabulous welcome and a great stay and the help your self breakfast in the morning is well worth the small fee charged.

Room Tip: If you want a bath then ask for a family room - often if they are free the rate will be the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013


First of all the bathroom was disgusting! Then here are all the other points that made this stay in a hotel the worst one ever!

I was kept awake till the early hours because of the noise. There are 'boy racers' who congregate around the hotel, there was loud engine noise and music blaring till all hours.

The room was falling apart! Handles falling off doors and such like!

Everything about the room just seemed cheap and unclean. The hotel may look nice from the outside but it's well below standard inside.

For the £45 we paid, it was far from value for money!

And then there's the smoke detector, it had been covered with cling film! So, safety is not a priority at this hotel!!!

Overall, a place to avoid! There are other, much nicer hotels in the area that are just £10 more expensive than this one. It's well worth the tenner to stay anywhere but here. Couldn't wait to go home! Will definitely not return!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keeping-it-real-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I and my band (Hollow Ground) had spent the day travelling from the north east before playing a gig at The Slade Rooms n Wolverhampton. On finishing our show, we were informed by the promoter that there had been a slight mix up on the hotel front, but that he had booked us a place. The downside was that we had to get changed straight away and go to the hotel to book in. So...it was a fairly frazzled group that eventually pulled up at The Travellers Inn at Oldbury. The young girl on reception couldn't have been better. She got us quickly booked in with minimum fuss. The rooms was neat and functional.....nothing spectacular....but absolutely fine. Our singer did have a problem with his room, but he was quickly re-roomed. Very soothing atmosphere after a fraught day. Didn't sleep much, but that had nothing to do with the hotel!.....the bed was comfortable....the room was pleasantly warm. Went down for breakfast to be met by more pleasant staff. The continental was very nice. A good choice of the usual continual breakfast choices (cereals, breads, fruits, yoghurts, cheese and ham etc....)... Very nice. All in all....an unpretentious hotel that hits the spot due to very good staff, comfortable rooms and very good breakfast. Would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a good place to stay that won't break the bank.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webbyj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Stay here at your peril the whole place is rank!! Cleaning is not top of their agenda both in your room and public areas. Service was ok at check in thereafter more truckers cafe!
Wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemies.
Price not even reasonable as much better quality places for an extra twenty quid.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clubroost8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed here whilst on business in the area so decided to travel down and arrive late Sunday night. Whilst I had informed the hotel of my estimated time of arrival, I did have problems trying to make the night staff aware of my presance. 5-10 minutes stood outside in freezing conditions was not the best first impression I was looking for but it was outside normal check-in times so I didn't feel I could make an issue of this.
I had requested a queit room and was given one on the first floor overlooking a carpark, it served it's purpose and a good sleep was obtained all week.
The room was spacious with a good sized shower whilst the downstairs communial area is relaxed and modern with free wi-fi. All the staff were very helpful & friendly, pointing out the special meals that were available for that particular day. A good choice of food is on offer to cater for most guests needs including a chinese wok restaurant set descreetly to one side. This was obviously a popular feature as outside bookings were taken on a regular basis.
A fully equipted gym is available free of charge for anyone that fancies a workout, I chose to "chillax" instead.
On a negative side, some of the corridors do look dated & would benefit from a makeover, but then again, who spends their time standing in the corridor for any length of time?
I would stay here again if in the area, so it must be ok!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthYorkshireTanFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The travellers inn. Well as soon as I arrived a was greeted by a real home feeling. The service was out standing and the hotel lived up to its description. The bar and resturant could offer nothing more its desighn and layout was cool but the best part of all is the bar staff. One employee especialy stood out for me her name is emily she is a trainee at the moment but was really friendly. service was spot on so friendly and happy to help. I feel emily made my stay memorable and I left with good intentions of returning. Any one seeking a warm welcom and home like hotel with amazing bar staff don not shop anywhere else this is the place to stay!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
2.5 mi away
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#2 of 5 in West Bromwich
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
#68 of 118 in Birmingham
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Address: 999 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range: £40 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in the Birmingham area for business or leisure, guests find an ideal base at The Travellers Inn with its well-appointed accommodations and location just off Junction 2 of M5. We are within convenient distance of Wolverhampton, Dudley and Sandwell. At the hotel, our guests can enjoy complimentary use of our gym, free parking and free Wi-Fi in all areas. All our 69 rooms have power showers, LCD TV with Freeview, ironing facilities, hairdryer, and tea- and coffee-making facilities. To start off the day, you can sample the hearty full English breakfast served each morning. Our in-house Grill restaurant, which is open only in the evenings, serves an array of delectable dishes in a modern setting whilst our bar offers variety of drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. The Travellers Inn can host functions, meetings and events for up to 40 delegates at our conference room. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel, you can find a supermarket, two pubs and two restaurants. For recreation in the area, you can drive 15 minutes to watch sporting and entertainment events at Barclaycard Arena. The National SEA LIFE Centre and Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery can also be reached within 20 minutes by car. Birmingham city centre and Birmingham New Street Rail Station are only seven miles away, about 20 minutes by car, whilst The Sandwell & Dudley Station is about a mile and a half away. The Birmingham Airport is 23 miles away via motorway and 30 minutes by car from The Travellers Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Oldbury
Travellers Inn Oldbury, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing