We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as I thought!!”
Review of Travellers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travellers Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not as bad as I thought!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at the hotel a few times and was concerned by the reviews and expecting a right dump!! What a surprise, rooms decent, curtains a little thin, shower fantastic and parking great + free.
I arrived on a hot afternoon and straight away offered a fan if required. Easy check in and very friendly staff throughout the stay.
Breakfast was decent and again staff were great. Evening meals also reasonably priced.
Asda just down the road as are other well known eating places.
As a business traveller this was ideal so not having to search somewhere to eat within my expenses budget.
It is not the Ritz but also not there prices so would not hesitate in going back

.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    35
    31
    77
See reviews for
30
47
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I visited the chilli buffet which I believe is part of the hotel. We had a buffet on the evening for just under 6 pounds this was excellent the quality and variety was very very good they do Chinese indian Italian and even roast beef roast pork. We had a very enjoyable meal the staff very very good and the drink was nice. We will not hesitate in going back and I would recommend that you give it a try.

Room Tip: book a table
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daysofyore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited this restaurant to find it is part of the hotel set up. It was very busy and we had been told to book a table. There is a lot of choice, starters were very good. The ? was that the majority of the "hot" dishes were only luke warm. They were being topped up with hot food not replaced with fresh food. I am no food expert but I would think that the hot food should be at a certain temperature and I would doubt that most was. One of the party had a plain ice cream which he left as it tasted odd. There is a fresh cooked section which is probably your best bet. Non of us felt 100% the following day, the food?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln_PETE7904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton On Trent
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Well I went into this establishment thinking damn where the he'll am I staying. Slated on Tripadvisor. But nevertheless had to do an precarious U turn to find it. As the exterior looks like a gym/showroom. Not the usual characteristics of a hotel.

But upon entering there decor is modern and clean. Reception/bar area spacious with a number of sofas and chairs with two tv's. With a buffet style Indian restaurant (which I don't think was open yet). They did do food via the bar. For a very modist price. Cheap meals. Decent sizes. Nothing to complain about.

We had lunch and had the training in there conference room. With a good selection of condiments and refreshments. Well stocked for our needs. Same with lunch with masses of food , hot and cold. With loads left over when we'd all finished.

Now the rooms. Looks great. Clean, smart, modern. Looks great, only criticisms with room was mattress could do with a topper on it or new one as I felt all the springs as I slept. (8 pints of the San Miguel downstairs sorts that out) curtains are a little thin. But that's a matter of taste. I for one like blackout curtains. Unsure on the 'keep calm and dream duvet' added abit of tackyness.. nice colour for room just not with the writing Mr.Hotel.Owner. Tv was small. But good quality lots of channels.

Bathroom was great tight squeeze when on the royal throne. If you got some timber you might need to adopt a different seating stance :) shower was was great. Nice and powerful. Very hot too!!

Staff equally as great as the establishment aims and loaths to be. There were delays with service on the bar when the staff were busy attending to new arrivals. Check ins etc. But overall very friendly. Right the way through the stay. All young. and great representatives to the business. Of whom I remember. China, bubbly young lass great enthusiasm. Josh, great crack good banter for doing graveyard shift!

So overall it's a consistant 4-4.5 out of 5. Just a few niggly bits to knock you down. But only minor. I stayed here two nights and I would recommend the hotel for a great budget hotel.

With competition on there door step from holiday Inn and Ramada a stone's throw away it's a matter of opinion.

I'm not hotel inspector, but just thought you required a more in-depth review than my predecessors below.. This establishment was teathing with Trademan. But not enough to detour your from staying. They were all in bed for 9 o clock.

Surrounding areas you got a Asda 30 secs away walking. Maccies, toys r us it is on a main road. But I didn't hear to much if traffic.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a night away, only to go back home as soon as possible. The room smelt as soon as we walked in which after investigating was coming from the en-suite, smelt of damp and looked like it hadn't been cleaned since hotel started running. The floor of room was also dirty and there were cob webs on ceiling and lighting as well as dirt all around the skirting. Best of it, the sheets hadn't been changed as there was also lipstick on pillowcase. We checked out quicker than we checked in!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oldbury hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed in a family room for one night on a stop over on our way to Cheshire. Never again. This has to be the worst place we have ever stayed. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned prior to our arrival and a dirty/soiled towel had been left on the rail. The glass shower door was hanging on by one roller, the pillow cases had not been changed, the doors and walls had filthy marks and the room smelled musty. The beds were hard and there was no hot water, just lukewarm. The television perched very precariously on a chest of drawers, an accident waiting to happen. It should have been wall mounted but you could see it had just been left . After complaining a cleaner was sent up to 'clean' the bathroom, all of two minutes and left the dirty towel. On the evening we complained to the manager and got him to see the room. After airing our complaints the manager said he would refund us half the cost of the room £43.00 and gave us a complimentary drink. We would have preferred a clean room and comfortable stay.We feel it should have been a full refund. There are many budget hotels with great hygiene standards but this is not one of them. Totally rubbish.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALISON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed 1 night here on a business trip. The hotel is definitely a budget hotel, but at a room rate of £44 for a double room it is perfectly adequate to rest your head.
The room was adequately (if cheaply) apportioned and contains a wall mounted flat-screen TV.
The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful.
Considering the room rate, the gym facilities were very good with many more machines than you could expect in a budget hotel gym.
Access to the M5, J2 is quick and easy.
This is not a hotel you'd want to take your family or partner but it is fine for a cheap overnight business stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoingBoing23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
4.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.5 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Property: Travellers Inn
Address: 999 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 4RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in the Birmingham area for business or leisure, guests find an ideal base at The Travellers Inn with its well-appointed accommodations and location just off Junction 2 of M5. We are within convenient distance of Wolverhampton, Dudley and Sandwell. At the hotel, our guests can enjoy complimentary use of our gym, free parking and free Wi-Fi in all areas. All our 69 rooms have power showers, LCD TV with Freeview, ironing facilities, hairdryer, and tea- and coffee-making facilities. To start off the day, you can sample the hearty full English breakfast served each morning. Our in-house Grill restaurant, which is open only in the evenings, serves an array of delectable dishes in a modern setting whilst our bar offers variety of drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. The Travellers Inn can host functions, meetings and events for up to 40 delegates at our conference room. Within a five-minute walk from the hotel, you can find a supermarket, two pubs and two restaurants. For recreation in the area, you can drive 15 minutes to watch sporting and entertainment events at Barclaycard Arena. The National SEA LIFE Centre and Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery can also be reached within 20 minutes by car. Birmingham city centre and Birmingham New Street Rail Station are only seven miles away, about 20 minutes by car, whilst The Sandwell & Dudley Station is about a mile and a half away. The Birmingham Airport is 23 miles away via motorway and 30 minutes by car from The Travellers Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Travellers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Hotel Oldbury
Travellers Inn Oldbury, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing