We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special night out with family”

The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
West Midlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Special night out with family”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My brother booked a meal for the 4 of us at the Studio ( They had been there previously for meals)
We had the set menu and it was all wonderful
The quality of the food and its presentation was a delight
Not cheap but well worth it
Would highly recommend this place but be advised to book do not turn up there on "spec" as there are limited seats so take the time to book ahead
Its also a very popular venue for christmas meals ...............

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

stayed here for a family wedding, from the outside the lodge looks impressive, in side is slightly dated very rationed on toiletries, and the bed to soft, mainly my own opinions there to be honest.

i would recommend to a friend for one or two nights stay only.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefbranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a birthday party to go to and we booked this hotel on the day that we had to drive to Birmingham. We got a good deal for 2 nights and we were really impressed with the lodge. If this lodge was located somewhere hot, it would have been perfect for a holiday. Downstairs we had the lounge, TV, shower and loo. Upstairs we had a double and single bed. The whole architecture was really nice.

We didn't eat at the restaurant as we had food at the party, but the menu looked nice.

The only thing that would have made it even better would have been kitchen facilities,

Room Tip: We chose the luxury lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Slightly confused by some of the other reviews on here as this was totally the opposite for us.

Service was very good. We were one of four groups on Friday night. The waiter was attentive but not intrusive and was always there when needed.

The house red - a merlot, was very nice and a a good complement to the meal.

The food was good. We had the mozarrella cheese with parma ham followed by duck and lamb shank. Plenty of fresh vegetables. They used to have a goats cheese starter which was exceptional. Bit disappointed it has been taken off the menu. The pavlova and cheese board for pudding were great too.

Nice place, good service, decent food.

Will I return - yes

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were disapointed in this, the best part was the end,, service dreadful, made to feel invconvienient, packed too many people in , and was uncomfortable, We thought is was expensive event though there was no wine or puddings shown on our bill, so it must have been free.Free is always ok, but it wasnt really what we wanted. Must have its faithful following though car park rammed ,hard to park, and its on the main road, we were nealry on it, its so close to the traffic!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2012

overpriced. service very poor as waitress appeared to spend more time in the kitchen rather than attending to customers. Vegetables served before main meal was ready hence quite lukewarm.
good points: excellent starter and cheese board. main course very average and not what was expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

If you want something different from the usual choice of clinical and corporate hotel chains then you should seriously consider the Studio Lodge.

The lodge we stayed in has a ground floor lounge with ensuite bathroom directly off it, with the bedroom situated on a mezzanine floor above c/w balcony overlooking the lounge. The lodge had a very homely feel and reminded me of a small cottage. A lovely layout!

The rooms are tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. Bathroom was clean, the beds very comfy, and there were tea / coffee facilities in the room. There is a sofa in the lounge which was small and just about sat two people, but comfy, and a TV which was situated in the bedroom not the lounge.

The heating in our room was off when we arrived but the issue was resolved quickly and the room soon warmed up - very toasty and cosy. The next morning the heating was off again and I noted a heating engineers van outside - perhaps there was a problem with the heating - these things happen and it seemed as though the owner was doing everything to resolve the issue quickly.

The receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, and we were booked in quickly without fuss. Depsite the hotels location near a busy road, noise was minimal, and the lodges are well insulated.

We didn't opt for brerakfast (as we don't tend to eat brekkie) but I'm advised the food there is good.

Overall for the price we paid we couldn't go wrong - the accomodation represents real value for money at £49.99 (this was room only rate) I believe breakfast was about £5 extra per head.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#82 of 117 in Birmingham
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
584 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Studio Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Studio Restaurant & Lodge

Property: The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
Address: 616 Hagley Road West, Oldbury B68 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Studio Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Studio Restaurant & Lodge Oldbury, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing