We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed for one night in the Renoir Suite at Studio Restaurant and Lodge on Saturday 18th September. The accommodation in our room/suite was comfortable and clean. There are no extra's. No toiletries for example, no biscuits on the tea/coffee tray and only just enough of that. However, if you don't find frills necessary, you won't be disappointed. We found Renoir spacious, spotlessly clean, quiet and very comfortable. Particularly the bed, which was sumptuous!

It is situated in a pleasant location, just far enough away from the city to feel away from the bustle, but not too far to be inconvenient. We took a taxi into Birmingham City Centre. It cost £8, bus services are constant from almost right outside.

You are spoiled for choice as to where to eat of course, either right on the doorstep, or in the city. We booked a table and ate at the Studio Restaurant. This gets 5 stars. Delicious food, very well served by excellent staff and served in a rare, wonderful, intimate ambience, because they don't pack you in like sardines and the lighting creates a warm glow. And we lingered after a very fine meal. Congratulations.

I don't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Each of the Lodges/Rooms/Suites at the rear of the hotel had two chairs outside. I believe this is m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    11
    8
    1
    7
See reviews for
10
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Went for a family meal in the restaurant very good food, best piece of steak I have had in a while. Food and service was very good, very polite staff and nice friendly and relaxing environment. All food was cooked to how we all requested and not one complaint from any of us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My brother booked a meal for the 4 of us at the Studio ( They had been there previously for meals)
We had the set menu and it was all wonderful
The quality of the food and its presentation was a delight
Not cheap but well worth it
Would highly recommend this place but be advised to book do not turn up there on "spec" as there are limited seats so take the time to book ahead
Its also a very popular venue for christmas meals ...............

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaytee53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

stayed here for a family wedding, from the outside the lodge looks impressive, in side is slightly dated very rationed on toiletries, and the bed to soft, mainly my own opinions there to be honest.

i would recommend to a friend for one or two nights stay only.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefbranche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a birthday party to go to and we booked this hotel on the day that we had to drive to Birmingham. We got a good deal for 2 nights and we were really impressed with the lodge. If this lodge was located somewhere hot, it would have been perfect for a holiday. Downstairs we had the lounge, TV, shower and loo. Upstairs we had a double and single bed. The whole architecture was really nice.

We didn't eat at the restaurant as we had food at the party, but the menu looked nice.

The only thing that would have made it even better would have been kitchen facilities,

Room Tip: We chose the luxury lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Slightly confused by some of the other reviews on here as this was totally the opposite for us.

Service was very good. We were one of four groups on Friday night. The waiter was attentive but not intrusive and was always there when needed.

The house red - a merlot, was very nice and a a good complement to the meal.

The food was good. We had the mozarrella cheese with parma ham followed by duck and lamb shank. Plenty of fresh vegetables. They used to have a goats cheese starter which was exceptional. Bit disappointed it has been taken off the menu. The pavlova and cheese board for pudding were great too.

Nice place, good service, decent food.

Will I return - yes

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vopinionated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbury
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were disapointed in this, the best part was the end,, service dreadful, made to feel invconvienient, packed too many people in , and was uncomfortable, We thought is was expensive event though there was no wine or puddings shown on our bill, so it must have been free.Free is always ok, but it wasnt really what we wanted. Must have its faithful following though car park rammed ,hard to park, and its on the main road, we were nealry on it, its so close to the traffic!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duncan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
382 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
595 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Studio Restaurant & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Studio Restaurant & Lodge

Property: The Studio Restaurant & Lodge
Address: 616 Hagley Road West, Oldbury, Sandwell B68 0BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Studio Restaurant & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Studio Restaurant & Lodge Oldbury, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing