We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birmingham Best Inn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Extremely well priced hotel close to City Centre. Clean room without being particularly homely, I left a pullover there and when I returned later in the week the staff were very friendly and helpful . It was still there.

Room Tip: 455 wa ours. My daughter was not too impressed with hers though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

The pictures say it all! Booked this for a colleague and couldn't believe my eyes, staff unhelpful and rude, rooms.... I wouldn't let a scabby dog sleep there! Shameful no one thing good to say about the place only that it's nothing a demolition ball wouldn't so wonders for!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lettie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Like a few others who written reviews here, I booked in a hurry without checking the previous reviews. Having seen the photos, I think I got off lightly.
Access to the room was through the attached Indian restaurant and along a maze of corridors. I passed the entrance to the kitchen, where the carpet carries a grease trail back to the restaurant. The room was interesting. Only one light worked (a standard lamp). The kettle didn't work. The TV/VCR combo worked but could not provide a stable picture. The wardrobe was missing its mirror. The chest of drawers was broken. There was a bookshelf with a selection of books that a charity shop would reject. The bathroom had a stained and wet carpet and a cracked sink. I am hoping the wet carpet was caused by the shower, which squirted water in several directions. Fortunately the sheets appeared to be clean. The only way I was prepared to sit on the threadbare and filthy chair was to put one of the pillows on it.
On the plus side? Free wi-fi!

Room Tip: Book a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller1984xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Got back home today. Stayed here last night. I stayed in this hotel a few years ago with My Partner and it was lovely. Attending a family Party, so booked in for one night on line.
OMG! WHAT A MISTAKE! On arrival I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist (who I found out this morning was the Manager). The Reception area is clean and tidy and what you would expect for a 'budget hotel'. I should have guessed all was not well, as just after I had booked in, a couple came to reception complaining. They had seen 3 rooms and refused to stay. They were complaining as they could not get their money back (I am too polite to quote what the lady said about this hotel). I went to my room (488) and I was 'shocked'. The only light in the room was a standard lamp. The carpets had so many stains on. There was a Television/VIDEO player just like I had 25 years ago - No TV! A fan had no front on and no buttons to turn on. The curtains were hanging off the rail. In the bathroom, the walls were damp and the shower head was stuck on with RED TAPE! The Bed had CLEAN white cotton sheets on (I looked at the mattress and it was like new). I thought I could get ready, go to my family party, come back and sleep and leave!
The water was hot for the shower (Good). but no water in the cold tap to clean teeth! When I came back in the early hours, the bathroom carpet was really wet. I went to reception and was told 'The Manager wants to see you in the morning as you left the tap on for 4 hours'. I had pictures on my phone of the room, and after he saw them, I was offered another rom (409). this room was ok. however, I was upset by my experience, I did not have a good sleep. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS PLACE! DO NO STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I saw 5 rooms - all awful. I have pictures I will add soon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Pussfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I wish I had checked out the reviews before I booked this as I would never have stayed there, the first room I was given had a mattress that was more uncomfortable than a bed of nails and the second was like a concrete slab, if you want a depressing hotel then this is the place for you, in my option it needs nuking and start from scratch, warning avoid !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my partner stopped here last week. Noing it was a budget hotel I didn't expect much but this place was like a sqat. Mould, damp, dirt, paper falling of the walls, sockets hanging off.
Ive never seen anything like it before.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brummie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

THIS HOTEL IS VILE...

Why oh why didn't I check Tripadvisor before I booked.... because it was just for 2 nights and it is in the UK so it can't be that bad...lesson learnt!!

We booked 2 rooms for 4 people for 2 nights. My daughter is an athlete and was competing at the British Championships at Alexander Stadium, as we travel all over the country we try and go budget, never before has budget meant FILTH. We arrived late as we'd travelled up from Essex via London to pick up my daughters fiancé from work. We were all laughing when we pulled up outside saying this will be an experience etc, when we went in we still found it funny because it was very dark and old fashioned. The man on reception was very polite and checked us in. Straight away my daughters room had to be changed because the lights didn't work. We dropped our bags and went out to find some dinner. When we came back the full horror of what we'd booked into hit us. By now it was too late to find another hotel so we had to stay there. However none of us slept! I have posed photos!

Racist and filthy graffiti on the bedroom walls including graphic drawings
Peeling wallpaper through damp
Holes in the walls and doors
Second door to our room was open when we got back from the restaurant
Bathroom was downstairs with no light working in our room so very dangerous
Hole in our bath
Dubious stains on the carpet floors
One light flickering on and off so had to be turned off
No window in our room so no air or natural light
Floorboards had the loudest squeaks I've ever heard
Stained bed linen
Smoke detector covered up where previous guests had smoked in the room
Absolutely stunk and not just of stale smoke
Ceiling leaking in the hall outside our rooms with a flooded floor

We didn't sleep all night and I was on the internet on my phone looking for another hotel for the next day. I checked us out first thing in the morning and told them I wanted a full refund, I showed the gentleman on reception the photographs I had on my phone. He was still very polite and offered us alternative rooms. At this point I thought I would collapse with laughter.....as if we'd want to stay there whatever room!!! However, he couldn't give me a refund, I had to email the head office which I will be doing later today although having read other reviews on here people have had no response. I wont hold my breath.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Lorraine2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
243 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Best Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Best Inn Hotel

Address: 16-26 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B68 0LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range: £25 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birmingham Best Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at the Birmingham Best Inn Hotel and Restaurant, conveniently located less than 10 minutes from Birmingham city centre, 8 miles from Birmingham City Football Club, Airport & NEC exhibition centre! Its central location makes it an ideal venue for conferences, weddings or other celebrations or as a base to explore the local area. We pride ourselves on a reputation in the Birmingham for exceptional service, fantastic dining and an all encompassing, unique hotel experience. The splendid décor really makes the Birmingham Best Inn special. Behind the entrance, you’ll find a labyrinth of intimate alcoves and meandering corridors intertwined with contemporary monochrome, rich colours and characteristic features. You will find a large flat screen TV, snack menu and champagne, and a custom built veranda in our Bar.*10 minutes to Birmingham City Centre*8 miles to Birmingham City Football Club*8 miles to Birmingham International Airport*8 miles to NEC exhibition centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Birmingham Best Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Best Hotel Oldbury
Birmingham Best Inn Hotel Oldbury, West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing