We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & Efficient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant & Efficient”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to break up our journey to cardiff and had a pleasant stay.
After a four & a half hour drive it was good to be able to find the place with no problem at all and have the car parked promptly.
It was even better when I walked in the door and was handed a cold pint of lager straight away.
I thought my wife and her mother were at the check in desk but they were actually at the bar. And I had only dropped them at the door 2 minutes beforehand so it was safe to say the check in process was very swift.
The staff we encountered were friendly & helpful, the room was clean & functional and the breakfast in the morning hit the spot.
If I'm heading this way in the future I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOldbury, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for kindly leaving a very positive and kind review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage. I am very pleased that all aspects of your stay met your expectations and all staff you encountered were polite and friendly.

The guest is always at the heart of our business and for a review to be so positive has brought a smile to all the Teams faces. We aim to go above and beyond the call of duty with all guests as we treat those how we would like to be.
I was particularly pleased how quick and efficient our service was upon checking in to the hotel, and that you enjoyed your pint after a particular long journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Adam Gayden
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    226
    88
    23
    10
See reviews for
156
121
44
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BURY ST EDMUNDS
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The hotel is easy to find off the main roundabout in Oldbury and gives the impression of being well run. It is a pity that one cannot get a discounted booking directly from the hotel- by going to an agent our bill was reduced by £10 per night. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and in spite of the traffic outside, surprisingly quiet. Breakfast included was a bit synthetic (I think the scrambled egg came out of an oil well) but adequate for the overall price. Everything worked. The staff were friendly and we will go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FREDERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly let me kindly thank you for leaving a review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage, we are always pleased to hear from guests with regards to their stay and overall experience at the hotel. Reviews positive or negative allow us to improve as a business and always put the guest at the heart of our hotel.

It was nice to see that the staff were polite and friendly during your visit, we believe in putting the guest first and would always want their stay to mirror our own expectations for Holiday Inn Express.

On your next visit If you could kindly call the hotel directly, I would be glad to offer you a very competitive rate. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Adam Gayden
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room with TV and wi fi. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Great location for visiting Birmingham and when travelling between the North West of England/Scotland and the West Country or the area to the Wrst of London. Stayed here before and would be first choice again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank farrell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOldbury, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful, also that your room was comfortable and clean which i will pass on to housekeeping your kind comments.
We will look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Regards

Kirsti Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The evening food is very poor I expect they only have a microwave, the rooms themselves are ok but the beds are awful which is made worse by the noise of the road outside which both lead to a terrible nights sleep. I would strongly recommend considering another hotel before booking this one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 89Clarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear 89Clarks,

Firstly let me thank you for taking time out to leave feedback on trip advisor, we take all positive and negative feedback on board and use it as a way to improve. I do apologise that you found our bed’s uncomfortable I will pass this information on to housekeeping and I will get them to investigate, I would like to invite you back myself and I would hope that you could give us another chance to let us restore your faith in us. If I could ask you to contact myself personally on 0121 5110000

Kind Regards

Amy Newell – Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, hotel lovely, staff friendly and helpful. One thing is it was far too hot in the reception/ bar area. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, tea and coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfergirl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerOldbury, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that our staff was lovely and that you thought the hotel was lovely. I send my apologies that you felt too hot in the bar/reception area, if we knew we could of sorted the air conditioning for you so you felt more comfortable. Glad you found our rooms spacious and comfortable and i will pass your comments on to our housekeeping team.

Look forward to seeing you in the future

Regards

Kirsti Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my mum & two children whilst visiting Cadbury World which is only about 20 minutes away.

Very friendly & helpful reception / bar staff

Clean & well maintained hotel

Not the biggest room in the world with a sofa bed made up on arrival
but very clean & had everything we needed

Good quality breakfast, stocked up regularly inc scrambled eggs, sausage & beans

Highly recommended hotel

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mariem0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MarieM0407

I would like to start by thanking you from all of us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

As a team, we strive together to put your experience with us at the heart of everything we do, hopefully portrayed through our high standard of customer service. At our particular branch, our rooms are all the same size however perhaps in the future we could offer you the facility of interconnecting rooms.Furthermore, we are very happy both our rooms and free breakfast were to your standards and can assure you your comments will be passed on to our housekeeping and kitchen team.

Thank you once again MarieM0407, for staying with us and we look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Kind Regards
Chloe Taylor
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Not much to say really. On average I'd give it 3.5 out of 5.

Room comfortable albeit I had a twin room (my own fault for booking late!).

Location is good - right next to M5 for travellers and not too noisy. There seems to be a lot of boy-racers around at night which did slightly irritate me but you cant blame the hotel for that!

Breakfast was buffet style and ok. Typically the toaster was set to either sub-zero or nuclear but everything else was fresh with a medium sized selection

Check-in/check-out staff were nice and friendly/efficient

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyPebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear MonkeyPebs

Thank you from The Holiday Inn Express team for your feedback on Tripadvisor.
First of all, we are very appreciative for your comments regarding our comfortable rooms, and hope the twin room was efficient enough for your stay as we unfortunately couldn't offer you a double room. We do have triple glazed windows and apologise sincerely for the boy racers who still affected your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind statements regarding the freshness of our breakfast, with regards to our toaster, we would have been happy to help you adjust the setting to your preference.
We hope to see you again soon, where we will once again try our upmost to guarantee a perfect stay.

Kind Regards
Chloe Taylor
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
4.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
224 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Address: Birmingham Oldbury M5 J2 | Birchley Park, Oldbury B69 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location just off the M5 at the welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury hotel. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury is a modern, 4-story hotel just off junction 2 of the M5 with plenty of complimentary onsite parking. Guests can enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast in the sociable Great Room. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and our Barnum meeting room has capacity for up to 25 delegates. Our helpful staff can arrange catering for your event and our self-service Business Centre is open 24 hours. We're a short drive from the offices of nPower, British Gas and the AA, and 30 minutes from major exhibitions and conferences at Birmingham NEC. You can reach the bustling heart of Birmingham by car from the hotel in just 15 minutes. Enjoy a glamorous shopping experience at the boutique-filled Bullring in the city centre, and let the kids get close to wildlife at the West Midland Safari Park, 16 miles from the hotel. Our modern bedrooms have recently been refurbished and provide guests with a comfortable base for exploring Birmingham from. Check out our new stylish décor, we've added irons, ironing boards and better hairdryers to each room. All of our rooms have en-suite shower rooms and 32-inch TVs. Family rooms for 4 people make us a good-value choice, with kids under 18 staying free! Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury offers a tempting menu of delicious dining options including fish and chips, nachos and spicy curries. Socialise till late over drinks in our contemporary bar, furnished with inviting leather armchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury m5 Jct.2 Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing