We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel at bargain price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel at bargain price”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here while visiting cadbury world, situated in an ideal place and is so clean and welcoming. The staff were very helpful and so friendly from our arrival until we departed. The hotel was modern, clean and the rooms were basic but had everything we needed. The free breakfast was basic but while a large choice and there was plenty of it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not hesitate to book again if I was staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Firstly may I take this opportunity to thank you for leaving such a positive review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage, it is so nice to hear back from our guests especially when the critique paints the hotel in such a good light.
As a base for visiting Birmingham we are ideally situated away from the hustle and bustle of the city and within easy reach of many tourist attractions.
All the staff were very pleased with your kind comments in particular the housekeeping department who take great pride in their rooms.
Breakfast we believe to be the most important meal of the day, and what better way to start than with a plentiful free choice of several favourites from our buffet bar.
Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your great review of the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards
Adam Gayden
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    228
    88
    23
    10
See reviews for
159
123
45
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently stayed at this holiday on a business trip for its location, unfortunately that was probably the best thing about this hotel. Rooms are old, dated and not very clean. Reception or lounge area can be best described as depressing. Bar / restaurant food is some of the worst I have ever had the displeasure of eating, I am used to bar food, hotel food on business trips but this was just terrible and even though I was starving after travelling all day I could not eat this. Only positives of this hotel were 2 of the staff members who were friendly and helpful. Nothing of note around this hotel, a petrol station and a bad pub, avoid if possible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWhite1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,


Firstly please allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for leaving a review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage, we appreciate all feedback positive or negative as this allows the hotel to grow and improve as a business and a pleasurable place for our guests to stay.
All staff are very proud of the hotel we work in and believe we offer a competitive and excellent package in both our bedrooms and food and beverage areas.
On this occasion it seems we have failed to live up to your expectations and deliver our hospitality promise. I firmly believe if given the chance we can improve your view of our hotel. If you could kindly contact the hotel directly on 0121-511-0000 and speak to myself I will gladly arrange a complimentary stay on my behalf.


Kind Regards
Adam Gayden
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My Family and I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Oldbury and I can say hand on heart its the best hotel that we have stayed in when staying in the Birmingham area.
Everything you expect from a hotel and more!...Pleasant, Helpful staff...Superb Breakfast, FREE Wifi in rooms!!!....the list is endless!
And the Icing on the cake, its better than The Hyatt and Hilton, two places we have stayed at in Birmingham.
Thanks Again for a Perfect stay!
The Kirk Family!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank brainstorm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for kindly leaving such a positive review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage, to hear back from our guests makes what we do at the hotel so rewarding, especially when we can make an everlasting impression on guests such as yourselves.

All staff pride themselves on excellent customer service and we are all very family orientated, we believe in treating our guests with 100% commitment and exactly the same way in which our own families would be.

Not only have we introduced free Wifi but now offer Free Breakfast to all guests. What better way to start your day!!

Once again, on behalf of myself and all staff thank you for such a kind review of our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Adam Gayden
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A good three star hotel. The hotel is situated just off junction 2 of the M5 so it is ideal for travelling around the area. The rooms are comfortable and the hotel offers free WiFi throughout the hotel. The meals are quite good quality and quite tasty at a reasonable price. The breakfast selection is adequate with a number of things on offer, either a continental selection or sausage and scrambled egg. Free car parking is available at the hotel. Good for a short stay or flying visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaza1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for kindly leaving a review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage, we love to hear back from guests and how there stay has been. Feedback of all kinds allows the hotel to grow as a business and put the guest at the very heart of it.
The staff were all pleased with the comments and the kitchen in particular, we pride ourselves on excellent customer service and are proud to offer free Breakfast for all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, and once again thank you for kindly reviewing our hotel.

Many Thanks

Adam Gayden
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived here earlier than check-in but this was no problem for the staff as they allocated us a room. The room itself was lovely and spacious, we had a great nights sleep and enjoyed a tasty commentary breakfast.
Location wise, you can't fault it as it's right on the M5, close to the M6 and close to Birmingham.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank swiss_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly let me thank you for kindly leaving such a glowing review of the hotel on our TripAdvisor webpage. We love to hear back from our guests wether the review be of a positive or negative nature as we strive for hospitality excellence.
Our Housekeeping team are quick and efficient enough to allow us to get guests in earlier than sometimes expected with the guaranteed check in time. They have been passed your comments and were all really pleased that the room was clean and comfortable enough for you during your stay.
The staff pride themselves on excellent customer service and our ethos is to treat our guests how we would like to be treated. The customer, after all is at the very heart of our business. With ideal links to the motorway network and within easy reach of Birmingham, the hotel is ideally situated and convenient enough for our guests to find there way around the area.
Once again I thank you for leaving such a great review for the hotel to be very proud of. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Adam Gayden
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The hotel's location is perfect as you have gasoline station, pubs and restaurants, supermarket around and easy access to the motorway.
The staff are friendly with special mention to the reception staff AMY. She was very helpful when I mentioned about my problem with my IHG rewards. She sorted it out on the day of our arrival so I didn't have to contact the IHG rewards customer care again. I contacted the customer service previously but were unable to do anything with my concern until after my stay in the hotel. This could have cost me money contacting them on the phone and the time hassle of doing it.Amy was very knowledgable with our queries i.e. Parking details to NEC, restaurants nearby etc.
The room as usual is very clean and comfortable with very firm beds and comfortable pillows. The family room size though is not as big as the ones we have used from other holiday in express but this was not a problem. The size of the flat screen TV is good and the best we love was the FREE WIFI access up to two gadgets for IHG members! This is a plus when you have kids to keep them entertained!
The breakfast selection was just right for family with kids.
Overall, our stay was great, which I have always expected from holiday inn chains of hotels
Well done to the staff!
We will be booking our stay again in September when my son competes again in NEC for the Brazilian jujitsu!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennette Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kennette Marie L,

Firstly I would like to personally thank you for taking your time out to write a review about our hotel, we are very glad that you enjoyed it!

Our hotel is at a great location for pubs, the motorway and it's also a great help having a Asda supermarket so close to us too. The comments you have made about our staff are overwhelming and I will be sure to pass you're kind words on to Amy as she was so helpful during your stay, which is what all our staff strive to be like at all times.

Our housekeeping staff work very hard to keep our rooms clean and presentable for all guests, so I am very happy that you were pleased with your room.

Overall, I am very happy that all our services from the hotel and staff fitted your expectations and we all hope to see you and your family in the near future.

Kind Regards

Abbie Collins
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

A family visit that went well. The Staff searched for transport to accomodate the large numbers in our party and we were really looked after. Rooms really nice and comfortable. Would recommend without question. I like this brand though, because you know what you are getting at the end of the day..A clean comfortbale room, dining facities on site or very close by and attentive staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therobster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Therobster999,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury. We as a team always do our best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and it's nice to hear that you were looked after and found the rooms nice and comfortable. We value all feed back from our guests and i shall pass on your kind words to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

Susan Parsons |Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
4.0 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
2.4 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
7.5 mi away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#7 of 21 in Wolverhampton
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Address: Birmingham Oldbury M5 J2 | Birchley Park, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location just off the M5 at the welcoming Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury hotel. Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury is a modern, 4-story hotel just off junction 2 of the M5 with plenty of complimentary onsite parking. Guests can enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast in the sociable Great Room. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and our Barnum meeting room has capacity for up to 25 delegates. Our helpful staff can arrange catering for your event and our self-service Business Centre is open 24 hours. We're a short drive from the offices of nPower, British Gas and the AA, and 30 minutes from major exhibitions and conferences at Birmingham NEC. You can reach the bustling heart of Birmingham by car from the hotel in just 15 minutes. Enjoy a glamorous shopping experience at the boutique-filled Bullring in the city centre, and let the kids get close to wildlife at the West Midland Safari Park, 16 miles from the hotel. Our modern bedrooms have recently been refurbished and provide guests with a comfortable base for exploring Birmingham from. Check out our new stylish décor, we've added irons, ironing boards and better hairdryers to each room. All of our rooms have en-suite shower rooms and 32-inch TVs. Family rooms for 4 people make us a good-value choice, with kids under 18 staying free! Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury offers a tempting menu of delicious dining options including fish and chips, nachos and spicy curries. Socialise till late over drinks in our contemporary bar, furnished with inviting leather armchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury m5 Jct.2 Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing