We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't fault this lovely hotel”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for one night for a wedding close by and I have to say I was glad I did!

The staff are all exceptionally helpful and when you have kids in tow it means a lot. When my youngest accidently spilt his drink over the duvet a new fresh one was brought up with no questions or issues.

The hotel it self feels very homely and smelled wonderful of fresh linen very cosy indeed. Just right to come back to after a busy day and the staff even remembered and politley asked how it went and you could see that this was not typical talk and gives the stay a more personal feel.

Even better was being able to walk up the road to the local KFC for tea and then coming back to the quiet hotel was bliss.

The only complaint was that we was only staying the one night! Would gladly stay here again and for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fluff69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    32
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
43
24
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Id just like to say thank you for the homely atmosphere I received while staying at your hotel I recently stayed at holiday inn express and was treated nothing like I was here highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrDP1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here recently while in Birmingham on business and didn't want to stay in a noisy town centre. This hotel did not disappoint as it is a smaller Travelodge it is a lot quieter then city centre hotels. It is also in a nice location, set back away from the main road so very little traffic noise, also quiet handy having a garage just in front if you need to fill up before leaving. Hotel is a short drive away from the motorway and still fairly close to both Birmingham and Wolverhampton.

The staff here are all particularly friendly and helpful and the manager (Sarah I think) was very knowledgeable of the local area and what was around, especially because I was hungry! But all the staff here were friendly, sadly can't remember all their names.

The rooms had been refurbished and the beds were very comfy and clean, usually when staying in hotels I find that the room can be a bit unwelcoming so I end up spending time in the bar/cafe etc. but here I was more then happy to work at the table with the TV on.

My only downfall would be that there is no bar or cafe, however the hotel offer breakfast boxes which are decent and there is a couple of pubs/restaurants near by.

On the whole this particular Travelodge was nice, clean, quiet with great staff. To me this the main points which a hotel needs to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

the rooms are adequate for adults but not at all family friendly the tv only shows a few channels not full freeview so there are no kids channels and you cannot use dvds or gameconsole threw scart bad




  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback Ian R. We can confirm that all of our hotels are considered family friendly and while we hope to provide freeview in all of our hotels sometimes this is not possible. We can confirm that we do not allow our guests to use a DVD player or games console due to the item not being PAT tested for the safety of our guests. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

On arriving I was greated by a friendly member of staff,
the room was clean and fresh, with crisp white laundry.
The bed was really comfortable.
Just a short distance to walk there is the Lakeside Pub, which food is at a reasonable price, or if you dont fancy that then there is a KFC. If you are driving then Dudley zoo and castle is not far.
This location is easy to get too with the motorway not far away.
I had a relaxing, quite and peacfull stay. and would reccomend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This establishment is on the Wolverhampton Road so you would think it would be easy to find. Not so. I arrived in the evening, in the dark, and drove up and down the road a few times before I finally spotted a non-illuminated Travelodge sign next to a BP filling station. You drive through the filling station to get to the hotel.
At one time there was a Little Chef on the corner but since that closed down everything is dark and looks closed, and the Travelodge is not obvious.
Once inside I was greeted warmly by the receptionist and handed my room key. The first floor room was clean and comfortable, although cold until I activated the wall mounted electric heater.
My night was reasonable, just disturbed by banging doors downstairs, presumably from other residents.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjpvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

in every way this hotel is fantastic... great clean new rooms.. new supebly comfortable beds. fantastic staff that really are customer focused.. definitely will return. well done travelodge great place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Manda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Breierley Hill
98 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
Address: Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury Hotel Oldbury
Travelodge Oldbury
Travel Lodge Oldbury
Oldbury Travel Lodge
Oldbury Travelodge
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing