We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

After spending 3 nights at another hotel chain, we received a lovely welcome whilst checking in at the Premier Inn at Oldbury.
You could certainly notice the difference immediately with the quality of furnishings and decor. The room was clean and spotless. It had a large flat screen TV. The only negative point would be that there was no bedside table at one side of the bed. It would of been nice to have one either side.
Having a family room of 2ad/2ch all the beds were made for our arrival with towels supplied for the four of us.
The hotel is set back from a busy road next to a lake which made our stay very peaceful. There was no noise during the night from the corridors or next door which is always an added bonus.
The usual all you can eat breakfast is also availailble at an additional cost from the Lakeside restaurant next door. Children eat free with each paying adult. This I believe will become a Brewers Fayre from September, 2012.
There is also a KFC across the way which is handy especially if you have children. We used a local fish & chip shop called the 'Codfather'. I cannot recommend this enough and for fish & chips twice with 2 portion of chips and large sausage came to well under £10.00. Ask at reception who will give you directions.
On our way back from Alton Towers, this was an ideal location to stay whilst visiting Cadbury World (7 miles away), where it took us 20 minutes to reach during midweek peak times. We also visited the Sea Life Centre in Birminham which again took around 20 minutes.
From checking in at Reception to the staff at the Lakeside your knowledge and assistance was very much appreciated.
I would without doubt stay at the Premier Inn at Oldbury again. Thank you for providing us with some excellent accommodation and food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    107
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
119
73
18
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel with my family, we had 2 rooms, a family room and a double room. The rooms have been recently refurbished the accomodation was clean and comfortable. Service from the staff at this Premier Inn was faultless and I can think of a few larger 5* hotels where the staff would benefit from a few lessons from the staff here.

Hotel staff were polite and curteous, we were always warmly greeted whether coming or going and on one late night the gentleman behind the desk recogized us and helped us with the door as we carried our very tired 9 year old to bed! Whatever our request, be it for extra towels or and iron and ironing board, the items were produced straight away and always with a smile.

We stayed here from Friday 17th August to Monday 20th August 2012 and I have booked again for bank holiday Monday as we have another family celebration!

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, both of our rooms were here and they were lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Convenient place..slightly outside of the Motorway network, so very calm and quiet..but easy reach back to Motorway network.
Good bar/restaurent next door and also a fab KFC outlet in the same compound for those who want fast food. Nice TV, ample and elegant bedding for kids and Nice big screen LCD TV.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Binoy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Premier Inn room was adequate - possibly in need of a little care and attention. Pillows and Bedding quality in room we stayed in was quite poor. Took nearly 20 minutes to check in as the young girl on the desk didn't seem to know what she was doing! When we went to the room to drop our bags off the cleaning staff were still in there!!

Had evening meal at Table Table next door. Was sat at a table, then waited 20 minutes before we recieved any menu's or asked if we wanted a drink! (We went to the bar ourselves so wasn't fussed at the time but bad service nonetheless!)

Went down for breakfast in the morning (which we hadn't pre-booked). We had to queue for 'everything'. Queue for the ceareal to be re-stocked, queue then for more milk, queue as items for hot breakfast came out one by one (eggs starter, bacon main, sausage dessert!!! ;-))
Staff running around all over tables all full of plates, couldn't get attention of any staff to pay for our breakfast so we walked out!

Only paid £29 for room which makes this hotel 'Average' as you cant grumble with the price! If i'd have paid full amount for this hotel and experienced what we did, I would have been furious!

Would only recommend on cheap rates, if only used as a stop gap and if you keep your expectations low!

Room Tip: Allow plenty to time to check in as the staff aren't too sharp!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_angela79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights (family weekend) and found the standards to be very good. However there was a problem with the room temperature....it was far too hot and therefore uncomfortable.There didn't seem to be any way of regulating the temperature and staff response was that it is always like that !!!!!!. A malfunctioning sink plug was a minor inconvenience. The staff were really nice...friendly, careing and professional.The bedroom was small for a family of four....not the normal size of a family room and therefore was somewhat of a squeeze. Overall the bedroom furniture and equipment were acceptable.The pub next door (Table Table) provided a very good breakfast both for children and adults....staff were very helpful and friendly. (the pub is changing to a Brewers Fayre later this year....in my opinion not as good as Table Table).
An enjoyable stay representing good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to be able to open the window properly and also avoid noise from people abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Although I searched for and booked a 'universally accessible' room, the bathroom turned out to be a complete disaster. It was impossible for any disabled wheelchair user to access as instead of a wet room there was a bath! There had been absolutely no mention of this beforehand and I was completely taken by surprise. This left me feeling uncomfortable and not properly washed all weekend. I wouldn't recommend this to other disabled people.

Room Tip: Please phone to make sure this room will be suitable for your needs before you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahFaeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Steven Hicks, Social Media at Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel.

At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with everything they need to have a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion we have failed to do this. Most of our Premier Inn sites are equipped with full disabled facilities, including wet-rooms, though some older sites are still in need of updating. We do however state on our website if we have full disabled facilities, and would advise customers to contact the hotel to check availability.

Once again thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Very comfy beds, very clean, good value for money, and friendly staff. Excellent location. We were allowed to check in early. Very handy for the pub. Good quality bed linen and pillows. Breakfast and dinner good at the pub. (:

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSnitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
1.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Central Hotel
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
Address: Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury B69 2BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oldbury is the perfect place to explore the jewels of the Midlands like the Black Country Living Museum or Dudley Castle Zoo. But the hotel's immediate surroundings are a must too, with a quiet fishing lake right next door. See how our ancestors lived at the Black Country Museum, or how chocolate is made at Cadbury World. Attend a convention at Bethnal, or a match at West Brom. Our friendly team will help you enjoy your stay to the full. Spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds ensure you wake up refreshed and ready for another day on the go. Directions: From M5(J2), take A4123 to Wolverhampton. Hotel is situated 0.75 Mile on the left. Near Dudley. Next to the Lakeside Brewers Fayre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (m5, Jct2) Hotel Oldbury
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel West Midlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing