We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in room 6, very large bed for the size of the room, wasn't any space for a bedside cabinet so nowhere to put my phone which i use as my alarm for the morning. Needs a new mattress or a mattress topper at the very least, as you can feel the springs in your back, there is literally a piece of fabric over the top of the springs, no padding at all. Also the pillows are all lumpy, considering you can buy pillows (which are very comfy) in M&S for £3 a go, no excuse for old lumpy pillows nowadays.
Bathroom was adequate but very dated, also found 2 hairs in the shower. Furniture again, very dated.
I wasn't expecting a 5* hotel but I also wasn't expecting to have springs digging in my back all night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    33
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
34
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

stayed in double room, overall it was ok, the room had large zip/link bed, had most facilities, missing a chair/stool but got one from reception, main issue was cleanliness, cleaners obviously skip round and miss basics,pictures can be sent highlighting issues if required.
however, restaurant looked excellent, not the cheapest but choice and ambience looked very appealing.
will go again and hopefully get a cleaner room, and not on front as generators outside of window kept us awake.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevdor52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Booked a triple room only to be told on arrival only a double was available. Room 2. What a joke! Double!?!? Hardly. Two single beds rammed in the room with a double sheet and quilt covering them....leaving that awful uncomfortable ridge/dip down the middle. Unable to walk round the bed as it is almost up against the wall. As you walk past the end of the bed you hit your head on the smallest of TV's hanging on the wall as the bed is so close to the wall. Only a single wardrobe ( cant fit a double in!) No rubbish bin in room (cant fit one in!) Unable to open shower room door fully as it hits the bed! No shelf in shower room for toiletries.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed 1 night whilst in business trip. The room was quite small but clean, price incredibly low, good italian restaurant (I had tagliatelle mari e monti: huge portion and very good). Friendly staff. Breakfast could be better, it's only continental. In summary, recommended for short staying.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

H5H - If I remember correctly, this is what it is signposted as.

The hotel was well above our expectations. For its location (when you find it), you wouldn't think it has a lot to offer. Rooms were compact but accommodating. Everything that you need was available. Clean and quiet.

Restaurant down stairs is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CashMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

It was late at night and we trawled up and down Seager/Seagar Street for half an hour asking locals if they knew where The Hare & Five Hounds was. We were getting scared & thought we'd have to give up & go to a Premier Inn despite our booking at The Hare & Five Hounds. We sat outside a building that looked a lot like the photo I had seen of it on booking.com but this was a restaurant entitled 'Bellagio's'. There were no lights on. Above Bellagio's we could make out a sign with 'HH' on it & wondered whether this could somehow be an abbreviation of The Hare & Five Hounds, but as there was no 5 visible and no lights on anywhere, we abandoned that thought.
We were panicking somewhat that the place had perhaps closed down between taking our booking and our arrival. Nobody had answered our call when we had been trying to call for over an hour. It just rang and rang. No answerphone message giving an alternative out of hours number.
Finally, having gone into a nearby pub to ask, we were told that The Hare & Five Hounds was indeed around the back of Bellagio's! Relief! It was still quite a worry though that it seemed all shut up, no lights, and nothing apparent to direct you to the hotel entrance.
On the plus side, the hotel staff were lovely, the room was very clean, nicely decorated and breakfast reasonable.
We had been promised a twin when we called two days previously but got a double. My mattress was slanting somewhat. The coffee served at breakfast was disappointingly 'instant' despite a coffee machine sitting on the bar.
Something needs to be done to make it easier for guests to know they have arrived at their destination...like a sign SOMEWHERE saying The Hare & Five Hounds!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbleS99909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, our room was lovely (and clean) considering we only paid £29 for the night!!! There is a lovely restaurant downstairs with high quality food, definatley recommend trying it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Patty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bromwich
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
Premier Inn West Bromwich Hotel
#1 of 3 in West Bromwich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
1.9 mi away
Great Barr Hotel
Great Barr Hotel
#89 of 118 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel

Property: The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel
Address: 58-60 Seagar Street, West Bromwich B71 4AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > West Bromwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Bromwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hare & Five Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing