We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain day out! ”

Sandwell Valley Country Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham
1 review
“Bargain day out! ”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I took my sister and 4yr old nephew here yesterday. It cost £2 per adult and £1.50 per child to enter the farm area, which was lovely. There aren't many animals and it is not on a interactive basis but it was great to see the lovely, well looked after animals. There were so many little piglets and tiny chicks which we all wanted to take home with us! The kitchen garden is beautiful and well manicured! There is an adventure park that my nephew adored and I think he would have been happy just to stay on there all day! There is also a fab little woodland walk with musical instruments hidden along the walk. It doesn't cost a penny to use the park or the woodland walks. Which would be a great day for the kids without visiting the farm. The only down side is that there wasn't much to do indoors so it really is a place to visit on a sunny dry day. I'm sure there is a lot more to see so we will definitely be back

Helpful?
Thank Likedreamersdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    122
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dipolog, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful free open space, right in the middle of Birmingham!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I love this place! Winter or Summer it's always open & accessible for everyone, just a mile off the main A41 highway just before the WBA football ground. Long rural walks are easily possible especially if you cross the M5 motorway bridge... On warm summer days (well if you're lucky!) swim in the lake too - just ignore the 'No Swimming' signs like everyone else!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marcianaspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great day out for the whole family”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

My family visited Sandwell Valley Open Day & had brilliant day.. It's only about 15 minute drive from our home, so it's perfect for a 'get away for a few hours'.
There was lots to do (including animal petting, face painting, children's play area, etc) & the sun was shining that made the day even more a pleasure..
We will certainly go back during the school summer holidays - maybe even find a nice area by the lake for a family picnic..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good family day out”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have been here many times and never disappointed. Two big playgrounds with a variety of equipment for kids of all ages. Playgrounds are well maintained. Haven't tried the high ropes adventure yet but planning to book this on-line before next visit.
Toilets are kept clean which is rare!
Lots of areas in the park to walk and explore but haven't tried them all yet.
Plenty of ice-cream vans and refreshment areas but would like to see a few more benches or picnic tables.
The farm is another option at a small charge but worth a visit particularly for young kids with some lovely animals to see. The teashop is worth a visit too, not too pricey.
Sometimes there is the added option of a small fair and a small double decker bus which takes you on a trip.
So much to do and I havent done it all yet, despite many visits! A fun day out, well worth a visit if you haven't been.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tibbyhatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The park is lovely, but Forge Mill Farm was a big disappointment! More of a gift shop than a farm shop, with over priced merchandise. Hardly any animals to be seen either. Fortunately it was a lovely day so we made good use of the park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandwell Valley Country Park also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
Walsall, West Midlands
 

Been to Sandwell Valley Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing