We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What' s gone wrong” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvester

Harvester
Ranked #57 of 89 Restaurants in West Bromwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What' s gone wrong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

It' s only been a week or two since we came here last and today was totally different.
No Potato salad on the salad bar, could not find a clean dish to put salad in, could not find a clean plate to put bread on.
Ordered a pot of tea and the cup was filthy and had to be changed, the tea spoon was a long desert spoon.
Ordered a second pot of tea and the waiter just did not bother to come back with it.
The Ice Cream Sundaes were served in pots that used to be candle holders, the type with a hinged lid.
The staff seemed like they could not be bothered and did not want to be there.
Even though it was Sunday there were not that many people there so being busy could not be used as an excuse.
Overall a shocking experience and we will not be returning here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john6101953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    44
    39
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Harvester! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Really happy with our visit! Food was gorgeous and It was served quickly! The service was really good; the waiter (James) was really polite, helpful and got our orders spot on! It's the best harvester I have been to by far! No waiting time on a table either; was seated straight away. Definitely return here!

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very basic and rude waitress”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

My daughter and I went for lunch. When we arrived we were greeted quickly and placed on a very central table. We preferred the empty table next to it so swapped. Then a very disgruntled waitress came over and said very abruptly 'who sat you here'. She clearly wasn't happy we had swapped as the table was tidy but needed wiping. We then waited ages to make a drinks order, whilst we watched the waitress watch us waiting!
Finally she tipped up and took our order she but did not wipe the table. When the food arrived it was okay, nothing to complain about but nothing to write home about either. We then waited a long time following the meal for service to collect our bill.
Overall, I would not go back and I think that the waitress we encountered needs to go to charm school!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 8-Debbie-8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“£9.99!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Nice decor. Staff friendly. £9.99 for two courses and unlimited drinks is a bargain. Would definitely go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank moseyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NOT IN THE SAME CLASS AS OTHER HARVESTERS”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The welcome into the restaurant was mediocre, 'just another' customer type welcome. The place is modern decor as would be expected from its location but for us this detracted from the usual Harvester warmness of mostly older build locations.
Our server was attentive but very matter of fact, quite obviously going through the 'customer service' handbook at the required times. I think the only person I saw smile in a seemingly genuine way was the chap who appeared to be the manager.
The food was as per Harvester choice and we liked the vegetarian availability for my partner; have to say my Ribeye steak arrived as ordered, medium to well done, and the presentation was good.
Disappointing that my partner ordered Fruit salad to be told that it wasn't available anymore and wouldn't be, yet was still on the menu?! It would have helped if a line had been drawn through the menu item.
No pitchers for the cocktails, advised by server, but still why advertise and offer if you cannot fulfill.
I think a little more genuine engagement with the customer would help.
We have had better experiences in other Harvester locations.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvester also viewed

West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 
West Bromwich, West Midlands
West Bromwich, West Midlands
 

Been to Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing